We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita del Patio Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Casita del Patio Verde to your Saves list
La Casita del Patio Verde
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Beautiful and Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very beautiful rooms and grounds. Quiet neighborhood close to the market and museums. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very accommodating and welcoming. I would come back!! And recommend for any one wanting a quiet Mexican City vacation spot

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
20
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

La Casita del Patio Verde is a beautiful little hotel tucked away on a quiet side street in a gorgeous neighborhood in Mexico City. La Casita is convenient to the center of the Coyoacan neighborhood where there are restaurants, stores and museums. It's close to the Frida Kahlo museum. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated with tile and textiles from around Mexico. It has a lovely garden and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed in the El Cuarto del Colibrí room. The smallest room which was perfect for one person or two couples with lots of closet space and desk top space for your things. The room was filled with beautiful tapestries from Oaxaca. It has a separate bathroom that was fine and just down the hall. It was supplied with a wonderful bar of meil (honey) soap and really nice shampoo and conditioner. The owner Jose Luis speaks excellent English and is very helpful. Although he is not on site, he is only a phone call away. Anna who was on site made a lovely breakfast. I love Coyoacan! It is one of my favourite places in Mexico. Of course I love Frida Kahlo too and enjoy visiting the Casa Azul her blue house. I visited the Leon Trotsky home this time and found it interesting. La Casita de Patio Verde is in a good location for walking to the zocalo and to the museums, if you like to walk. It is several blocks to both but I like to walk. It is very close to one of my favourite resturaunts which is The Green Corner. It is above a health food store and has delicious soups, breads and health food dishes. Down the road is a super Mega store where you can buy just about any supplies needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We almost thought we would never get here as the taxi driver from the airport didn't have a clue as to how to negotiate the many callejones of this neighbourhood. A detailed map would have been helpful before arriving. However, once you get here you won't want to leave. We stayed in the Cuarto del Arbol and it was perfect. With a little balcony and French doors that open onto feathery treetops, the room couldn't have been more delightful. There is a lot of closet space, a King sized bed and contemporary bathroom with good lighting. The shower takes a minute to heat up but is splendid once it does. Breakfasts here are well rounded and get you through most of the day. The verdant garden is a good place to catch up on your computer, read or just take in the hummingbird activity. Paola is a talented cook and very sweet.
We have walked everywhere and the tranquil leafy streets are safe and beautiful. This is an excellent establishment and while we haven't yet met the host, he has put in place a very accommodating and homey atmosphere. I highly recommend Casita Patio Verde!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It very close to Coyoacan Center which is kind of very Mexican Hippie place. I had a really good time. There are a lot of book stores, coffee shops (not like those in Amsterdam, of course), restaurants, and art events in that area of Mexico City. The host really like to talk, so he can give you good advise in order to make your trip through Mexico City one of the best you could ever have had.

cheers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaza
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Small, hidden, the cutest rooms colorful and exactly just like the pictures. Part of the experience was sign language with the lady in charge, but super helpful and when needed she would call someone who understands and speaks perfect English. Breakfast is good. Quiet area and hidden road. 20 min walk a center of Coyoacan. 15 min walk from the metro station. we were sad to leave - they were very special four nights at La Casita Del Patio Verde.

Room Tip: They are three rooms! we chose the cheapest which is on the second floor, it has a speerate bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Durango, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The house is gorgeous but the service is terrible they treat you super bad they don't open the door, do not respect your reservation and there is a lot of noise in the morning you will not be able to sleep, and they make you feel like you are a estranger at their home I will neve again stay there, they make an error assigning my room and they blame me and switch the room after all my things where there and I was about to sleep

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casita del Patio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita del Patio Verde

Address: Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casita del Patio Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casita del Patio Verde is located in Coyoacan one of the most emblematic neighborhoods in Mexico City. It has cobblestone streets with tourist spots, big mansions, plazas, art galleries, restaurants and picturesque cafes. Within walking distance, you have access to the heart of Coyoacan, as well as Frida Kahlo's Museum (La Casa Azul); Plaza Hidalgo; Jarda­n Centenario; Casa de Cortes, Plaza Conchita amongst others. It's very close to San Angel, with its colonial Plaza San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Casita del Patio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Patio Verde Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita del Patio Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.