We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in the City Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Save Saved
You added Hotel Catedral to your Saves list
Donceles #95, Col. Centro, Mexico City 06020, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Value in the City Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My room was clean and quiet, however my travel companion had a street facing room so he was glad he brought ear plugs. The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome at all hours of the day and night. The breakfast was delicious and a wonderful way to start the day, I would recommend this hotel in a minute-

Room Tip: Interior rooms have a quiet courtyard environment as opposed to street facing rooms which feel the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the time dedicated to share with us your experience on our hotel. We appreciate your preference and your excellent comments. It is a pleasure to know that your service has been totally perfect. We also inform you that the overall cleanliness of the hotel is very imporant for us as this gives them confidence to our guests. It is also very imporant for us the rest and comfort of each our guests, likewise the invite if you have any problems with the room discuss at reception, who will gladly try to help you with either a room change day next or if possible the same day that you have the disadvantage, of course all depending on the occupation of that day, but rest assured that we will always be at your service.

Also we inform you that our rooms are recently remodeldas which some already have special windows that prevent entry of any type of noise, at this time only cathedral view windows have these characteristics, windows overlooking the street programs are already changing so quickly and we lists to prevent this kind of detail in your stay.

Our breakfast buffet is always distinguished by diefrentes dishes are there, if you crave ademásde some other it may not be instantly prepares doubt do so.

We look forward to your visit with us in a short time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    263
    48
    15
    9
See reviews for
116
232
75
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Really good place with really kind staff. It´s clean, i would definitely recommend it. The only issue that I could talk about is that if you are planning to sleep late, there will be the housekeeping lady trying to open your room to fix the place. Or the vacum noise at 7am in the morning. At least one of these problems could be solved with a "do not disturb" sign which I forgot to use.

I think is a good place, near everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We greatly appreciate for giving us the opportunity to serve and to share your comments about our services. Our partners are always to serve you in whatever you need feel free to ask anything you ever need. Also we invite you to visit our breakfast buffet and our terraces which ecnuentran on the seventh floor and have a wonderful view of the cathedral.

Please allow me to apologize for the bad experience, and appreciate your sincere comment to respect us in this detail trabajeremos depend upon it. Please be sure that there will be a different attitude on your next visit.

Thank you again for your comments, It would be a pleasure continuing being your honored hosts in your future visits to Mexico City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just came back from an extended weekend stay at Hotel Catedral for my first visit to Mexico City. Very clean hotel with friendly staff. Had some trouble making the reservation online before I went, but I just called the hotel and the staff spoke English to help me make the reservation. No problems once we arrived, & free WiFi available in the rooms after you check-in. Breakfast is NOT included in the price of the room, it is extra. The hotel restaurant is a little pricey but it's convenient. Nice place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are glad that our hotel met your expectations, and we have chosen as first choice when it's your first visit to Mexico, it is good to know that we fail not.

Our staff will always do the job of making him feel at home and to support you in whatever you need. It should be mentioned that our rooms have a new concept, which include safe, air conditioning, etc.. The connection is very important nowadays, sometimes you need to be connected at any time, for that reason we will offer free WiFi anywhere is hotel in addition to a business room which has computers and Similarly access is free.

Our breakfast buffet as well mention it cost extra, but rest assured that you will not regret meeting you, because every day the menu is varied and can order what you want.

We appreciate your sincere comments. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the very near future in this your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I am giving the Hotel Catredal 5 stars because it is great for what it is: a moderately priced, friendly, clean, comfortable and quiet place to stay just steps from the Zocalo and the Centro Historico. Note: you will really appreciate the quiet of a central courtyard room after spending a few hours in the crowds around the Zocalo - yikes! Granted our experience was relatively brief on an overnight layover between Puerto Escondido and the U.S. (we missed the complimentary breakfast since we had to leave at 5:00 a.m. to catch our flight home so I can't comment on the food). However, my goal had been to see as much of the Centro Historico as we could in the short time we had and in that we were successful (including the EXTRAORDINARY Diego Rivera murals in the Palacio Nacional). I would definitely recommend the Hotel Catedral for proximity to the Centro Historico. Our room was quite pleasant and all utilities ran smoothly. Finally, there is a rooftop terrace with lovely views of the city - empty when we were there though I think you can arrange to have drinks delivered from the lobby restaurant.

Room Tip: Very quiet room on the inner courtyard - no view though.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is directly behind the zocalo in Centro Historico, a great location with easy access to the Metro, tons of museums, mercados, and more. The staff is so welcoming and does everything possible to ensure you are comfortable, happy and have all you need. The rooms are large, CLEAN, the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms immaculate. There are great balconies off the rooms with incredible views, and two terraces on the top floor from which you can see nearly all of the city (save for what is hiding under the smog). Included in the price for the room, you are invited to a delicious breakfast, which includes amazing Mexican classics. And, if you have any dietary restrictions, the staff will accommodate! (I'm vegetarian and they made sure to prepare amazing food I could enjoy!) For about $55USD per night, I could not believe how great this hotel was; I highly recommend!

Room Tip: One word of caution for those who are easily disturbed by street/nightlife noise: ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The staff was so kind and helpful to three Canadian ladies travelling throughout Mexico. Our rooms were quiet and clean and my room overlooked Mexico City. (and had a balcony). The hotel is right in the main hub of the Historical Centre and in a very busy popular tourist area. Not suggested for those who don't like crowds of people!!
They serve a great breakfast which is included in the moderate room price. The restaurant was under renovation but served good food. i would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You have a choice of inner courtyard rooms or outside rooms. I was on the sixth floor and was not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our experience of this hotel was mostly positive with some things that could be improved. The room was clean and comfortable. The price was moderate. We asked for and got a very quiet inner courtyard room and while the view was non-existent our need for quiet was satisfied. The breakfast and the breakfast staff were just wonderful. Wifi in our room was fine and they had hotel computers we could use to print boarding passes. Air conditioning worked.
We did have 2 non-functioning light bulbs and a beeping smoke detector in our room which they promptly fixed when we pointed it out....(in my opinion this should have be noticed by the staff before we arrived)
My main concern is that front desk staff had a very hard time communicating with us about their policies regarding payment. For some reason we had to pay in advance for our room or come to the desk every day to pay. They did not seem to understand or be able to keep a hotel tab for us held by a credit card as is normally done in most hotels in which I've stayed ... We had a small snack in the restaurant one evening and signed for it using our room "account" which we assumed we could do. Ended up that they phoned our room after we were in bed and told us we had to come down right away and pay the restaurant bill in person. This was frustrating to say the least. I'd suggest that they provide a written policy in clear English or whatever language because I never figured out what they actually required even though we speak a good deal of spanish. Front Desk staff just could not communicate this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Donceles #95, Col. Centro, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.