We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel undergoing an update.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Mexico City to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #9 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel undergoing an update.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed for three nights at this hotel which was changed last year to a Hyatt from the Nikko. The hotel is undergoing a refit to the main reception area but was still very good even with the construction underway. All the staff were really helpful and overall it makes for a very comfortable stay. I was on the club floor so had access to a really good lounge with some epic views of Mexico City and a good bar and the lounge was never too crowded even at breakfast, tried some nearby restaurants and it is a safe area for taking a walk round even in the evening. Everything was perfect only failed on excellent due to the refurbishment even though it had no real negative impact. Sure it will be super impressive when done and I look forward to coming back- great stay!

Room Tip: Club floor is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    221
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
33
80
50
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great hotel, attentive staff, work still being done in lobby (looks like it will be nice when done). Breakfast was excellent but also pricy - especially if you don't eat a lot. Sushi bar was OK, although my friend from California thought it was excellent, I would recommend some of the excellent restaurants nearby.

I have stayed in the area before (I believe this used to be a Japanese hotel - Nico) and it is the only area that our company lets us stay due to safety. You can have the hotel pick you up in the airport and they arrange for taxis for you that can be put on the hotel bill, which is a nice service.

This will likely be a 5 star review when the lobby is done.

Room Tip: Get a room on the high floors as the view is pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed twice in 2 weeks: once for business and once for pleasure. Both stays v good. No noise from the renovation and barely any disruption - tho assume that's why the rates are low. Service was as good as any boutique hotel - which is impressive. Get the concierge to call you a radio cab -- they do it pleasantly even tho it's 50% cheaper than their own taxi service. I felt safe walking around Polanco in the evenings by myself and ate out there all the time. Breakfast expensive and the only place you really are hammered by the renovation noise. Good location for museums + metro that takes u downtown is 5 min away. I'll stay here the next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was here unfortunately only for 1 night. Very beatiful hotel, luxury class, very friendly well trained staff, very clean, everywhere, beautiful rooms, luxury, I had standard room on 30 floor, great view overlooking the city, good neighbourhood, for example, the Bentley car dealer is right nextdoor, many trees in the street, and Starbucks closeby, 2 minutes walking, just few words, to recommend this hotel to everybody !!!! roomrate very low for so much value for money !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I loved this hotel. Lobby is being renovated and i heard no noise. I stayed here for 7 nights on a business trip.

Great location in the Polanco zone, close to many shops, restaurants, parks, etc.....

I had a room in the 30th floor. Service was excellent from beggining to end. Lots of security so it really felt safe.

I tried the japanese restaurant called Teppan an it was very delicious.

Once the renovation is completed it will be an amazing hotel all the way.

It is geared toward business people and after 5pm all these people gathered in the hotel bars and social areas.

Breakfast is ample, lot of options and food is of high quality. Pricey but good. $20 dollars in average, pretty standard for hotels of this category.

The hotel is located next to the Intercontinental Presidente and very close to the Marriott and W properties.

Castillo and Parque de Chapultepec are really close, as well as the National Auditorium, the Museum of Anthropology and Masaryk Avenue, with a lot of restaurant and bars and shops.

I had a great stay in Mexico City and during my next visit i will stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the Chapultepec Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stopped at this hotel on business. I was very nervous about the warnings of work bring done in the lobby and even called them to check before hand. I'm relieved to say that the noise is minimal, and there is a coffee bar in the lobby where you can hold meetings.
The staff there are very attentive.
Rooms are fab, and have been re-vamped to perfection. For a business traveller, everything is in the right place. They are kept REALLY clean.
The gym is very good with plenty of machines to use and all facilities that you would expect.
The hotel is located in the best part of Polanco with a lot of services close and in walking distance. I would add that there's a great French 24 hour bistro in the Intercontinental hotel next door.
I had room service a couple of times and this was OK, could be better but nothing to really complain about. It was delivered in good time too.
I just hope that once completed, that the rates are not hiked up as I would definitely stay here again. The staff make this place and Management should be proud.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was my first trip to Mexico City, and I was here on business for 6 nights. All six nights were spent at the Hyatt Polanco. Polanco is a well to do area with lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Dont think of driving anywhere, traffic is insane. Those poor cabbies!

The room was nice- with a great view of the park and city (even number rooms), free water bottles and fruit, and internet. I found the wifi slow, but good with the lan cable plugged into my laptop. Keep your washroom door closed while showering or your view of the park will disappear behind the foggy window!

The staff were all english speaking, thank goodness, and service was excellent. No waiting for anything, although you will need lots of pesos for tips.

Despite the price (280 pesos) I ate buffet breakfast in the hotel each morning, as the service was excellent, and the food exceptionally diverse.
The bakery has fresh strong coffee beverages and tasty snacks-not too expensive. The hours on the weekend were inconvenient and I had to leave the hotel to find a good coffee. There is a Starbucks across the street so I didn't have to travel far.

The hotel lobby is closed for repairs until December and a temporary one has been set up. It wasn't a big deal, and the pictures of the new lobby looks beautiful.

As it was my first trip to Mexico City I wanted to see the Pyramid of the sun, and arranged a day tour through the concierge. It was worth every penny! Ismael was a wonderful guide.

All in all the stay was enjoyed, the people great and facilities were outstanding.

Room Tip: Choose an even number room, higher up for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#23 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our Fitness Center (swimming pool, sauna, steam rooms, tennis courts and changing rooms) has been closed to begin an extensive renovation of the facilities. In the meantime we have set up an area with a variety of cardio fitness equipment for our guests, located on the 2nd floor. In case you would like to know more about our improvement plan, please visit our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikko Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.