We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Regency in Mexico City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Mexico City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #9 of 279 hotels in Mexico City
Deer Park, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hyatt Regency in Mexico City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Hyatt Regency is located in an upscale neighborhood (Polanco), and is within walking distance to several wonderful restaurants, parks, and museums. There's an absolutely wonderful pastry shop in the main floor lobby, where I had the most delicious empanadas with flaky crusts, pastries, assorted candies, and delicate macarons. Spacious fitness center and indoor pool. Consistently helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    206
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
30
69
48
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my second visit to the Hyatt Regency this year and I would highly recommend it to travellers coming to Mexico City. The hotel is located close to the zoo and other interesting places. The staff are friendly and very helpful and were happy to recommend the hotel next door for spa facilities as they do not have such facilities in house. Also very helpful when their ATM was not working.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the first time that a stayed at this hotel since becomes Hyatt, the staff and service still perfect as from previous Niko hotel, the room service is fast and you can ask for a nice black angus steak. The breakfast looks like a very nice lunch for around US$ 28. The localization is very good, you can find nice restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on business, and from the moment I was dropped off at the hotel, the service was attentive and impeccable. Being an executive club member, I was able to check in on the executive floor (40th floor). Had a great view of the city from my room on the 38th floor. Room was clean, modern, with all necessary amenities. There is a breakfast buffet on the 2nd floor that is awesome, and I also had a great breakfast in the executive club lounge. Very convenient location, to restaurants, museums and shopping as well.

Room Tip: Any room on a high floor will give you a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights on vacation at the Hyatt Regency Mexico City. We chose the hotel partly because of its proximity to Chapultepec Castle, the former residence of Viceroys and Presidents that is now the National History Museum. The museum was spectacular, although it was a longer walk than we had thought (15-20 minutes through the Bosque de Chapultepec). The Museum of Anthropology is a somewhat shorter walk and is also spectacular, with many artifacts from the Aztec, Mayan, and other indigenous cultures. The upscale shops and restaurants of the Polanco neighborhood are also an easy walk from the Hyatt.

The hotel itself is up to Hyatt standards -- clean and comfortable rooms, pleasant public spaces, adequate gym and indoor pool -- but I would not describe it as a world-class hotel like some of the Hyatts in Asia. We are Diamond members in the Hyatt Gold Passport program, and we used one of our four annual Diamond suite upgrades, so we had a suite on a high floor with a view of the city and the mountains beyond. The suite included a bedroom and living area that were really just different sections of the same room, and it also included a separate room with a conference table and about ten chairs. We had no use for the conference room, but business travelers might like it. We also had access to the Regency Club executive lounge, but unfortunately neither the space nor the food was anything to write home about.

The best thing about this hotel is its staff. Everyone seemed capable, diligent, and cheerful. The staff in the Regency Club -- waiters, reception desk personnel, and everyone else -- were particularly charming and helpful. Non-Spanish-speakers will not have too many problems here, since most staff members speak good English, although we encountered a couple of waiters and a few cleaning ladies who spoke only Spanish.

Another good thing about the Hyatt is that it's about a three-minute walk from the Auditorio subway stop. You can go almost anywhere in Mexico City by subway. It's far from trouble-free -- the cars can be crowded, and the various exits at each subway stop are not clearly marked so sometimes it's impossible to know which exit is the right one for your destination -- but it's nice to have an alternative to taxis and city traffic.

Room Tip: High floors are always better. Rooms facing south have a view of the park (Bosque de Chapultepec) w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My Sister's & my family stayed here for 5 nights. The location, Polanco is really trendy & upmarket. There are various fine dining restaurants, 7 eleven, Starbucks/Subway within walking distance of the hotel. Rooms are decent sized. In our room we were 2 adults & 2 kids. Good sized bathrooms & good quality toiletries are provided.
We were especially impressed with the extensive breakfast buffet. One of the head chefs (sorry do not remember his name) was extremely helpful & friendly. He went out of his way to explain various local dishes they had at the buffet. The staff serving the tables were friendly too. Unfortunately we were not able to try their other restaurants. The concierge was really helpful.
There were two issues, they did not have currency exchange facility at the hotel. The only option was Intercontinental, next door, which offered terrible rates. Fortunately there is an ATM machine with in Hyatt premises.
On the first day we hired the Hotel car to go to Zocolo. On our return journey we had to hire a local taxi. That is when we realised the price difference. After that we experienced that the staff manning the entrance & the hotel car driver were not very happy when we chose to hire a local taxi. When we asked for local taxi they were not at all helpful. There is always an expectations of tipping for any service. But we realised that is the case in whole of mexico city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was in Mexico City for two weeks on a business trip. This hotel was the perfect location its located in the heart of Polanco one of the trendy areas of Mexico City. Its within walking distance to great restaurants Aqua Y Sol, Solea, The Plam, P&W, just to name a few of my favorites. In addition the hotel has it own great restaurants one Hibachi style and the other Sushi they were both great on the nights when I didn't feel like walking to one of the other previously named restaurants I enjoyed a great dinner at the hotels in the Hyatt.

The breakfast buffet is also very very good everything is very fresh and flavorful. The customer service of the morning breakfast staff was also great. Outside of being located next to great restaurants the room was very comfortable and modern I loved the décor.

My only drawback is the size of the gym. They have a separate section for cardio equipment (i.e. treadmills, ellipticals, stairmasters, etc) and another section for free weights. It has very great equipment in both areas but the cardio area is not big enough to accommodate the guest when the hotel is sold out. If you like morning workouts this cardio room is packed to capacity by at least 5:30am. Instead of working out in the morning you may choose to work out after 6pm at which time you would have a better chance at choosing the equipment you would like to use.

Another drawback is the Spa. The spa treatments are very limited no body scrub, hot stone, or body wrap treatments. I actually had to make my spa appointment outside of the hotel at the W. It is located on the same street two hotels away. They have great spa packages.

Besides those two things this hotel is great and I would definitely recommend staying at this location. The size of the gym and the spa packages are not deal breakers at all. Just some little things to keep in mind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#22 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mexico City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Mexico City is proud to announce the completion of the renovation for the main entrance, Concierge and Front Desk. The Lobby Bar remains under renovation and will be soon ready to give you a spectacular surprise. We thank you for your continued support. Please visit our web site for progress updates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikko Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.