We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnífico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Save
You added Hotel Catedral to your Saves list
Donceles #95, Col. Centro, Mexico City 06020, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magnífico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As a solo traveler on a short holiday I found this to be the perfect choice for me. For what you are getting the price is great especially being right in the city center. The rooms are a good size, newly decorated and very comfortable and the wi-fi worked well. I requested a room on one of the top floors and received one on the fifth floor with a nice view of the Cathedral. I found my room to be quite for sleeping but as stated in some of the previous reviews the street below is pretty hoping well into the evening. I think it is a wise idea to request a room on the cathedral side of the hotel on an upper floor for optimal quite during the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    308
    51
    16
    11
See reviews for
155
270
91
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for a two night city trip. Very central, close to the Cathedral. Newly decorated rooms so it was clean and comfortable to be there. The breakfast was a great deal, we had a choice of hot, cold and the coffee was so good. The restaurant was reasonable too. A good all round hotel for what we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Catedral. I was very happy with this hotel. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

The room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. We had an interior room. This means we had no view but it was very quiet. The TV had channels in Spanish and English.

We did not visit the breakfast buffet but we did have a few meals in the hotel restaurant. I thought the food there was good and reasonably priced. The service is a bit slow though.

The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. I also enjoyed the fruit and cookies that were available all day at the front desk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great Hotel for a stay in Mexico City. Located just behind the Cathedral in Zocalo plaza so walking distance to many attractions or easy taxi ride. Comfortable room and reasonably quiet although on a Saturday night the bar across the road could be a bit noisy but generally had quietened down by 12am. Breakfast was good value and the restaurant served good food too for an evening meal. Helpful staff and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great location and they are right behind the Catedral and 5min walk to Zocalo.. which is the center of Centro historico. So, you can basically walk to downtown & many landmarks/historical sites Plus close to few metro stations.

They said that they just remodeled a month ago and the room was extremely clean and comfortable. They also have a rooftop and you can see part of the city.

Staffs are also friendly and helpful.

WIFI works perfectly in the room .. bit unstable to use SKYPE but good enough for emails and internet search.

I would like to come back to this hotel..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here for several days and here are my observations:

Positive:
1. It's a great location and the hostal itself is nice. The rooftop bar offers a great view of the old cathedral.
2. Rooms were clean.
3. Good breakfast with many options.
4. Elevator.
5. Good security.


Negative:
1. Staff didn't seem friendly or helpful at all. Every time I approached the desk (which wasn't much) I felt as if I was either interrupting something or being put up with. Having stayed in many hostals over the years, this one hit the low point for me, staff-wise.
2. Probably because of the amount of people staying there (I think it was something like a six-story hostal) it felt very impersonal. If you're not looking to meet people, this would be fine. For me, part of the hostal experience is always making new friends. Don't expect that from Hostal Catedral.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was my first time at the Hotel Catedral and Mexico City. The location is perfect - in the center of the historic sights and walking distance to everywhere. It is also conveniently located a few blocks from the Zocalo Metro station so it's super easy to get around the different areas of Mexico City.
The hotel is very clean, and the staff is friendly and always eager to help. The WIFI was a little shaky - it worked for the most part but there would be a small chunk of the day where it wouldn't connect.
The best part of the hotel though is the breakfast! Do yourself a favor and add the breakfast to your room rate because it is so well worth it. Telma, the cook, is the sweetest and most wonderful person, and an awesome cook! She will make to order your eggs, tacos, etc and is very attentive to your needs - she will make sure you never have an empty cup of coffee or glass of juice.
If you are going to mexico city for the first time, i would definitely recommend Hotel Catedral - it's the perfect hotel within a beautiful city!

Room Tip: The balcony with the view of the cathedral is on the 7th floor so if you want easy access to the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.2 mi away
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#18 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
1.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#35 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 295 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#36 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#17 of 295 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Donceles #95, Col. Centro, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#39 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.