We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and kind staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel de Cortes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel de Cortes to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel de Cortes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hidalgo 85, esq. Reforma, Centro Historico | Frente Alameda Central, Mexico City 06300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and kind staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I moved to this hotel from the much bigger, fancier, business oriented Fiesta Americana Reforma looking for a cozier environment and a more personal attention. I was not disappointed. Despite the difficult start (at my arrival in the room neither phone or internet connection were working - which was promptly resolved by the hotel staff) I had a very nice stay in this old monastery. Only 2 things to be kept in consideration: internet connection is not very good in all spots (in my room I could connect with my computer but not with my IPhone, while I had no problem in the breakfast room) and in the weekends the club inside the hotel (rooftop) becomes very noisy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    20
    19
    17
See reviews for
12
55
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

One of the most important aspects of any hotel is staff service. I was impressed by all staff members; and I do mean ALL. I was impressed also by the fact that they were not “tip hungry”. But go ahead and tip them, they deserve it. They were always helpful and smiling even after I had as an experiment delayed tipping by a day.

The exterior has the old architecture look but inside is quite modern with an angular theme. Sink, toilet bowl, knobs etc were square or rectangular.
The floor was well done parquet. I stayed at room 108 from the 3rd. to the 7th. The room was of adequate but not luxurious size and I loved the comfortable bed. There were enough lights, controls and electrical outlets to suit any traveller and any mood. I liked the idea of the DVD player and radio in addition to the television.

The lack of a bathtub did not bother me as I am only comfortable using mine at home. The floor of the bathroom was also made of wood. There were adequate toiletries and towels, a complimentary new pair of bedroom slippers, enough clothes racks, an iron and very clean and stainless ironing board.

For some reason, I occasionally lost hot water during a shower.

What I found quirky was the clear glass door to the toilet and shower. You have to be sharing the room with someone with whom you are very familiar to be comfortable with that feature. I wondered why smoked glass was not used. If you have rambunctious kids and teenagers you have to warn them. While the glass door to the bathroom swings inwards, the one to the adjoining toilet slides makes contact with masonry to fully close. With no damping material installed I think it can be broken if sufficient force is used to close the door. Apparently there have been no such incidents.

Taxis are always available in about 10 minutes, but ensure that you get the hotel to have the taxi driver to commit to a price. In my experiences, the taxi driver always charged 25% more than the price indicated by the hotel.

The hotel is near to restaurants, shopping areas and a park.

The hotel has a variety of tasty meals, drinks and dessert on offer at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Go for the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Boutique Hotel de Cortes is in a convenient spot for visiting the historic district, near to the Palacio de Bellas Artes and not too far from the main zocalo where the cathedral sits. You can visit the templo mayor and museum which houses many artifacts recently dug up after the recent earthquake.
Hotel Cortes had excellent breakfasts and a nice room designed in the minimalist style.
My only complaint was Friday night disco noise until 3 a.m. as drunken revelers caroused in the courtyard ,echoing and amplified screams. Saturday morning was worse when they had a banquet and business meetings in the courtyard just outside our room beginning at 9 am.
This hotel has good service but a bit of a problem with wifi. I would stay here but avoid week-ends!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

On first impression, the hotel is fantastic. Great location, great building,lovely courtyard and our room was big, nicely decorated equipped with modern appliances(flat screen TV, ipod dock...). The bar on the roof is trendy and enjoyable early on Friday night only to become a nightclub later and for the weekend. The music is very loud and annoying. We also experienced music early in the morning which woke us up.
The breakfast is good but the service was very slow and unattentive. The front desk is trying to be helpful but can give you wrong information at times. We asked twice for the reception to book an appoitment for Casa Barragan only to be told dismisively that this was not required. When we complained upon our return from Casa Barragan and after confirming that the appoitment was required the staff was not really apologetic. However they booked a private guide tour for us with a guide called Israel which was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My granddaughter and I spent a week at the de Cortes and highly recommend it. The hotel is close to the main cathedral and Zocolo & right off of the Hidalgo subway stop.
This very attractive 27 room, centrally located, newly refurbished boutique hotel has the most wonderful staff imaginable and apart from the noisy roof Disco Fridays and Saturdays it is sheer perfection. Very clean, friendly and quiet.

Room Tip: All the rooms are newly done over
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We booked the hotel for 6 nights and had a great time. I was a bit worried about the mixed reviews in the beginning, but if you're looking for a stylish boutique hotel with character, the hotel is perfect. It's right in the historical district and offers easy access to all the interesting sights. We booked a Junior suite, which was nicely appointed with the largest shower I've ever experienced. The room was next to a busy street, but you could only hear the common city noises that you'll here in any big city. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was consistently good. The only thing we didn't like was that you had to ask the service staff for the breakfast menu each morning and it wasn't really explained what was included.

The hotel booked for us a private city tour with a guy called Jorge Mendoza which was fantastic and I would very much recommend!

It's a bit of a shame that the hotel doesn't have any fitness facilities or a pool but the rooftop bar is fun.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I stayed in Cortes for a weekend, and it has been so far the best place in Mexico DF. A hidden gem within a very busy city. Close access to the centre and most tourist attractions downtown.

Rooms are spectacular, very big and comfortable beds, an amazing shower, good taste in the decoration, and fully equipped with stereo, tv, etc. A great terrace with a nice view of the surroundings. My first choice of hotel in Mexico, a bit expensive but totally worth it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel de Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel de Cortes

Address: Av. Hidalgo 85, esq. Reforma, Centro Historico | Frente Alameda Central, Mexico City 06300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel de Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel de Cortes, one of the earliest hostelries in The Americas, has been transformed into a modern Boutique hotel which is located on the main entrance of Mexico City’s Historic Downtown Our guests will be absorbed by the cultural and historical transcendence of the place, through the elegance and the most beautiful contemporary minimalist decoration.Boutique Hotel De Cortes is widely recognized for its personalized customer service. The services provided by our Dynamic Professional subjected to the most stringent high standards, same team that only work with the only purpose to make every guest happy and satisfied and make them wish to come back again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hotel de Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Cortes Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel de Cortes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.