We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but really? No free wi-fi?!?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Mexico City to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #9 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place but really? No free wi-fi?!?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent 2 nights here on business as a solo traveler in August 2012, and here's a quick blurb of my observations.
I honestly barely touched foot in the hotel because I was mostly at work during this stay...I checked in at midnight and the next night I didn't get back in till about as late, so I can say I really didn't use the hotel for much more than sleeping for a few hours a night. So for me, the Hyatt was pretty expensive for how I used it. I think even at the $240/night or so that I paid, it is about the cheapest mainstream hotel in the immediate area. There are other boutique hotels in the area that I've used, such as Hotel Polanco, but it was booked this time, so this was the next place I could find that was near to where I needed to be.

The pros:
The rooms and bed were nice, comfortable. The room was modern enough for my tastes, and the King-Room had a desk area for work. The room was fully outfitted with mini-fridge, iron/board, and all the normal amenities.

Annoyances:
They charge for wi-fi. Sorry, but in this day and age, that is ridiculous, especially for an international hotel chain. They used to charge when it was Nikko, but they should have put a stop to that once Hyatt bought it. I think it's an additional $20/ 24 hours, and I don't think the bandwidth was anything to write home about.

I needed a cab because it was raining, so I asked the concierge where I could find one. "No problem" he says, and a bellhop runs down the driveway and out of sight. I thought he was going to flag a cab for me, which I thought was nice. Instead, he comes back with a private driver in an unmarked car. I only needed to go about 8 blocks, so I figured it would be maybe 60 pesos. 5 minutes later I'm dropped off and asked to pay 200 pesos. Complete rip off. I was pretty upset but I couldn't say no. I did try to negotiate, and he shows me his chart of fees within the Polanco district, so I couldn't get out of it.

So that left a bad taste in my mouth. The next day it wasn't raining, so I just walked the 10 blocks to my destination. I also canceled the wi-fi and went to Starbucks down the street for the one extra time I had the chance to use it while in DF.

I forget what breakfast costed, but it was pretty high. There are lots of restaurants in the area as long as you don't have to leave too early in the morning. They all seem to open after 8am.

Anyway, I will definitely try not to stay here again. I'll probably try a boutique hotel if I have to stay in this area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMC M, Director General at Hyatt Regency Mexico City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Hyatt Regency Mexico City and for having taken the time to write feedback about your stay on Tripadvisor. Your feedback with regards to our facilities and services is extremely important to us and allows us to continually monitor and improve our services.

I am delighted to read that we met your guestroom expectations and I am sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced with the transportation service. We are very concerned about every guests safety in every stay in our hotel and I'm certain that our colleague did not intend to disappoint you rather provided you the most secure transportation we only offer in the hotel premises. We can definitely assist you hire a taxi from the street should any guest require one, however your security cannot be guaranteed since they are freelance taxi and not monitored by private transportation company, so this option is not considered to be part of high-quality standard of transportation service.

Please be assured that we will pass on your feedback to our colleagues and brief them once again in handling transportation request to avoid any miss communication from happening again.

We have also taken note of your other comments regarding the WiFi service. please rest assured that we are in process to improving our internet service provider in the nearest future.

I hope you choose to give our hotel another opportunity to show you that we are passionate about guest service and exceeding guest expectations. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance to you.

Yours sincerely,

Kurt Straub
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    221
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
33
80
50
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. The front staff was great and very friendly and helpful. The guys who helped with the luggage were really nice when they brought the bags to my room and explained everything about the hotel. The rooms were clean. The bathrooms were large which is amazing! Everyone loves large bathrooms. The hotel lobby bar was good. The service was great and so were the drinks. The location is great and taxis are always available at the hotel. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMC M, Director General at Hyatt Regency Mexico City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Mexico City and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that your experience was enjoyable one and we take great pride in our guests' appreciation of the services and facilities. I will communicate to the entire team your kind words about our colleagues.

We would be extremely happy to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Mexico City in the future.

