We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl in MexicoDF!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita del Patio Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Casita del Patio Verde to your Saves list
La Casita del Patio Verde
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Lindau, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pearl in MexicoDF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

A real pearl in the middle of MexicoDF, with wonderful people! Delicous breakfast, a beautiful garden, only some footsteps away from Kahlo´s house, some little fine shops just around the corner and hummingbirds right in front of your nose (and your window) and also the best all around care in every aspect.. we had just made it our home for 3 month! absolutly recommendable!! Birgit, Stefan, Adrian, Freya and Ada

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
20
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We wanted to visit Mexico City but had some concerns about safety and getting around a city this size. Then we found Jose and his Traveler's Plan. This is the best way to see all the sights while feeling completely safe and very pampered.
The B & B is beautiful and the hosts Jose Luis and his mother Coppelia are very attentive and welcoming. La Cabana is large, clean, comfortable with a gorgeous garden to enjoy as well. The Coyoacan neighborhood felt very safe and we liked to explore it and enjoyed the restaurants close by.
The week of tours planned by the hosts kept us busy and allowed us to see things and places we would never have found on our own. A wonderful week we will always remember!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Va
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We didn't know what to expect but Patio Verde exceeded anything we imagined. We had such a SPLENDID time. Jose Luis knew what to recommend, where to eat in the neighborhood & what to see. The breakfasts were fabulous. Each day represented a different area of Mexico. A note : Special suggestion to use La Cabania if there are several people. Both places are great but La Cabania, which is a little more money, has more room to spread out and well worth it. The gardens are peaceful, relaxing & rejuvinating. The main Plaza is easily within walking distance. Sunday is a wonderful market. Two blocks away is a major street with a Mega and WalMart. Downtown Mexico by taxi or Metro. All this in busy Mexico City. Recommendation : Get directions because this cobblestoned street is not known by all the taxi drivers. Memorable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Jose and his mother run a gorgeous bed and breakfast in Coyoacan. In the Southern part of Mexico City, Coyoacan is safe and quiet and beautiful. If you are staying in Mexico City, this is an ideal location. Frida Kahlo fan? Her home, which is now a museum, La Casa Azul, is a short walk from La Casita. Jose is the nicest host (and easy on the eyes!) So helpful. The casita is breathtakingly beautiful with a lush and spacious courtyard. Walk the cobbled streets of Coyocan and the market is lovely.

Have a cup of Joe at El Jarocho, dine at one of the wonderful restaurants. The metro is easy to use and you can travel to the more touristy, and crowded, squares of Mexico City, but then come back to the beautiful and quiet Coyoacan for a delicious night's sleep at La Casita del Patio Verde.

  • Liked — The amazing attention to detail!
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

If you are planning on visiting Mexico City this is the place to stay. This B&B is a beautiflul home in the charming and historical neiborhood of Coyoacan. (the south part of the city) It is a perfect place to come home after you have been exploring the city. The house has 2 bedrooms and a beautiful and peaceful garden. It was started by young kid named Jose Luis and his mother Coppelia. They are there for anything you might need during your stay. They're great!!! They make the most delicous breakfasts for you every morning.
My boyfriend and I and my 2 sisters went there for a week to spend x-mas. My grandfather lives in the city and we didn't all fit at his house. So we basically rented out the whole place for ourselves. At a great price. Something like this in San Miguel would cost a fortune.

If you're planning on really getting to know the city, Jose Luis has all kinds of different travel plans. You can go see the ruins, churches, museums, histrocal areas, etc all in a private van, with private tour guide. This is really worth it, since mexico city can get a little overwhelming if you have never been there. We didn't take advantage of this b/c out grandfather took us around. But I thought it was a good idea.

All in all, our stay at the casita was fabulous. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to see what Mexico City really has to offer.

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

It is a great, first class, luxurious place wtih a Mexican ambiance. I knew all the top spots in Mexico City in only one week with a really effcient guide, due to the Traveler Plan this B&B offers.
The attention in La Casita del Patio Verde is remarkable the staff is concerned about every detail in the service.
Totally recommendable!!

  • Liked — The decoration and the service
  • Disliked — The alley where it is located
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge. Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

Really, really the best place to stay in Mexico City. I definetely recommend it, their Traveler Plans are simply the best option for any foreigner that really wants to know Mexico City.

I am really recommending this place for it´s service inside the house and outside the house, with the guide and transportation. Also their Itinerary is awesome..........

Thank you CASITA DEL PATIO VERDE I wish you all the luck in the world and I am sure that this B&B is going to be a sucess....

Danny Spencer

  • Liked — The Traveler Plans
  • Disliked — Nothing important
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casita del Patio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita del Patio Verde

Address: Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casita del Patio Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casita del Patio Verde is located in Coyoacan one of the most emblematic neighborhoods in Mexico City. It has cobblestone streets with tourist spots, big mansions, plazas, art galleries, restaurants and picturesque cafes. Within walking distance, you have access to the heart of Coyoacan, as well as Frida Kahlo's Museum (La Casa Azul); Plaza Hidalgo; Jarda­n Centenario; Casa de Cortes, Plaza Conchita amongst others. It's very close to San Angel, with its colonial Plaza San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Casita del Patio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Patio Verde Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita del Patio Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.