We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel de Cortes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel de Cortes to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel de Cortes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hidalgo 85, esq. Reforma, Centro Historico | Frente Alameda Central, Mexico City 06300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Elista
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Generally fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I agree with earlier complimentary reviews and would like to note one moment which annoyed me a lot. Please upgrade your wifi system and increase the speed. If you think you cannot afford it free of charge, charge for god sake to have a decent wifi connection.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director General at Boutique Hotel de Cortes, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Alex,

We appreciate your staying with us at Hotel de Cortes. Our main goal is to provide our guests with excellent service. Before 2013 ends, we will be upgrading our serve. We hope to see you again in Hotel de Cortes and may you have a wonderful year 2014.

With my best regards

Mr. Martin Morales
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    20
    19
    17
See reviews for
12
55
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Marta, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Cortes for 3 nights and had a great experience. Rooms, food, staff and location made it truly an enjoyable stay. Stayed at the Hilton Reforma before and Hotel Cortes is much better quality, location and value for the money. The staff is incredibly warm, polite and friendly. Will definitely be staying at this hotel again during my next trip to Mexico City. Thank you to Hotel Cortes...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director General at Boutique Hotel de Cortes, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Christopher D

Muchas gracias a usted por su preferencia y sus comentarios, para hotel de cortes son muy importantes hace que podemos crecer día a día y otorgarle un mejor servicio, sus palabras alientan a cada uno de nuestros colaboradores verificando que el servicio ofrecido es el correcto, deseamos ser nuevamente sus anfitriones en su próxima vista a la ciudad de Mexico, por favor contacte directamente a un servidor para atenderle como usted se merece personalmente, gracias y le enviamos nuestras consideraciones más distinguidas.

Atentamente

Martin Morales
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel in the Centro Historico district. Because it is in the middle of a business district, it is difficult to find good shopping. You'll have to go somewhere else to shop unless the market across the street is open (weekends only I think).

The room is very nice, lots of space, very clean, one chair only but I soved that by going out in the courtyard to grab a plastic chair. You'll need to buy some bottled water because you get very little from the hotel. For women who wear makeup, you will find very little light with which to apply it. Also, because I had read the courtyard could get a little loud at night, I brought along my small travel sleep machine, and it was a lifesaver. We were on the first floor near the "place to party" when the roof bar is closed. You could also download an iPad app.

I can't say enough nice things about the staff. They are very friendly and helpful. All of them. Some can speak English fairly well which helped us a lot, especially when my husband left his iPad on the bus from Querataro to Mexico City. Carlos (Charlie) called the airport (where we departed the bus) and was able to speak to someone who found the iPad and held it. We couldn't have done that on our own.

So, women, bring a lighted mirror. Noise sensitive people bring a sound machine. And those who like to eat and drink bring plenty of pesos to eat in the restaurant.

I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at Boutique Hotel de Cortes for 3 days while in Mexico City on business. The hotel is inside an old baroque-type building. It is a small hotel with very friendly staff and well appointed rooms. The rooms have very modern finishes. I loved the stand-up rainfall shower and the bed was very comfortable. Lastly, I highly recommend the guacamole in the restaurant/bar.

Regarding some comments about noise in the garden area, I did not experience anything like that, since I stayed Tuesday through Friday on a business trip. However, all of the rooms do face into the central "garden" area so I could see how any significant noise in that area could carry into the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a hotel that markets itself as a 'boutique' hotel, which according to Wikipedia are hotels that "often contain luxury facilities of varying size in unique or intimate settings with full service accommodations." The hotel itself is beautiful, being a house that belonged to Hernan Cortes, therefore dating from the 16th century. The location is ideal, just facing the Alameda park in the historic centre, close to Bellas Artes and a few blocks away from zocalo. We stayed there with our one-year-old daughter this past week (August 2013), and it was a real disaster. The hotel has a roof-top bar that blasts music until early hours of the morning, and when the music finally stops, the drunk patrons linger for much longer, producing as much noise as the DJ. What is worse, on a rainy evening (very common during the summer), they move the bar/DJ/drunken patrons to the central courtyard, which all the rooms face, this being a colonial house. This happened during our stay, and the noise levels kept our daughter up all night. We complained to the front desk, and their response was that they would let us have a free martini at the bar. The idea of having what is essentially a night club in the courtyard on which hotel rooms face is simply unacceptable, and the fact that our complaints were not taken seriously by the hotel staff communicates that this hotel values their bar/restaurant clientele over their guests. A hotel which provides a bed in which you cannot sleep for much of the night does not provide the most basic service of any hotel, let alone full-service accommodation; I therefore feel that this hotel does not fit the wikipedia definition quoted above. While all the staff are very pleasant, the quality of customer service is beyond disappointing.

This hotel is definitely not recommended for visits with children or if you feel that sleep is necessary in your daily routine.

Room Tip: Every room in this hotel is susceptible to the noise issues that I discuss in my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Director General at Boutique Hotel de Cortes, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Really sorry so much for noise in the central garden the night, we do not work normally with the bar evening, was an emergency rain indeed ask for an apology and hope to serve you again with your family, guaranted a stay pleasant because we work for you.

With my Best Regards

Mr. Martin Morales
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Boutique Hotel de Cortes is a good blend of the old and the new. The exterior is a classic historic colonial building. The rooms are very modern and have flair. The staff is very helpful and very vigilant. There is security at the entrance and you feel very safe during your stay. Given the excellent location, with in walking distance of the Historic District, I felt that the price was excellent. We were able to leave our luggage in a storage room the day we departed, which made things easy for us when we went out one last time before leaving Mexico City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very well located on the edge of the historic district. Lots of great sites in walking distance and the metro is just steps away. Friendly,attentive staff. Rooftop bar closed during our visit because of rainy weather but the downstairs bar was fine for snack and drinks. Breakfast fine for convenience but try other nearby places too. Our room was very large with a comfortable bed and good bathroom. WIFI could use some help. The street noise of some rooms may bother some people We upgraded the room a bit but I wouldn't bother. The adjoining sitting room was dark and the chairs uncomfortable. I think this hotel is better than the other reviews claim. Location, amenities, hard to beat.

Room Tip: Try for a room off Hidalgo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel de Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel de Cortes

Address: Av. Hidalgo 85, esq. Reforma, Centro Historico | Frente Alameda Central, Mexico City 06300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel de Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel de Cortes, one of the earliest hostelries in The Americas, has been transformed into a modern Boutique hotel which is located on the main entrance of Mexico City’s Historic Downtown Our guests will be absorbed by the cultural and historical transcendence of the place, through the elegance and the most beautiful contemporary minimalist decoration.Boutique Hotel De Cortes is widely recognized for its personalized customer service. The services provided by our Dynamic Professional subjected to the most stringent high standards, same team that only work with the only purpose to make every guest happy and satisfied and make them wish to come back again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hotel de Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Cortes Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel de Cortes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.