We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can’t Go Wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Reforma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Marquis Reforma Hotel to your Saves list
Marquis Reforma Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Reforma 465 | Col. Cuauhtémoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 297 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You Can’t Go Wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found this to be an excellent hotel. The staff was very attentive and professional, and it seemed like anyone who deals with the public spoke both Spanish and English (which is nice for travelers who only speak English). When checking in, our room wasn’t ready so they upgraded us to a suite (without us having to ask), a very nice gesture. The lobby of the hotel was very modern and upscale. It will not disappoint you.

The suite was well appointed and good sized. The bedroom was separated by a sliding door from the living room. All the furniture was newer and in excellent condition. We had a great view of the city and traffic noise below was not a bother (we never heard anything outside, other than the occasional helicopter). The bed was comfortable (although on the firm side which I like), and the bedding was like new. The bathroom was kind of small, but not a bother, and was very clean and well kept. The towels were pretty big and soft, too.

We purchased the option that included wi-fi and breakfast each morning, which I encourage you to do (wi-fi isn’t free here, and the pre-paid option works out to be a better deal). The breakfasts were a buffet with a great selection. It was pretty good, no complaints. We ate at all the restaurants on the property, and Nicksan, their Mexican/Japanese fusion restaurant was fantastic.

Located in the reforma area of Mexico City, the hotel is centrally located in a VERY safe area. There are plenty of local little places to eat along with a bunch of little mini-marts for sodas and snacks (don’t hit the in-room minibar, too expensive). You will find a cab stand a block down the street from the hotel, and the bus stops (including the Turibus) is just across the street in front of the hotel. Easy-peasy to get around.

A cab ride from the airport in a nice Suburban is 350 pesos (about $28 US). Same cost going back to the airport in the same nice SUV (have the hotel hail the cab for you going to the airport. The cost of the cabs going elsewhere is more than you’ll pay at the cab stand). Use the cab stand down the street to get everywhere else, unless you are walking to the museums, zoo, etc. which is a 15 minute walk close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kula762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, General Manager at Marquis Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your positive comments regarding your stay in our hotel.

The hotel is always innovating and updating in all of our areas in order to provide a quality service in our rooms and restaurants.

We are glad you enjoyed our services and that you had the time to visit our restaurants.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and that you can once again have a wonderful experience, I hope you can visit our SPA it´s the best in the city.

We always have special rates like the one you booked with internet access and breakfast included.

In the future please don´t hesitate to contact us.


Best Regards,

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of the downtown Reforma area. The room quality was excellent (was upgraded to a suite, which was very nice). Attended a conference there, and the setting was very nice, and easy to attend. The staff was courteous and alert to your needs; a late check-out was not a problem, and they found you a taxi quickly. Only drawback might be that many of the more popular restaurants for business dinners are in the immediate vicinity, but are a 10-15 minute taxi ride. But the location is central, so you are equidistant from almost all areas that you need to go for business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranknDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, Manager at Marquis Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Ms. Debbie

Thank you again for sharing your experience at Marquis Reforma.

I´m glad you got the chance to be upgraded to a Junior Suite and really hope you found it confortable. We always want to make you feel at home so we constantly strive to meet your needs and expectations.

As a business traveler your comments are very important to us do to our location and services.

We really hope to have you back in the future.


Sincerely,


Angelica Villalobos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I think this hotel is one of the best choices to stay in Mexico City because the rooms are big and conformable the staff is nice, the location is also good,the breakfast is really great there also `lunch food` in the breakfast.The Japanese restaurant inside the hotel is really great,where you can taste a lot of different things... The Wi-fi is not free but it`s not too expensive... I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micaella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, Manager at Marquis Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Ms. Micaella

We really apreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at Marquis Reforma.

I´m glad you enjoyed our restaurants and that you also had the time to visit our newest Japanese restaurant Nick San.

We always want to make you feel at home so we constantly strive to meet your needs and excpectations,

Thank you again for sharing your commets and we hope to have you back soon.


Sincerely,


Angelica Villalobos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
116 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I keep returning to this hotel based in their service, attention to details and they always remember me. Location is ideal, easier to get Anywhere in the city from here. I always arrange private transportation and every time it is perfect, affordable, reliable and secure. I recommend staying here while on business in Mexico City.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, General Manager at Marquis Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Ashton

We appreciate your comments and your positive recomendations.

We hope to welcome you soon in your next visit, always exceding your expectations and needs.


Thank your for your preference.

Best regards,

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms are very clean and super large.... every room is a real suite!
nice options of restaurants on site, from mexican style to japanese food that I love!!
gorgeous and good breakfast.
kind service.... what can I add. I always book my nights there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurizio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, General Manager at Marquis Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Maurizio

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to the SPA at Marquis Reforma, we will share your experience comments with our staff members.

We appreciate your positive feedback and would like to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at Marquis Reforma for 8 nights in March 2013, and I must say it was really enjoyable with only a few minor things that I wish were better.

Firstly, the hotel is a good hotel in a great place in Zona Rosa (the Pink Zone, not to be confused with any Red Light Districts you might have back home) which is a safe area in town.

The hotel has a safe airport/hotel transfer which during our stay used comfortable sedans for both pick up and return to the airport. Took us around 30 minutes from an 11:14pm arrival, and about 16minutes leaving from 6am in the morning to the airport. During the day... well, Mexico City traffic is notorious, I would consider allowing 1hr plus. Tip: recommend early/late flight arrival and departures :)

For Australians, I would say this felt like a big Mantra Hotel chain. For everyone else, expect a very night hotel that is not massive compared to a Sheraton, Hilton or similar... but still carries great services like an active concierge, staffed front desk, a couple of restaurants, a business centre, spa, pool, gym, and a lobby bar.

