We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Majestic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Majestic to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Majestic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Madero 73 | Col Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Greve, Denmark
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
1,812 helpful votes 1,812 helpful votes
“Great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The location of this hotel is the best. if one want to be in the heart of all the action this is the hotel for you. You find a lovely inner courtyard. The rooftop restaurant has a great view. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    72
    64
    46
    30
See reviews for
45
67
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Right on the Zocalo and pedestrian street at the front door. Heritage hotel built in 1937 and much of the original features are still there. Beautiful tiling and stairways, quaint lift. The plumbing is circa 1937 too. I learned on day 2 of my 6 day stay how not to get wet feet when using the wash basin.!
My room was large and comfortable and the staff were helpful and pleasant.
Breakfast buffet had good selection of dishes both cooked and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in may 2013 for 2 nights. First let me say smth positive. The location is great (next to the zocalo) and the building has historic flair. Taking breakfast on the terrace while overlooking the square is nice (however you can do that as a non hotel guest). Now where to start. We arrived in the evening after coming from europe just looking for a bed to sleep in. The first room they gave us had the window towards the square where they did a sound check for a concert. It was super loud and we could not think about sleeping. The windows are non isolated so you here everything as well as we were not able to close them fully. The rooms have no air conditioning. We asked for another room which we got, that was nice. However that room had the windows towards the attic and it was really hot (i mentionedno air-co). We could here everthing that happened in the rooms next to us during the night, and with everything i really mean everything.... Maybe it would have been different if we had no jet lag and slept deeper. However the hotel is really outdated. They need a refurbishing asap. There are other hotels in mexico city/zocalo that are in the same price range and are way more pleasant!!! Honestly this was the worst hotel experience i ever had.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the zocalo can be terribly loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I live in Mexico and I love to take by friends who visit to a nice pit stop for a drink at this place. How ever this was the first time I ate there. It was by far the worst food I have ever had in my life. The mash potato was like a soup, the meat was burned and dry, the fish wasn't cooked, the vegetables were as if they had been blended into a cream for days (mushy and tasteless). I guess the only good thing was the coke I ordered. And I had no option as they only had their buffet.
Just to make things worse they charge as if they had a cordon blue chef. Without any alcoholic drinks, I paid for two kids and two adults over $80 dollars!!! Not worth a single penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is located right at the Zócalo in Mexico City. We had a room overlooking the square, which was great. There's always something going on at the square and it makes for a spectacular view. The hotel looks very sophisticated and the staff is very friendly. We had some problems with the internet the first days but they fixed it for us. The only reason why I don't give it 5 stars is because the bed was very hard, we used extra blankets to make it a little softer and there is no airconditioning (you can ask for an electric fan at the reception). Overall I really liked this hotel and I can really recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The location of this hotel could not be better and the inner courtyard and entrance is lovely. But.. the rooms could use some love and definitely some new mattresses. Breakfast is offered for a price on the terrace which is quite lovely. Overall, i would choose again for the location but I would see if I could do better first.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I blind booked the Best Western Majestic in Mexico City through Hotwire. After I received the confirmation with the hotel name I was dismayed to read the traveler's reviews here, and approached my coming stay with some trepidation. However my experience exceeded expectation.
I thought the hotel was absolutely delightful. No it is not modern, cookie-cutter, beige or uniform. Perhaps other travelers were expecting the blandness of most chain hotels. Yes the mattress was hard, yes there is only one old fashioned elevator, and yes the water is not blazing hot. The wifi was spotty, but I have found it an issue in Mexico and Europe for that matter. There is no fitness centre nor pool. That said, I can't imagine why anyone would get worked up about that. It's not like there isn't a tonne of things to see and do in Mexico City.

The old-world charm and location of the hotel makes up for this in spades. I loved the handmade Mexican tile that adorns the walls, the sweeping marble staircase, the cozy lobby and heavenly view from the rooftop restaurant. I also found the buffet breakfast reasonably priced, delicious and offering a good mix of traditional Mexican and American breakfasts. My room, which was large, airy, clean and bright, faced on to the Zòcalo! What a view. It was quiet enough for me to sleep at night.
Finally the staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. Although it may help that I speak Spanish. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Majestic

Address: Avenida Madero 73 | Col Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Majestic Hotel Mexico City
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Mexico City
Mexico City Best Western
BEST WESTERN Majestic Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.