We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Majestic

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Majestic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Majestic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Madero 73 | Col Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 277 hotels in Mexico City
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located in front of the Independent Plaza, this hotel has a very old Spanish era atmosphere. Difficult to describe, but if you see architecture and interior from Antonio Banderas' Zorro movie, then you'll get the picture.

Everything in this hotel is old, and not everything work very well. You must call or complaint several times until you get what you want. However, they do have a wi-fi for free. The elevator is also a classic one. Operated by human, so there must be an operator everytime you want to go upstairs. Many times the operator is not available, so you must take the stairs.

Breakfast is quite ok, and located in upstairs. You can have a beautiful view of the plaza and all buildings surrounding the plaza. The ancient cathedral is also there, which according to history was an Aztec temple.

The location itself is perfect. Located in the heart of the Old City of Mexico, you can have many things there: book store, CD store, museums, restaurants (incl junk foods), jewellery stores, money currency changers, etc.

The area/ neighbourhood is under heavy construction when I visited there in 2009. The whole area was built on an ancient lake, or so I heard. The surface is unstable now, and many centuries old buildings were being renovated. Or completely closed. During weekends no cars allowed there, to reduce the risk.

If you're only looking for a place to sleep and keep your luggage, then this is the place. But if you want to spend your visit inside the hotel, I wouldn't suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    55
    48
    41
    26
See reviews for
31
49
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you want in the center if historic Mexico City you can't get any better than this. You walk out the front door and just a few steps you are in Independence Plaza.
If you want comfort, 4 or 5 star hotel, this is not it. The lobby and public areas are pure old world charm. The rooms are dated, carpets worn, towels frazzled, beds are hard as the floor. Tub would not drain thus showered in 3" deep water. Elevator is old style, manned, but is not manned 24 hours. I had to walk down 6 stories on couple occasions. Some people had to walk up! Upon checkin you sign for a TV remote, mine did not work. Frankly, rooms at Motel 6 are more comfortable. If you book with hotel ask for room overlooking plaza. I booked through online discounter for $78 per night but didn't get option overlooking plaza. Despite the room description the location merits a much higher rating than I would normally give.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Loved where the hotel is, but combination of poor ventilation, smells in the bathroom, lack of any type of view, hit and miss hot water and threadbare towels for example lessened the experience. Bed was very hard but ok. Thin wall or dividing door meant that you could hear every word in the next room. An internal room was provided when id expected something with a view of the square that is used to promote the location I appreciate that it's an older hotel, but its certainly not a 4 star experience as advertised. Location (which is exceptional) was what got the two stars I gave as a rating.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Although the building was beautiful and the location great, the hotel badly needs renovation. There is neither double glazing or air conditioning so the windows have to be kept open at night and the noise from the Zocalo is unbelievable.
Everything was dirty - the carpet, the curtains, the coffee mugs. The towels were torn - we had them changed every day in an effort to get ones without holes in them, but never did. The bathmat disappeared the first day and was never replaced, despite requests. The coffee was not replaced the last 2 days. The drains were blocked and it took 2 requests before this was fixed. The beds were hard. The address given by the hotel reception to exchange our money gave us 2 counterfeit notes.
On the positive side, we felt safe. The hotel was guarded and the Zocalo and the avenida Madero was unthreatening. The staff were very pleasant although the room service was inefficient
I would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Hyacinthe, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Situated in the Zocalo, this hotel has the best location that you can get in Mexico City. The entrance is on calle Madero that is pedestrian only. So no trafic noise. It has a nice restaurant with a view on the zocalo. The staff is polite and helpful.
You can walk calle Madero feeling safe when shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were three couples on a tour of the city and decided that we would stay at the Majestic for the 5 days we were in the city. We arrived after a very long 14 hour drive late, just wanted a room to sleep. Well we ended up moving 3 rooms till we got a room that was almost what we had asked for. The room overlooked the Zocalo, good job we had ear plugs with us. There was carpet on the floor in the room which was pretty old and dirty, the beds were typically hard. The room was quite large compared to some. We managed to get a floor fan for air movement as we had to shut the window to keep the room quieter. The restaurant food was good, staff helpful.
Generally, this is an old historic hotel that really could do with some updating, but because of the safe location it was bearable. We found the price was acceptable considering the local and all in all the staff helpful. We don't think we would go back there though.

Room Tip: Try and get an inside room if you want quiet, otherwise a corner overlooking the Zocalo if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

my daughter and i stayed here late january 2013. the motel was clean and the staff were incredibly helpful. the noise described in one review just did not happen. the view was amazing over the zocalo. Felt very safe and the travel agency within the motel was also excellent. I would go back again and again just loved it!!!

Room Tip: rooms with view of zocalo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Majestic

Also Known As:
Best Western Majestic Hotel Mexico City
Best Western Majestic Hotel
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Mexico City
Mexico City Best Western
BEST WESTERN Majestic Mexico City
Address: Avenida Madero 73 | Col Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 277 hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Majestic 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.