We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people at hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Save
You added Hotel Catedral to your Saves list
Donceles #95, Col. Centro, Mexico City 06020, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
1 review
“Very nice people at hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience with chef mary she suggested some very good gorditas very delicious she eas very very customet oriented all i have to say is thank you Mary

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    274
    48
    15
    10
See reviews for
121
241
79
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We've stayed at the Hotel Catedral in Mexico City four times in the past three years and have been very pleased with our experience each time. Good value for money, excellent service in providing personal attention for transportation to the airport and good tours. We particularly like its location, just behind the Cathedral on the Zocalo, and within easy walking distance of a good number of sites.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EUGENE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The chef Sra. Mary, and her staff, were very kind and accommodating in the selections and service of the buffet breakfast.

The hotel is comfortable and conveniently located.

Many thanks to all who made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The Hotel Catedral is a pleasant budget hotel in the historic zone of Mexico City. Our room on the sixth floor had a view of the back of the Metropolital Cathedral. It had been recently updated, was more than adequate in size and had an ample modern bathroom. Staff were accomodating and helpful and most spoke English, although the concierge had a limited knowledge or restaurants to recommend. Our rate included a very good breakfast buffet and the hotel has a separate restaurant. The hotel's location is excellent for visiting sites in the historic zone. However, the area is quite empty at night. Although we never felt threatened, many travelers may want to take a taxi when going out at night. Note also that restaurant offerings at night in the immediate area are limited.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor if you want a view of the cathedral. If concerned about noise select a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I originally booked 2 nights and ended up staying 7. The hotel is in the process of having rooms upgraded, but I stayed in one of the original rooms. The bed was comfortable and I slept well feeling safe and secure in this hotel. All the staff I encountered we're really helpful, I believe some of them speak English but I always spoke Spanish with them. Buffet breakfasts were good. Wifi worked in my room on my ipad2 but the signal was much stronger in the reception area. The quality and location of this hotel represents excellent value for money. I will stay in this hotel on my next visit to DF.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night in February 2012. The reviews suggested that this was a safe, comfortable choice for a stay in Mexico City, and they were right. What surprised me was the luxurious nature of the hotel: my room was very spacious, with a huge bed and plenty of room to move around, plus a jacuzzi. This was, I believe, one of the Hotel's suites; I had booked a regular single room but got upgraded due to availability constraints. If you're willing to pay extra then it's worth shelling out for one of these - I expect it's still very good value (or at least it will be for British travellers, who enjoy a favourable exchange rate with the Peso).

Service was smiley and helpful. Check out time is 11am and my flight from the airport didn't depart until 9pm that evening, so I was really pleased to find that the lobby was willing to take care of my luggage in the interim; they also booked me a taxi.

Overall, then, the Hotel Catedral was hard to fault (albeit based on a very brief stay).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The biggest selling points for this hotel are the location and the price, it's a 5 minute walk to the historic centre and metro and from there you can go anywhere in Mexico city. There is so much happening in Mexico City that you will probably not be spending much time in your hotel room and the price here was excellent. For a very reasonable price you will get a clean, safe and comfortable room with all the basics that you need for short stay, and an easy to find and central location to return to after a long day in the city. The room has a special purified water outlet so you don't need to buy bottled water if you are concerned about drinking water.
Great view from the balcony rooms, even better views from the rooftop terrace if you feel like just sitting and relaxing outside. The staff were always very helpful and accommodating even with my lack of Spanish speaking skills, some of them can speak English very well. I will certainly be considering this hotel again on my next trip to Mexico city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Donceles #95, Col. Centro, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#38 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.