The room we had was great, split into a sleeping room and a lounge area, seperated by a wooden sliding door with opaque squared glass. The furniture and carpet was clean, but perhaps a little dated in my view kind of circa 1980s.

You can walk out from Marquis Reforma and find any safe taxi off the street (look for a picture and certificate of the driver stuck on the passenger window , and compare the picture to the driver), and all we had to do was ask for "TAXIMETRO?" to confirm they would use a meter. Lastly, look for a flashing "LIBRE" but stick your hand out anyway, because I think some of the time the taxi drivers forget to press the "I'm vacant" button from their dashboard.

Getting to Polanca from Marquis Reforma was costing us around 35-60 pesos. The expensive end was during a 2am drive home, so we were probably paying night rate and a little extra because we weren't exactly going to walk home! One taxi driver wanted 180 pesos. From the Historic Centre (Centro Historico) around the same cost.

Last thing on the taxis... if you take one organized by concierge be prepared to be pay a premium, I hesitate to say "ripped off" because you are guaranteed a safe, comfortable sedan in most cases. If they holler you a standard taxi, then I think it is better to pay metered rates than pre-organized.

When you get out of the lobby, if you walk right you can get to some museum area and parks within 10-15minutes. If you walk left (and eventually cross the road) and go straight, you eventually come to Reforma 222 ( Reforma dos-cientos veinte dos) which is a mall area and there's a couple of good coffee places nearby that have wifi, like Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf.

Within walking distance between Marquis and the Mall area, you can find some great little antique places where you can barter, and some tourist and local mexican "holes in the walls"... just ask concierge to show you on a map. On weekends (I think Sundays) they shut off the road for fitness, where Mexico City people could walk, bike ride and enjoy a Zumba-like class. It was fun to watch, and people looked content. Was a nice people-experience.

The Japanese Restaurant in Marquis served top food, we ate their twice. Great wine selection, fresh foods served impeccably on the plate. Try the mexican rose, which was not too sweet and went well with our food choices We also ate breakfast at the other ground-level restaurant which served a nice array of western continental breakfast and mexican food. Service was great.

The bar in the lobby was open until around midnight to 1am most nights. During the earlier (quieter) part of the week it was not serviced by any live music but that was OK since our group enjoyed meeting their to talk. The bar staff were attentive, usually friendly, and spoke reasonable english.

We had a blockage in our bathroom one night, and maintenance came up within 5minutes which for me was a great response time. Room service was friendly, and food was quite good.

Bed was comfortable, and housekeeping came to turnover every night. Housekeeping did a great job all around.

The bad:
1. Other colleagues staying at the hotel used pre-paid taxis from the airport and felt safe. We paid about 2-3 times more for this transfer than going by pre-paid taxi. (750 pesos for hotel pickup only, 1050 + tax for pickup and return).
2. We upgraded the hotel room while still in my home country, and i was paying at least 30% and in one case 50% more than my colleagues. However, after viewing the rooms of my colleagues, they were given the same rooms and same service! Therefore I don't rate the VIP room offer they have.
3. 2 charges on my mini bar which were not ours, but the hotel reversed the mistake.
4. 1 lady on reception who was very disinterested in helping foreigners (feedback provided by several other guests also staying from Australia, America and Mexico itself!) Most other staff were lovely as mentioned. There's always 1 bad egg I suppose!

My number 1 "negative" was being charged 3 separate authorizations on my credit card of over 3000 AUD dollars!!! Our final bill was less than that. I can't remember staying at a hotel where they did this.

Having said all this, I thought this hotel was very nice and surely would not disappoint many people unless you want leather sofas and plush interiors in the room. For sure, the lobby is your typical marble floor, and there is nice art around the lobby area.

Personally, I will probably explore other options on my next trip to Mexico City, but if they are more than 20-25% expensive than Marquis Reforma then I will probably stay here again. Very suitable for a first time stay in Mexico City for play or business.

Room Tip: Just take note of your mini-bar usage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelhedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, General Manager at Marquis Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Hedges

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Marquis Reforma.

We appreciate both your positive feedback and your concerns. I´m sorry we did not meet your expectations regarding the transportation service and front desk staff.

At Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When I saw the Lobby I was impressed: elegant, spacious, well decorated, friendly welcome, smiling staff. We stayed for a week so my comments are not applicable to one day only.
The room was not very spacious, we had to take turns to pass between the beds to the bathroom, which was very well lit and equipped. The problems started when we realized that we had no phone connection and then our friends personally informed us that when trying to call us by phone on several occasions the operator said we were not staying there! The calls were not coming in and after several complaints they sent someone to the room just to discover that the telephone was not properly wired! The technician left the pliers in our room which were never picked up! The staff is very polite but the hotel maintenance leaves much to be desired. As for the taxi service, if you ask one from the hotel they will charge you and arm and a leg for any city destination. We chose to walk and get a taxi from the street. No, we will not stay there again.
irWe

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back of another building. Never got sun in the room. When asked for another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriaSilvestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoMonica, General Manager at Marquis Reforma Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear. Ms. Silvestre

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa.

We appreciate both your positive feedback and your concerns. I´m sorry we did not meet your expectations regarding technical service and transportation as well.

We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us, and we will work to improve the points you mentioned, we hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Angelica Villalobos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
The St. Regis Mexico City
#3 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#11 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#7 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#15 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 297 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Reforma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Reforma Hotel

Address: Paseo de la Reforma 465 | Col. Cuauhtémoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#10 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#28 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Reforma Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Low Cost Holidays, Otel, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marquis Reforma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marquis Reforma
Marquis Reforma Mexico City
Marquis Hotel Mexico
Marquis Reforma Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing