We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second home in Mexico City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Los Amigos

Casa de Los Amigos
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Los Amigos
Save
You added Casa de Los Amigos to your Saves list
Ignacio Mariscal 132, Mexico City 06030, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A second home in Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Note that this isn't a hotel or even a hostel. La Casa is working Quaker center, migrant shelter, and humanitarian center. They do offer rooms for travelers if there is space. If you're interested in social justice work in Mexico this is an excellent community to meet. Living at the Casa requires some flexibility-- don't expect hotel like service- that's not the point here. I've stayed in both the apartment and a single room with bathroom. Both spaces were great for me and I would certainly stay there again. I've also taken groups of students there. I highly recommend it for the right type of person.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
3
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Over the last 7 years I have stayed at the Casa many, many times. I'm sorry it never occurred to me to write a review. I have nothing to add to other comments about it's virtues, friendly, comfortable, near the Metro, etc., etc. The common kitchen can only be as clean as the other guests using it, and there are some kids who are clueless, but it is cleaned every day by the staff.

Of the many things I appreciate about the Casa is that I ALWAYS meet interesting people doing interesting things. And I always learn something new about the world.

Did I mention I love it?

Room Tip: If you have never slept in a dorm room, be prepared for strangers snoring and making friends with pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Casa de los Amigos is clean and well kept, with a friendly, helpful staff. It is in an excellent location, close to the metro, metro-bus and several bus lines. There are many restaurants, a good pharmacy, and ATMs in the neighborhood. There is a kitchen where guests are encouraged to cook; a common room with couches, dining table and chairs, 2 computers and wireless Internet access; and delicious breakfasts are served every morning except Sunday. Beyond that, it is a peace and justice community affiliated with the Quakers that has been in this location for over 53 years. It welcomes people in and allows for fascinating interactions among guests from around the world. We so enjoyed meeting people there, and ended up doing several outings with other folks from the Casa. We are already planning to go back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cuarto K, which we liked very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights. Cost was incredibly low - 400 pesos a night.

It is run by volunteers, all of whom are very friendly and helpful. Lovely people who are eager to chat in English or Spanish.

The rooms are functional, not very good looking. Our curtains were broken, very hard to open and close. Kind of cold, and paper thin walls. Don't expect to get to bed early or wake up late. Not that there is partying, just general noise. That said, it had lots of power points, and decent wi-fi as well as a desk. The room hadn't been cleaned when we checked in, but that was quickly rectified. The shower ran out of hot water towards the end of the night.

The shared dining areas are lovely, a great atmosphere. The kitchen is pretty dirty, people don't put away their dishes or wash them properly.

A good breakfast is available for 30 pesos. They say it's from 7 to 9, but it's more like 8 to 10.

There are English and Spanish and gardening lessons throughout the week.

The location is quite fun. It's safe, but not right in the center. Close to some good attractions, and very close to a metro station, so it's easy to get around.

Overall, it's a great place to go if you are traveling solo, trying to improve your Spanish, or looking for a cheap but comfortable place. If you need quiet or worry about cleanliness, or plan to spend a lot of time in your room, you may want to look elsewhere.

I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I am a graduate student and needed a clean, safe, and affordable place to stay while working Mexico City for just over a month. I chose the Casa de los Amigos based on word-of-mouth recommendations from friends who had been there before. I have to stay that I was never disappointed with this place. It exceeded my expectations at every turn. The staff were friendly and helpful, the community living spaces were open and comfortable, the kitchen was great, and the breakfasts memorable.

The Casa is located in a really lovely working-class neighborhood, a 20-25 minute walk from the historic downtown, and two blocks from the blue-line of the urban metro. I felt safe walking around at night, plus there's a large public space two blocks away that people frequent for relaxing, running, and biking. The neighborhood is awesome; I wish I lived there, to be honest.

The Casa is not a typical backpackers' hostel, however. Instead, it's a Quaker house that does considerable community outreach in Mexico City. There's always something going on each day and evening, so the atmosphere is never dull. You'll meet people from all over the world here, even if you're only staying for a couple of days. Drinking is not permitted on premises, (though there are some decent restaurants and bars nearby) which makes for a relaxed atmosphere that's welcoming of all people.

I stayed in one of the larger rooms with a window and a view of the street. Regular housekeeping made sure the facility remained tidy and I was for want of nothing. Also, in response to previous reviews that noted that spotty internet service, when I was there (April 2012) this problem no longer existed; I was able to use the WIFI network with no issues.

My only regret? That I booked 5 weeks, instead of ten.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I recently spent five days in "the apartment" at Casa de los Amigos, a non-profit international guest house. The apartment had a comfortable double bed, private bath, kitchen and small living room. There was also a foldout couch that could fit two more people. There was a small terrace outside that was perfect for a solo sunning experience, a garden patio below and a large room (the library) with books and internet opportunities. Every morning I purchased an extremely inexpensive breakfast at the Casa, cheap but filling and delicious. Volunteers take turns providing a more-than substantial breakfast, better than any local restaurant offering. The Casa is close to the center of the city, within walking distance to sightseeing and shopping. Your stay here supports the humanitarian efforts of the Casa de los Amigos. Staff and volunteers are mostly American and they are delightful, knowledgeable people who want to make a difference.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the apartment which is a great deal for a couple or a family because it is private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalajara
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We visited the Casa especially to explore the human rights efforts that have been its focus since 1956, and to see its accomodations in person. Though we were unannounced and arrived on a busy day (there were indeed an impressive number of refugees and other guests participating in a range of Casa-run activities, like Spanish lessons; the weekday vegetarian breakfast had just finished and everything in the dining-meeting area was already shipshape again), the director himself welcomed us and took us on a tour. One of the first surprising facts he shared was that not only did the building serve as muralist José Clemente Orozco's studio at the end of his life, but it was designed by important Mexican architect Luis Barragán. For this connection alone, the Casa would be a good place for those interested in culture, as well as human rights efforts, to stay. [I read all the prior reviews & forum entries here, and saw no mention of the two artists, but that research also revealed the hotel across the street -- Gran Hotel Texas -- as a possibly good answer for anyone with any misgivings about 'too much community', as the location really is a smart one for those wishing to explore a good chunk of the city in a short time.)
On the weekday we were there, the Casa truly felt like a sanctuary in the middle of the city, with really lovely architectural and even horticultural details, a definite sense of calm purpose and of its heart being in the right place. Thus, as several other reviewers have noted, lodging here would be excellent for anyone who shared some of the Casa's aims: I really recommend reading up on those on the English version of its site, and in articles like 'From Arizona to Tamaulipas', on aspects of the migrant's plight we don't always hear about.)
One more note: the Casa also hosts Mexico City's Unitarian congregation's (monthly) services.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa de Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Los Amigos

Address: Ignacio Mariscal 132, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Amigos Hotel Mexico City
Casa De Los Amigos Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Los Amigos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.