We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hand crafters delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Ciudadela

La Ciudadela
Calle Baldera 6 and Enrico Martinez, Mexico City, Mexico (Centro)
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 401 things to do in Mexico City
Activities: Shopping, Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: For a great selection of Mexican crafts, visit the Ciudadela, four blocks south of the Alameda Park on Balderas Avenue just south of Paseo de la Reforma. It's a semi-covered market that covers 16,000 square meters with more than 200 stalls. It's worth quite a chunk of time if you want the full tour. There are some great comedores (food stalls) if you need a pick-me-up snack or beverage.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hand crafters delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great place to see and purchase Mexican handcrafts. Bright colors, and all different types of items from glassware to jewelry!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I did get some souvenirs there, but I can't say it was easy. Most tents sell the same things (though prices value, do your research!) but it was all very kitchy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great market, full of glass, pottery, clothes, silver, baskets...blankets, all sorts. You will need to bargain ...but you will find all sorts there. You can also stop for a beer/lunch in the square ...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motnreal
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“full of treasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

we went there to get all our souvenirs and gift and it was perfect. if i would had had a bigger luggage, i would have bought a lot of stuff. the prices where great and much better than bazzar del sabado

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great place to pick up local artesania, silver, souvenirs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Make sure to haggle for the best price! MY favourite place to buy silver and try some local cuisine as well...very close to main hotels on Paseo de la Reforma

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ciudadela also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Ciudadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ciudadela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.