We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud music can please the bar costumers but not the hotel's” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel de Cortes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel de Cortes to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel de Cortes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hidalgo 85, esq. Reforma, Centro Historico | Frente Alameda Central, Mexico City 06300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loud music can please the bar costumers but not the hotel's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Arriving jetlagged to Mexico city I was looking forward to a good night sleep. Unfortunately, as in many "trendy" hotels in Mexico City, it seems quietness is not one of Cortes' specialities. Music from the bar/restaurant was extremely loud and continued after 12.

I am young but very unfashionable in this respect - if a hotel invents noise during the evening it is not taking its core business seriously. Had I been home in Europe and bothered by such loud music I would have called the police.

The rooms was small but confortable and staff friendly, if not very experienced.

I moved to Polanco's Camino Real afterwards and, even though slightly more expensive, it was a much better deal. A shame that this noise problem was not mentioned in other reviews, I would have stayed clear in the first place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    18
    16
    17
See reviews for
10
50
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Wonderful atmosphere, warm and friendly staff and great location. Building has a beautiful design. An oasis within the centre of Mexico City. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Newish hotel with still some teething problems. our room was stylish & well appointed ;, however the air conditioner , whilst installed was not working and other small issues you'd expect to be resolved shortly.
Fantastic historical building,central location, and excellent staff with the bonus that most speak good english.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

FYI, the Hotel de Cortes was completely renovated during the course of 2008, and rather than a one-star dump, it's now a seriously posh four-star boutique hotel, with interior design by some of Mexico's top decorators and furniture designers, and no longer run by Best Western. None of the previous reviews on here are really applicable. I've stayed at every major design-oriented hotel in DF, and the de Cortes tops all of them, even the vaunted Condesa and Habita. Although I only saw a couple of the Cortes's rooms, the ones I saw were nothing short of huge, particularly in contrast to the Condesa & Habita.

The new decor is completely contemporary; you wouldn't even know the building was hundreds of years old if looking at it solely from the inside. FYI, the hotel's mostly but not entirely complete; a new top floor add-on with spa is, as of this writing, under construction. Its pool, restaurant and bar areas are now open, however.

My sole complaint would be the location: it's next to Alameda Park in the oldest part of the city. That's great if you're wanting to visit the multiple museums in and near the park, but the nightlife of Condesa and the Zona Rosa are quite a hike from there.

Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel de Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel de Cortes

Address: Av. Hidalgo 85, esq. Reforma, Centro Historico | Frente Alameda Central, Mexico City 06300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel de Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel de Cortes, one of the earliest hostelries in The Americas, has been transformed into a modern Boutique hotel which is located on the main entrance of Mexico City’s Historic Downtown Our guests will be absorbed by the cultural and historical transcendence of the place, through the elegance and the most beautiful contemporary minimalist decoration.Boutique Hotel De Cortes is widely recognized for its personalized customer service. The services provided by our Dynamic Professional subjected to the most stringent high standards, same team that only work with the only purpose to make every guest happy and satisfied and make them wish to come back again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel de Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Cortes Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel de Cortes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.