We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel in the center of it all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Save
You added Hotel Catedral to your Saves list
Donceles #95, Col. Centro, Mexico City 06020, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 286 Hotels in Mexico City
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel in the center of it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

beautiful hotel just a few minutes walk from the zocalo. great location, and clean rooms. helpful and friendly staff, too. we booked our pyramid tour with the reception desk. the best part was the buffet breakfast - the food was plentiful and delicious! served by friendly staff. mexican breakfast foods, fruit, yogurt, coffee, and eggs to your hearts content. stay here! Mexico City is worth a visit.

Room Tip: you can request a "remodeled" room when you book and get a room on a newly re-done floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    270
    48
    15
    10
See reviews for
119
237
76
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great location, spacious and comfy rooms, well priced. And the complimentary breakfast is not to be missed! The service (especially Sarahi and Sandy) is prompt and friendly, but the cook, Thelma, is the star of the show. We actually contemplated staying over an extra day just for her breakfasts!
The only "drawback"? A modicum of Spanish language is a must here.

Room Tip: The nightclub across the street can be heard no matter what room you're in. My advice: enjoy, en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel off and on during the month of July for a total of 8 days. It's location behind the Zocalo is perfect for exploring the historic center and for access to the metro. The hotel and rooms are clean and affordable. The staff is friendly and attentive. Make sure to enjoy the breakfast buffet! It is better than most I have tried. The chef, Telma, is super friendly and attentive and will make you a breakfast to order. Our server, Estrella, also provided excellent service. Both women made sure we were completely satisfied each day.

It is best to make reservations as sometimes the hotel does fill up (at least during the last two weeks of July).

The rooms don't have refrigerators, but there are ice machines on each floor.

The view from the rooftop deck is excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms along Donceles at the front have a small balcony, but on Friday and Saturday nights the mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This modernized hotel is right off of the Zocalo in the central historic district of Mexico City. It is located right behind the National Cathedral, so you may hear noises from the Zocalo at certain times of the day and evening. Also, if you do stay on the cathedral side like we did, you may hear a disco going into the wee hours on Saturday night.

The room we stayed in had double-pained windows, air conditioning, cable TV. It's kind of a narrow hotel, so when it's busy the lobby feels crowded and the staff (which were very helpful and courteous at all times) is a bit harried. Since the elevator is tiny, you might also have to wait for it to make an extra trip or two before you can get on (or use the stairs).

The full Mexican breakfast is very good and served buffet style, but also has a chef who'll cook your eggs to order.

Don't miss the view from the rooftop patio on the seventh floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views, but rooms on the Zocalo side may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As a solo traveler on a short holiday I found this to be the perfect choice for me. For what you are getting the price is great especially being right in the city center. The rooms are a good size, newly decorated and very comfortable and the wi-fi worked well. I requested a room on one of the top floors and received one on the fifth floor with a nice view of the Cathedral. I found my room to be quite for sleeping but as stated in some of the previous reviews the street below is pretty hoping well into the evening. I think it is a wise idea to request a room on the cathedral side of the hotel on an upper floor for optimal quite during the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for a two night city trip. Very central, close to the Cathedral. Newly decorated rooms so it was clean and comfortable to be there. The breakfast was a great deal, we had a choice of hot, cold and the coffee was so good. The restaurant was reasonable too. A good all round hotel for what we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Catedral. I was very happy with this hotel. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

The room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. We had an interior room. This means we had no view but it was very quiet. The TV had channels in Spanish and English.

We did not visit the breakfast buffet but we did have a few meals in the hotel restaurant. I thought the food there was good and reasonably priced. The service is a bit slow though.

The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. I also enjoyed the fruit and cookies that were available all day at the front desk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Donceles #95, Col. Centro, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.