We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in a Nostalgic Colonia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita del Patio Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Casita del Patio Verde to your Saves list
La Casita del Patio Verde
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 107 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming B&B in a Nostalgic Colonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

La Casita del Patio Verde is located in one of the most beautiful colonias in Mexico City and within easy walking distance to Frida Kahlo's La Casa Azul. It's a charming B&B with a garden back yard and was hosted by Anna during our stay. Anna prepared varied fabulous breakfasts each morning and attended to our housekeeping needs. The neighborhood is upscale and full of different cafes, bakeries, and even a chocolatier, as well as a beautiful park. Just walking through it is a delightful experience as each home is unique with many old mansions lovingly restored. I hope to visit Coyoacan again and would gladly stay here.

Room Tip: There aren't any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
24
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very beautiful rooms and grounds. Quiet neighborhood close to the market and museums. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very accommodating and welcoming. I would come back!! And recommend for any one wanting a quiet Mexican City vacation spot

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

La Casita del Patio Verde is a beautiful little hotel tucked away on a quiet side street in a gorgeous neighborhood in Mexico City. La Casita is convenient to the center of the Coyoacan neighborhood where there are restaurants, stores and museums. It's close to the Frida Kahlo museum. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated with tile and textiles from around Mexico. It has a lovely garden and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed in the El Cuarto del Colibrí room. The smallest room which was perfect for one person or two couples with lots of closet space and desk top space for your things. The room was filled with beautiful tapestries from Oaxaca. It has a separate bathroom that was fine and just down the hall. It was supplied with a wonderful bar of meil (honey) soap and really nice shampoo and conditioner. The owner Jose Luis speaks excellent English and is very helpful. Although he is not on site, he is only a phone call away. Anna who was on site made a lovely breakfast. I love Coyoacan! It is one of my favourite places in Mexico. Of course I love Frida Kahlo too and enjoy visiting the Casa Azul her blue house. I visited the Leon Trotsky home this time and found it interesting. La Casita de Patio Verde is in a good location for walking to the zocalo and to the museums, if you like to walk. It is several blocks to both but I like to walk. It is very close to one of my favourite resturaunts which is The Green Corner. It is above a health food store and has delicious soups, breads and health food dishes. Down the road is a super Mega store where you can buy just about any supplies needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We almost thought we would never get here as the taxi driver from the airport didn't have a clue as to how to negotiate the many callejones of this neighbourhood. A detailed map would have been helpful before arriving. However, once you get here you won't want to leave. We stayed in the Cuarto del Arbol and it was perfect. With a little balcony and French doors that open onto feathery treetops, the room couldn't have been more delightful. There is a lot of closet space, a King sized bed and contemporary bathroom with good lighting. The shower takes a minute to heat up but is splendid once it does. Breakfasts here are well rounded and get you through most of the day. The verdant garden is a good place to catch up on your computer, read or just take in the hummingbird activity. Paola is a talented cook and very sweet.
We have walked everywhere and the tranquil leafy streets are safe and beautiful. This is an excellent establishment and while we haven't yet met the host, he has put in place a very accommodating and homey atmosphere. I highly recommend Casita Patio Verde!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It very close to Coyoacan Center which is kind of very Mexican Hippie place. I had a really good time. There are a lot of book stores, coffee shops (not like those in Amsterdam, of course), restaurants, and art events in that area of Mexico City. The host really like to talk, so he can give you good advise in order to make your trip through Mexico City one of the best you could ever have had.

cheers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaza
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Small, hidden, the cutest rooms colorful and exactly just like the pictures. Part of the experience was sign language with the lady in charge, but super helpful and when needed she would call someone who understands and speaks perfect English. Breakfast is good. Quiet area and hidden road. 20 min walk a center of Coyoacan. 15 min walk from the metro station. we were sad to leave - they were very special four nights at La Casita Del Patio Verde.

Room Tip: They are three rooms! we chose the cheapest which is on the second floor, it has a speerate bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
5.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#17 of 295 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Tekolote
La Casa del Tekolote
#225 of 295 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maria Del Alma
Maria Del Alma
#12 of 107 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pug Seal Boutique B&B
Pug Seal Boutique B&B
#9 of 107 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mex Suites Casa Azul B&B
Mex Suites Casa Azul B&B
#7 of 107 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita del Patio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita del Patio Verde

Address: Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casita del Patio Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casita del Patio Verde is located in Coyoacan one of the most emblematic neighborhoods in Mexico City. It has cobblestone streets with tourist spots, big mansions, plazas, art galleries, restaurants and picturesque cafes. Within walking distance, you have access to the heart of Coyoacan, as well as Frida Kahlo's Museum (La Casa Azul); Plaza Hidalgo; Jarda­n Centenario; Casa de Cortes, Plaza Conchita amongst others. It's very close to San Angel, with its colonial Plaza San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Casita del Patio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Patio Verde Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita del Patio Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.