We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leon Tolstoi No. 22, Mexico City 11590, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #116 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent 8 nights here in February, and it was perfect. We travel a lot, and like to find small hotels that are slightly off the main streets where it is quieter, and where we can get to know the staff. This one was perfect. We had a "king suite" that gave us a little anteroom with a desk and sofa - great for dropping all the day's gear, and for reading while the other person was sleeping! (No window though, so not a real room...) The bedroom was a good size with a very comfortable bed (although a bit short for us!) and a big armchair with built-in armrest tables - great for writing notes. Lots of lights, and a good safe. The bathroom was also large, clean, and modern. As others have commented, there was no drawers for storing clothes, but the big wooden suitcase stand worked just fine - we kept our suitcases on the floor and used the stand to pile clothes.
The restaurant upstairs has very nice views. It was not the cheapest place in town, but very reasonable from our North American point of view. And they were very accommodating when I wasn't feeling well - feeding me plain toast and orange juice for a few days.
There is also a great restaurant just down the street - Los Ponchos - which was full of locals on Sunday, and had the most wonderful food. And a convenience store a block away where we could stock up on bottled water.
The hotel is nicely located for walking to the park and the anthropology museum. The taxi drivers at the hotel were also very accommodating. Again, not the cheapest in town, but a living wage is not a bad thing. We had a very nice young fellow who would drop us off, and then pick us up again at a pre-arranged time, or when I called him (in my very limited Spanish!). The one time we took another taxi he got a bit lost until we told him to go to the Fiesta Americana hotel, which is only a block away and an easy landmark.
This hotel was a perfect place in a wonderful city. The staff were all friendly and everything was looked after very nicely. We would return there any time.

Room Tip: Get the "king suite" for the added little anteroom. Great for all the day's gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_10, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for all the comments, is a very good description in great detail of your stay at our hotel and the area where it is located,
It's good to know that it was happy, my staff and I thank you again.

We hope come back soon.
Best Regards

Rosario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    66
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
26
11
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Location is perfect. Chapultepec forest is so close I love the location.
Many services at a walking distance.
Short beds that made me sleep diagonally (I am not a basketball player, mid-european range)
Included breakfast is correct: glass of fruit, two small toasts, orange juice and coffee. But not variety. The variety must be paid apart.
Laundry service efficient.
WORST part:
- outsourced taxi drivers work without control of the management, leading to swindle.
- unavailability to talk to the manager for this serious fact.

When arriving to Mexico DF we are aware taking taxis on the streets may be a risky operation.
Due to this, we are ready to pay a bigger amount to hotels to provide a safer taxi service for us.
We rely on this drivers since the hotel is answer for them.
One of this hotel taxi drivers offers other transportation services (also recommended by the hotel) but these other services can be a TRAP for the traveler.
The one for me was the visit to Teotihuacan pyramids. The taxi driver gained our confidence after 2 business taxi trips. And offered us the visit to the pyramids. Hotel employees were also aware of it. When arriving to Teotihuacan, first thing was to visit Artesanias Quetzal shop.
He told us it was the best place to buy. We would find street sellers who we should not trust due to the poor quality of their products. We were not told of any other shops available.
We bought some souvenirs (not specially cheap)
Then the driver took us to a parking place quite far from the main parking place. And we made the pyramids visit on our own (as agreed)
The driver did not take into account, I could reach the very far main entrance (I was looking for the museum, which it was closed). My surprise was that there were a variety of shops over offering the same quality products at HALF price.
Yes, WE WERE CHEATED.
As tourists in Teotihuacan we were not aware how many souvenirs shops there are, we trusted the driver, who obviously had his commissions from delivering tourists directly to Artesanias Quetzal shop before arriving to the pyramids.
These taxi drivers operate with the backup of the hotel. But, IMHO you cannot trust them either.

I wanted to report this to the hotel manager the day before checking out, but I was only attended by the front-desk employee. So, since I was not able to reach the manager, I do not know if this type of operations are backed by the hotel or by a mafia (hotel employees-taxi drivers-quetzal artesanias).

I was in Mexico on a business trip.

Room Tip: If you are taller than 1.75m I would advice for a room with a bigger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_10, Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest I am Rosario Ortiz the General Manager , ' first of all I want to clarify that the taxi service the hotel although not in the same , I regret what happened, I found out immediately that this situation is talk to the taxi driver, what we want is to deceive our guests are most important . in effect when you inform him what happened at the front desk was not in the hotel but ... immediately investigate this situation , the taxi driver said that suggested that store , and I suggest is prohibited . This helps us a lot to avoid misunderstandings in the future, for now I have no more to give a sincere apology and tell him that was not intended by the driver , but .. it's important not to make any suggestions .
the driver offered him back to the store and not charge your tour, and you do not accept it .
I hope you can understand this and accept the error to recommend driver store.

I hope this situation will not damage your entire stay at the hotel.

Rosario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lights in the hotel room makes you feel like you are in a hospital.

Their breakfast courtesy consists of bread and coffee, if you want anything else, you have to pay additionally from the menu. In addition breakfast service starts late.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_10, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest:
Sorry for any inconvenience during your stay, for the lights of our rooms, we had not comments about it, just change the lighting warm white light rooms, it is important to tell that we are a friend of the hotel environment and all leds lighting it has a high intensity
About the breakfast we have included American breakfast fare is a more complete, on the other hand we have the option to request a box lunch to deliver it when you want, the restaurant is open from 7:00 am to 11: 00 pm.
We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you at your next visit to Mexico City to offer the all alternatives

Best Regards,

Rosario

Rosario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
335 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

the hotel is located just one block from our Mexican offices so, it's very convinient but honestly, this is a good business hotel with fair prices if you should be around Polanco area.
the rooms are small but have all you need, including free and fast internet. the breakfast is modest but fair.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_10, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank You for your opinión and recomendation of our hotel. We hope you come back soon.

Best Regards,

Rosario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Small rooms
Dark corridors
The bed was too short so I had to sleep diagonally
No central heating, had to borrow an electric heater that did a poor job
Disappointing breakfast choices
Excellent location though and clean room

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_10, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will work every day to improve our job. .Respect on the size of the beds, our beds are double beds and King, in your next visit I will gladly reserve a room with King bed.
as for breakfast, we have in most of our rates ... the continental breakfast but we also have the choice of American breakfast.
I hope us the opportunity to serve you at your next visit to Mexico City, I will gladly do your reservation directly to give everything you need.
Thank you again,


Rosario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcobaca, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great for business professionals, easy location to go for meetings in the Polanco district. I would like to see a better menu and more live bar scene. Great place for casual business meetings and beautiful views on the rooftop.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_10, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest!

Many thanks for your feedback, I promise that we will work to give change to the menu.
I hope to return very soon.

Best regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

It is a very small hotel with small rooms and small beds, but it has the advantages of being small. if you are in business and spend to little time in the hotel it could be Ok and it is quite economic compared with others. Nice service, always considering you in every moment and worried if you are ok and enjoying the stay.

Room Tip: ask a room with view to the castle, also visit the top floor restaurant, it has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_10, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Sr. Guedes
Thank you very much for your good comments about the hotel and our staff, was a pleasure that you stayed with us,

Hopefully come back soon.

Rosario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Marquis Reforma Hotel
#20 of 295 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 295 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino Real Mexico City
#130 of 295 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
NH Mexico City Reforma
#58 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco

Address: Leon Tolstoi No. 22, Mexico City 11590, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Mexico City-Polanco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.