We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Reforma

Save Saved
You added Ramada Reforma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ramada Reforma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puente de Alvarado No 22 | Col Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #157 of 276 hotels in Mexico City
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cheap hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I am a mother of 3 and we went to mexico city to celebrate the bicentennial. i have to stay this is the worse hotel we stayed. all the bed linens were consistently soiled and at one point there was blood on the sheets. my daughter got a rash from the bed linens, it got so bad we had to change room. the staff at hotel are hostile and are not friendly. i asked to speak to the manager after the bloody sheets but it took over a day for him to speak to us. the bathrooms are in poor condition. there wasnt even a clock in the room! the only good thing about this hotel is that it has a pool which most hotels in this price range do not have. the wireless service would not connect in our room, my daughter had to sit in the hallway in order to get service, that or go to the lobby.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
19
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north america
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

THE RAMADA REFORMA is tricky,,manager is selling old and dated JENA hotel rooms as ramada standard rooms( those rooms arent standard are ugly and tired, pretty bad ones belive me)

i book via marsans for 2 nights, after check inn i open the door and i found an old bed hard as rock and linen of Jena hotel. ( formely jena hotel )
as soon as i stare at room i return and ask for an explanation and change room, finally in order to get the real ramada rooms ( they sell those rooms like SUPERIOR ONES WHEN Those rooms are just standard ramada rooms)
at the end they refuse to give the ramada room, so i pay another 50 usd in order to get my room.
please just make reservations on www.ramada.com

pros:

the ramada rooms ( superior ones) are fine, new bed linen soft and cool to sleep in.
coffe maker, flat screen and laptop safe in room.

cons:

HORRIBLE AREA is not reforma avenue but a near street where prositutes hang by night and drunk people also not safe after dark belive me , even there is a metro station right in the back of the hotel corner, after 7pm the area become ugly and fell unsafe. so if you decide to stay here, please dont go by night on yourself , grab a taxi fron the hotel and dont use bus or sub.
if you plan to visit mexico city and stay safe at night its ok, as long you dont mind dont go out after dark ( belive me is an ugly are by night )

i would not stay again EVER..

I PREFER EMPORIO REFORMA HOTEL NICE HOTEL SMALL LUXURY HOTELS OF THE WORLD
WWW.SLHW.COM

OR stay in holiday inn zocalo www.ichotels.com

but not hotel jena tricky ramada reforma ( the real name must be RAMADA TABACALERA OR RAMADA HIDALGO)

so my advice is to choose a better hotel and even cheaper with LOTS OF FACILITIES AND NICE SUROUNDIG AREAS LIKE ZOCALO ( DOWN TOWN MEXICO CITY CENTER)

the best option in zocalo is the new hampton inn, breakfast buffet include ¡ ¡ great stay with soft bed and luxury linen.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Staff: Friendly, helpful staff. Very welcoming and nice especially when you don't speak Spanish. They made us feel very welcome. Helped us find our way around. Helped us find tours at reasonable rates.

Room: GREAT. clean. nice beds, nice blankets, tv, phone, wireless internet available for free (we didn't have our ipod though). Bright, airy, cheerful atmosphere. Water ok to drink from tap. Air conditioning was perfect and you could adjust to your liking. EXCELLENT.

Pool: very nice with a whirlpool attached. Nice place to let your kids get some energy out while you can rest on the reclining chairs or sit at a table. Sunroof so sun comes in during day. Bar with tv right at pool.

Location: Location wasn't that great but wasn't really far either from the Alameda park and Centro Historico / Zocalo. Only about 40-50 pesos to get to the Zocalo by cab. $151 Pesos from the airport to the hotel. Not too far to walk (only 5 blocks from the Alameda park) but I was 7 weeks pregnant and didn't want to overdo it. One bad thing on location: there were prostitutes a block away. Ew. You don't stay here for the location. Once you're in the hotel, everything is great.

Free breakfast: the complimentary breakfast buffet was awesome with friendly quick staff. Yummy food. fresh fruit and juices. coffee. hot and cold food available.

Cost: it costed us about 100 US per night but its worth the price when you have a family and are pregnant.

We'd definately stay here again if we ever found ourselves in Mexico City.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for two nights before heading out to Tlalpujahua, Mexico. We ended up coming back early and needed a room for 1 more night. The staff remembered us and gave us the same discounted rate we had paid for the other nights without asking for it. The room was very clean, and there was a separate sitting room. The staff was exceedingly friendly and warm. The bar/restaurant downstairs was very adequate and had good breakfasts. The beds are rock hard (I am told that is a common thing in Mexico). It did feel a bit dated but charming. THe upstairs pool and bar was closed so I cannot comment on them (the brochures made them look nice).I was impressed and would stay there again although I don't know when I will be passing through Mexico City again.

  • Liked — Friendliness, price, location
  • Disliked — mattress was hard
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

I didn't have much choice where i was accomodated, so before i went, I read some review about the area around it, i was a bit worried but all my worries were laid to rest as the hotel staff were very helpful, very friendly... hotel is near to Hildago station and also within easy reach of Zocalo! Food was fair for what its worth so i had no complaints at all!

I would say its worth a visit, you will enjoy your stay and dont forget to visit the pyramids outside the city..great experience!

  • Liked — It has just been redone and the staff were very friendly, even with the language barrier it was easy to get around!
  • Disliked — It didnt seem like a real 4 star but was okay
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

We were staying at a very expensive hotel down the way. $140 a night. I was traveling with my roommate. He is from Tampico Mexico. He was treated like a provincial at the expensive hotel and he wanted out. There are several scouts in front of the expensive hotels that look for customers who want to change hotels. There was one from the Jena outside our hotel. He took us to the Jena and we immediately changed. The decor is old. Not beat up old, just out of date. If you like 1970's style decor this is the place for you. The rooms are huge and clean. The hall ways are monstrous. The bathrooms are done in marble, are clean and well stocked. They also have a bide, and bathtub (bathtubs are rare in Mexico). We had a double bed plus a small TV room with cable. The staff was very pleasant and spoke English. They have an internet connection in the lobby and money exchange. The cafe was average. There are several fonda's (cafe's) and small convenience stores within a block of the hotel plus a Hospital across the street. They can arrange a private tour of the Teotihuacan pyramids. Around $80 for 2 hours. Not bad if you don't want to spend major bucks on Hotel with fancy decor.

  • Liked — Clean and BIG
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Very large yet quiet hotel. Food dreadful. Staff excellent. Few minutes walk to local subway. Photos do not do it justice. Great value.

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — internet was not working
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Reforma

Also Known As:
Ramada Reforma Hotel
Ramada Reforma Hotel Mexico City
Ramada Mexico City
Ramada Reforma Mexico City
Address: Puente de Alvarado No 22 | Col Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 276 hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Reforma 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Reforma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.