We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Mexico City to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #12 of 289 Hotels in Mexico City
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good location and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

stayed at Hyatt for 5 nights on a recent visit to Mexico City. This was a family vacation with kids etc.
Hyatt location at Polanco is excellent. It's very handy walk to Chapultepec park, to lots of restaurants and cafes and even places such as Starbucks, Subway etc for a quick meal or coffee.
The rooms were very nicely maintained and tidy. Room and bathroom sizes were good too.

The service at front desk and concierge was excellent, but couldn't say the same about the restaurant El Jardin. We ate breakfast there every day and found that service was variable based on who served you and how much tip you gave them. This was slightly disappointing for an otherwise excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    228
    29
    14
    8
See reviews for
34
83
50
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having stayed at the Hilton in Reforma and the Intercontinental next door to the Hyatt, this turned out to be an equally good choice. Polanco is nicer than Reforma for starters. The hotel itself has a huge impersonal lobby -- it used to be the Nikko and many cab drivers still call it such -- with a gigantic bar with an equally larger big screen television. But the rooms are very personal and warm, with nice beds and well-appointed baths. Great views of the city from the upper floors. The gym was very good and the Executive Lounge, though noisy at peak times, served a very good breakfast and had a nice selection of drinks and appetizers at day's end. Many good restaurants in the area. The hotel's sushi restaurant, a holdover from the Nikko, is not as good as it was under the former owner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Büttelborn
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been several times in the Nikko Mexico City- and was not really amused: old rooms, staff unfriendly, no good English skills. Now after the rebranding to Hyatt I have experienced a totally different picture. The rooms are nice and modern, however still no operable windows for fresh air which is for me actually a must have, staff is much more motivated and you can even find employees speaking perfectly English, in a country where oddly nobody does. According to reception the lobby will also be refurbished in the next months. So I am excited and thrilled to frequently use the Hyatt in the future ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel it is in an excellent location. The service is very good. The rooms are nice and clean. Every thing works properly. Try ro ask for a room nos very close to the elevators because you con listen to them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

great for business. well located in Polanco district near downtown and not too far from the international airport. clean, modern, and great buffet breakfast. only 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive from the world class Anthropology museum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our flight to Mexico City was delayed by over 6 hours: by the time we survived the airport's immigration cluster and made it to the hotel, we were tired, frazzled and grouchy.
Luckily, we used some additional Hyatt points to have a 'Regency Club' reservation. The first of this perk is a private check-in on the 40th floor by one of the dedicated Club level staff; this only took a few minutes, but was accompanied by wine/drink service, and a complete welcoming by the a very warm and knowledgeable crew. By the time we got to our room, all our fatigue was wiped away.
As a Regency Club guest, you have access to the 40th floor lounge, which for all practical purposes is open almost all day long: a breakfast buffet from 6:30-11, appetizers from 6:30-9:00pm, and full bar/beverage service from 1pm to 11pm. Everything is complimentary, and the food is excellent. This really adds a 'value' component to staying here if your plans keep you in the vicinity of the property, and the larger the group in your party, the greater the value is.
The room was lovely. Clean, up to date with beautiful southern views fro the 38th floor.
The only even slightly 'quirky' thing I can say about the property is the legacy Japanese influence from the previous management (this once was a Nikko hotel). The staff on the lobby level were very keen to promote the two Japanese restaurants (does it still need two?) and didn't even seem aware that there is a third option on the second level serving really delicious local cuisine. I don't mind Japanese food, but I sure didn't go to Mexico City to have sushi...

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 'Regency Club' if you plan on being in the area of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We organised a seminar for our customer and chose the Hyatt for its convenient location and good offer. We certainly weren't disappointed, the hotel is in a nice (pretty safe) location in a row of 4 big hotels. All the restaurants and bars in the hotel were great and offered good food. The service of the staff was very good both in the meeting rooms as well as the hotel rooms. Will certainly come back if I'm staying in Mexico D.F. again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our Fitness Center (swimming pool, sauna, steam rooms, tennis courts and changing rooms) has been closed to begin an extensive renovation of the facilities. In the meantime we have set up an area with a variety of cardio fitness equipment for our guests, located on the 2nd floor. In case you would like to know more about our improvement plan, please visit our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikko Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.