We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It still has something good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyoacan

Coyoacan
Av. Coyoacan No. 2000, Mexico City, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 290 Attractions in Mexico City
Type: Neighborhoods, Malls
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Coyoacan, a former village and now one of the 16 boroughs of Mexico City, is a historic center. It is a popular place to visit, especially on weekends, because many of the original layouts, plazas and narrow streets have been preserved and date from the 16th to the early 20th centuries.
Celaya, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It still has something good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

People who know this place better are divided in their appreciations of the delegation. I personally have found that the Delegation is slightly over-rated but still is worth pay a visit to the historic center. I recommend doing so at night when the small-town, pre-columbian atmosphere is stronger. The variety of restaurants and public events going on is something to appreciate. If you're an outsider who want to make the most of it's time, I recommend having a plan besides going to grab a bite. Check for events or expositions in the museums or activities the delegation offers on busy days. Traffic could be horrid in most places of Coyoacan, so be cautious were you park you car or try to use another means of transportation.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    447
    57
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pescara
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was expecting to see interesting architecture around the neighborhood but apart from high walls which protect the houses, there is not much to see. The only interesting sight is the main square with its church. Avoid hopping onto the tour on the little red train as it is a waste of your time. It cost only 50 pesos for a tour of the area but you don't see much, it is just a drive aling roads

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“What a nice area to spend a day!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

From the metro stop we spent a few hours explored the nice neighbourhood before arriving the town center! There are many ”hacienda” from old time and now converted into private houses or flats. Along the cobblestone street we were able to visit couple of them of government property for free!
The town center itself is very nice and the church is beautiful!
Go to the market ! And try the coffee house el jaroch(over 60 years) opposite to the market! Better than starbucks!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful colonial area of Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of the prettiest parts of Mexico City. Beautiful colonial buildings, lush greenery around a large square that has cafés all around ithe perimeter. We had time for lunch and a visit to the Frida Kahlo House/Museum which is a must-see, too. I could easily have spent the day roaming the streets of this gem of a neighborhood. Next time I will.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“My hospital I visit is there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

But also San Angel Inn, which I love. A huge hacienda turned bar and restaurant, with lovely old world atmosphere and great service. It is quiet and elegant neighborhood. The Kahlo house always seems to have a line to get in, so I have not been there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyoacan also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Coyoacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyoacan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.