We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST see if you love art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frida Kahlo Museum

Frida Kahlo Museum
Londres 247 | Col. Del Carmen, Coyoacan, Mexico City 04100, Mexico
55 54 59 99
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$47*
and up
Coyoacán and San Angel Tour including the Frida...
Ranked #17 of 273 Attractions in Mexico City
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The lifelong home of Frida Kahlo is now a museum dedicated to the work of this famous 20th-century artist.
pescara
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“MUST see if you love art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Visiting this house which is just as it was in Frida's time makes you imagine what it must have been like in those days / not only can you see where she painted and slept but her restraints, clothes, jewellery and other possessions are there too. Don-t miss her ashes, which are in her bedroom in an urn on the desk. I really enjoyed the place - Don-t go if you expect to see only her paintings. There are a few minor ones, this is just Frida's house with her eccentric touch

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    439
    127
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“So Many Photos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I couldn't help but take many photos at this museum. Everywhere I turned there was something interesting, unusual or beautiful to see. At the time we visited, a special exhibit with Frida's clothes and accessories was featured. Really enjoyed this. Check out the gift shop where I bought a Frida Kahlo paper doll.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“heartwarming and sad at the same time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have to admit that I had never heard of FK before visiting my friend in Mexico City, and it was a delight and in the end very moving experience for him to show me her art and take me to her house/museum. Poignantly she died the same year that I was born.
What a remarkable woman and incredibly talented artist - er art revealing and documenting much of her inner pain that stemmed from a terrible combination of polio and an horrific trolly-bus accident.
Her art speaks volumes, but this house where she lived has much more - the dresses anf special clothes she wore to hide her, as she saw them, imperfections. Her death bed and death mask - i was almost in tears upon seeing that. Where she worked, and a good few pieces of art and more joyoisly they way she decorated her home, often with fabulous (nowadays) pieces of ethnic and pre-colombian art hat were not much valued in her day.
It is a must see place in a wonderful city

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The bluest blue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

You'll LOVE this blue casa......we were so looking forward to this museum...and it didn't disappoint. You tour thru the house, there is an additional exhibit on of her, undergarments (supports for her back), dresses, and hair 'decorations', there is a gift shop also. I bought the ticket that allowed me to take photos (no flash). You see her and Diego's bedrooms, their art supplies, etc...... The gardens are lovely and cool. Read 'The Lacuna', a super book that fits in so well with Frida and Diego's home.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having read Frida's biography and seen the movie of her life I was well prepared to enjoy the visit to her house. And I was not disappointed. The Museum is well kept and interesting in very way as you don't just see some of her works but the kind of life she led in that house defying all her health and medical problems.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frida Kahlo Museum also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Frida Kahlo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frida Kahlo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.