Sincerely,

Kurt Straub
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for business for one week in October 2012. Rooms were very clean, modern and quiet. Room service was very good (I recommend the chicken enchiladas). Staff very friendly. Business office have a few computers for use, if necessary but there is wi-fi available. Lots of restaurants and high-end shopping (louis vuitton, tiffany's, etc) within a few blocks of hotel. Coffee shop in hotel is very good. There is a Starbucks across the street.

The touri-bus/ hop-on-hop-off, with a stop a short walk from the hotels is worth it to see a good part of the city.

Hotel car service will cost about 30 dollars per hour. Taxis on the street are much cheaper but, unless you're a local, locals do not recommend taking street taxis for safety reasons.

A visit to the nearby (30 minutes in traffic) is worth a visit if you're a looking for souvenirs and crafts.

A trip to the pyramids will take about 1.5 hours each way (if traffic is light). It's worth a trip. The hotel can make arrangements.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the happier floors to avoid sounds from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Paradise being a relative word... Nevertheless, it was a terrific hotel stay, with an attentive and considerate staff. The rooms are lovely and well-maintained; the views of the city from the higher floors are outstanding. The service is impeccable; by mistake I left my money and my credit card in the pocket of my pants I sent down to the laundry. Within minutes everything had been returned to me. The Teppan Grill, a Japanese hi-end restaurant was delicious, albeit not inexpensive, and the lobby coffee shop/bakery convenient. As others have noted, the hotel is well-located for sight-seeing and attending concerts at the National Auditorium directly across from the hotel. There are shops and restaurants galore in the area, all within an easy walk from the hotel; the Saturday outdoor market in the nearby park is a "must-visit." In some respects Polanco is the Beverly Hills of Mexico City, in other respects it's a friendly area with a variety of stores and bakeries and coffee shops, a little of everything. El Turix, a hole-in-the wall taqueria mentioned in the NY Times was outstanding; give it a try for a true Mexico City experience. If your budget allows it, choose the Regency Club. The rooms are high, the breakfast and evening snacks are delicious and free, and there is 24 hour concierge service available. I come to Mexico City quite often; my delightful stay at the Hyatt Regency made this visit very memorable, indeed.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMC M, Director General at Hyatt Regency Mexico City, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

First, I would like to express my sincere thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is extremely important for us to measure our facilities and services.

With great pleasure, I read your comments regarding your dining and stay experience at the Hyatt Regency Mexico City and your excellent feedback is truly an accomplishment for us. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the nice view and well maintained rooms, it is indeed remarkably stunning either your room is facing Polanco or Chapultepec Park. I especially thank you for your compliments to our staff and personalized service at the Regency Club. It will give me great excitement to communicate your positive feedback to the entire team.

Our goal is to deliver this high quality of hospitality for every guest on every stay and I am delighted to read that you frequently visit Mexico City, I hope this is just the beginning of a great journey with us.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Mexico City.
Sincerely,

Kurt Straub
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

situated in Polanco, plenty of restaurants around (i recommend El Bajio, at 5 minutes, for a delicious typical Mexican breakfast). very friendly staff and very efficient busyness center. good gym too. Used to be the Nikko hotel so plenty of japanese/asian dinner option within the premises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMC M, Gerente at Hyatt Regency Mexico City, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit and for your kind comments.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Hyatt Regency Mexico City.
Please let us know if we can do something special to grant you a memorable stay the next time you visit us.
We look forward to welcoming you to Hyatt Regency Mexico City in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Mercadante - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here recently on business and I will certainly go back the next time I'm in Mexico city. The room was beautiful, the breakfast buffet was great and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has it all. Clean and modern rooms with all amenities. Friendly and efficient staff, good gym, good breakfast, some good restaurants. It costs less than the Intercontinental or Marriott, which are just a half block up a lovely tree lined street in a safe area, with many great restaurants and two Starbucks nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#23 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our Fitness Center (swimming pool, sauna, steam rooms, tennis courts and changing rooms) has been closed to begin an extensive renovation of the facilities. In the meantime we have set up an area with a variety of cardio fitness equipment for our guests, located on the 2nd floor. In case you would like to know more about our improvement plan, please visit our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikko Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.