We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - great service - great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astrid y Gaston

Astrid y Gaston
Alfredo Tennyson No. 117, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Polanco)
+52 55 5282 2489
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Astrid y Gaston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,959 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Alejandro Dumas y Eugenio Sue
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great place - great service - great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

High prices for sure. But the place is really great, very design and trendy. Service is just perfect - very high level. So prepare to spend a lot of money but you'll get a unique experience of atmosphere and of peruvian food. And to make it easier when you have to pay, here is a tip: you'll see that the bill looks very much nicer after a couple of their (excellent) pisco sour cocktails.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    68
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I know my Peruvian food.....but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

So I love finding a Peruvian place to eat when I travel (I am partial since my wife is Peruvian). This place is a gourmet and not the authentic place if that is what you are looking for. The food was good but again not your standard. They did have Lomo Saltado but that is about the only authentic dish. The rest is gourmet fusion. I asked for papa a la hauncaina or aji de gallina but they couldn't oblige. They also only have 1 type of Pisco! I do have to admit the presentation was very good and the ambiance was awesome (they have a patio with fireplaces). The service was superb. It is a bit pricey but remember it's the gourmet you're paying for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Came in with great expectations but ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went for the first time. Place is very nice a people very cordial but for the price paid I didn't feel the wow factor. I ordered a chilcano drink, never got it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great dinning experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

One of the best restaurant in Mexico City !
Great place excellent decoration and outside place with very nice atmosphere
Great drink special the Pisco
Great food my recommendations are tiradito causes y el cochinillo
Great service with also excellent wine cellar

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic service from the moment we arrived. The captain-maitre was very good and took us all the way on the wine, starter and main course. I believe this is my 5th visit, loved every time. keep the good job. The food was fantastic as usual.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid y Gaston also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Astrid y Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astrid y Gaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.