We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go to see Orozco's murals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso

Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso
Mexico City, Mexico (Centro)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 404 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This recently restored old college, established by Jesuits in 1588, now hosts various exhibitions.
pescara
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Just go to see Orozco's murals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Apart from the murals, there was an Exhibition on Darwin when I went, which was rather dull since the artifacts were just reproductions and the whole exhibit was mostly large signs to read.... so the ground floor was the exhibition and upstairs the murals

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    55
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Impressive museum in the heart of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A beautiful old building with a very interesting mix of exhibitions, from contemporary art to more classical. Just the building is worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascota, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I am at my hotel, and I just returned from Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso. I flew over for three days from Puerto Vallarta, where I live, specifically see to see the murals of Diego Rivera. There is only one here, La creación. It is located in the Anfiteatro Simón Bolívar. It is an early mural work, and is not one of my favorites (really not very impressive for the great Diego Rivera).

There are also a number of murals here by José Clemente Orozco. They do not express the passion of the artist's historical and political beliefs -- as the magnificent ones in Guadalajara at the El Instituto Cultural Cabañas do. (I make time to visit them every time that I am in that city.) However, if you haven't seen his work, the murals at this site are good examples of his style.

As for the other things housed in this beautiful structure, I didn't pay too much attention. There was a visiting Darwin exhibit that I didn't see, so visitors should find out what exhibit is featured when they visit. Also, the woodwork in the Salón el Generalito is nothing less than stunning. I would visit this site again, just too see this room.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't Miss, quiet, very close to Zocalo/Templo Mayor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The museum is housed in an old Jesuit seminary - great setting; beautiful building, stained glass. Orozco/Rivera/Siqueros murals are first rate. This was a very pleasant surprise.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Too easy to overlook while at the Zócalo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just a few steps away from the ring of major sites in the Zócalo (cathedral, national palace, Templo Mayor) is an oasis of peace and quiet and splendid architectural and art to view in the Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso. Early works of Orozco, Rivera and others merit a good hour or more to view ... read might be as appropriate a term.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.