We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Mexico City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Mexico City to your Saves list
The St. Regis Mexico City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Reforma 439 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Ewing, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice and relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at St. Regis on his visit from work in June 2013. We really enjoyed the nice service with the most hospitable staff. The hotel is lovely with beautiful and fragrant flowers everywhere, and very conveniently located. The concierge was very helpful in arranging for nearby tours. The restaurant service was exceptional and very accommodating to our vegetarian requirements and catered special meals for us. The breakfast bar was wonderful and offered a very good buffet including fresh fruits and juices each day. Overall, we had a lovely time despite some rain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Community Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to hear your kind reviews, we are truly pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at The St. Regis Mexico City and were able to experience our personalized service and warm hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, rain or shine.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    74
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
47
124
26
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just enjoyed an absolutely perfect five-day stay in one of the most beautiful hotels in all of Mexico (and let me be bold here and say, one of the most beautiful in the world!). From the jaw-dropping lobbies, extraordinary floral arrangements, breath-taking 15th floor pool and fantastic gym, and wonderful restaurants to the incredibly spacious, comfortable rooms (with bathrooms you simply won't believe), this is an absolute jewel. Simply one of the most relaxed, comfortable, luxurious and beautiful hotels you've ever discover. And the location could not be better -- take advantage of a Sunday when the Reforma is closed just for pedestrians and stroll down to see the glorious Chapultepec castle and museums.

You will have to force yourself to eat away from the St. Regis -- Diana, Jean Georges (which turns into quite the hot spot late at night) and the King Cole Bar are all fantastic (the ultimate late night treat is on the King Cole Terrace, overlooking the Diana fountain, with the world's best burger shooters and fantastic sangria.

Best of all is the staff -- reception, concierge, butlers, housekeepers, gym attendant, waiters, hosts -- everyone spoils you (by name) and all seem to have a sixth sense in anticipating anything you might need. I feel a little guilty in singling out one person -- this is just one fantastic staff -- but Erick at the entrance is the best: nicest gentleman in the world with the best suggestions.

I love this hotel. Can you tell?

Special tip: have the wonderful concierge arrange a day trip to visit the astounding Xoximilcho with Javier as your guide -- he'll deliver the best narrative; help you maneuver the crazy gondolas on the canals; surprise you with amazing sidetrips, dining tips and museums -- all along with insights into Frida Kahlo, Diego Rivera, Dolores Olmedo (what a gorgeous hacienda estate museum) and Leon Trotsky.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Diana fountain and above the 9th floor. For now, any rooms running fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Community Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Cassidy,

It is such a pleasure to know you have had an extraordinary trip to Mexico City and its cultural offers.

We are very honored receiving your comments, thank you for making us the most beautiful hotel in the world. All our facilities have been thought for the comfort and seduction of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed epicurean moments at Diana Restaurant, J&G Grill and The King Cole Bar, and tried our signature beverage: Sangrita María.

Furthermore, we are pleased to know all our associates were kind and helpful.
We will be waiting for you to come back,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I traveled with family on this trip and we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The check in was a bit awkward as it was evening and the entire city was observing a voluntary low light hour so it was very dark (not the hotel's fault). The staff was very helpful and welcoming. The concierge was helpful in booking difficult dinner reservations. They also were able to book the appointment only tour of the Luis Barragan house which was difficult for me to book from the US.

The property is in a good location in between the Zona Rosa and Palanco within walking distance of the Anthropology Museum. The local area has a few decent local restaurants, food stands, and even a pharmacy within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The lobbies were nice to linger in as there were so many fresh flowers it made the scent very pleasant.

We were in a suite with a city view but the view was not that great (east side view I believe). The suite was small but nicely appointed and the bathroom had a large walk in shower with a steam shower. We had breakfast only once because it was not enjoyable due to the servers being so attentive it felt as if we were being watched the whole time (to each his own) and there were so many good local options.

Taking a hotel taxi resulted in a fare 2 to 3 times more than the sitio taxi rate. I had an issue with one of the junior doorman on one evening because I wanted a sitio taxi (misunderstanding) but it was quickly resolved by one of the more senior staff members. Overall the service and attention to detail was excellent with the doorman even remebering our names the same day we check in.

This is the best hotel in Mexico City that I have stayed in to date. The location and amenities are its best assets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Community Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know you had a memorable family vacation during your last stay. The St. Regis Mexico City is committed to contributing to sustainable practices, we thank you for joining us during Earth Hour. We are very glad you enjoyed several cultural and gastronomic options and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

While I havent stayed in all the top class hotels in Mex City I have stayed in many and the St Regis is certainly the best all rounder. The place is not so big you feel lost but has all the facilities you would want from a big hotel.

The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. one pet hate of mine is the lighting in hotel rooms but the St Regis has control pads by the bed and door so you don't have o go round switching lights on and off. The restaurant is good and I highly recommend the New York steak while sitting on the balcony part of the restaurant.

On top of this the gym and spa area is top quality though the pool is a little small fora real swim. The service throughout my 3 day stay was perfect and the only small criticism of the whole place is the fact you have to take two lifts to get to your room. One to get to reception and the other to get to your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Community Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking some time to recommend The St. Regis Mexico City. We are happy to know you found the hotel’s facilities comfortable, and were able to create extraordinary experiences, like dining on the terrace.
Our elevator system works as a security filter, since people who enter the hotel need to pass by the front desk and elevators require a room key to gain access, being the reason why there are two different elevators at the hotel.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to receiving you in the near future.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Bogota
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had two connecting standard rooms for our family of four (one paid with points and one with cash and we are Gold members of SPG.) They placed us on a lower floor with no interesting views, but other than that, we had a fabulous experience here. The rooms were spacious and had wonderful finishes and the most delightful shower/bathtub area (separate toilet, separate rain shower, independent tub and double vanity). The room was quiet - I don't remember ever hearing or seeing another guest on our floor the whole time we were there.

Service was excellent - we called for coffee or tea at least twice a day and it showed up lickety-split with a smile and even cookies every time. Servers in the restaurant were kind and eager to please. We took the hotel drivers all over town (both for drop-offs and pick-ups), including one day we hired a driver the whole day who turned out to be an excellent guide and made serveral wonderful recommendations of things to see and do that we hadn't heard about (Roberto). For hotel cars, you can expect prices comparable to taking ordinary taxis in New York, but with luxury vehicles, bottled water, and well-dressed and well-informed drivers. We weren't comfortable with the regular taxi option and I don't regret spending more for better transport. I would not recommend the Turibus option if you are a tourist in town - it was unreliable, slow and uninformative, we tried it out one day and it was a disaster (routes had changed but no one told us and we ended up marching our children endlessly through a somewhat sketchy area until we could find a hotel to take a taxi) - much better to invest in a driver from the hotel with some knowledge and a comfortable, convenient car or suburban. I believe it's about $30/hour and around $20 to dinner with 50% surcharge for the pick-up on return.

The decoration in lobby, restaurant, room, gym, kids club, spa is all fabulous - new, luxurious, elegant, comfortable - just totally top of the line. Note that the kids club is not staffed - you have to take your kids up with you, but the gym is next door if you want to workout while they play.

I also thought there was excellent value for what we received - room rate was perfectly reasonable for the high calibre of experience and I would have expected rates to be at least twice what they were. Breakfast (as expected) is pricey, so better to get it included if you're planning on eating at the hotel every morning.

I would absolutely return the next trip to Mexico City.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views, but all standard rooms are otherwise equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Community Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your kind review. It is very important for us to know you had a memorable vacation, enjoying Mexico City and its cultural activities along with your loved ones.
We are glad you were comfortable with our drivers, all of them speak English and are excellent guides. We are honored to know you have now lovely family traditions which begun at The St. Regis Mexico City.

Please allow us to keep welcoming you,

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is quite new/renovated and the service is great. I stayed in a few good hotels in Mexico DF and this one was the best at this time.

3 recommendations:

- The swimming pool is small mainly for relaxing, if you need a bigger pool go to the Hyatt Regency (ex- Nico)

- Book in advance since it is always full (for a good reason)

- Really avoid smoking rooms if you don't smoke

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Community Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking some time to review our hotel. We are reaching our 4th anniversary, and are glad to be considered the best hotel in Mexico City.
I am sure our future guests will appreciate all of your recommendations,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuauhtemoc, Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Simply really nice nice place if hollywood stars visit this place you bet is good! Location in main Reforma avenue!!! Great place worth it`s simply nice!!! Bar and restaurant good hi quality general!!!
You cant go wrong!!! Is simply one of best in Mexico city! New not like sheraton or hilton!!! smells good nice clean hi end!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Community Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased knowing you had a high quality experience. We hope we can keep surprising you with our service,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mexico City

Address: Paseo de la Reforma 439 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mexico City is located at Paseo de la Reforma, a key financial and business district as well as a center for social life in the Mexican capital. The hotel enjoys a strategic location in front of the Glorieta de la Diana Cazadora, a meeting point between the Bosque de Chapultepec museums, Polanco business district and the Centro Histórico. The airport is a mere 45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mexico City Hotel Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.