We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Wow, simply unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita del Patio Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Casita del Patio Verde to your Saves list
La Casita del Patio Verde
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Tulum
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow. Wow, simply unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

As hotelier I always try different type of services and in this case, La Casita is unbeatable. I stayed with my wife last November during a quick trip in "Cuarto del árbol", super comfortable bed; charming room well ventilated, but also had a little heather; perfectly clean and lighted bathroom and a beautiful hand painted decoration above the bed that gave a magical sensation.
You receive breakfast in the morning with not only a great taste of Mexican Food, but also a warm smile and real care. The garden is soooo beautiful and relaxing, the location great to visit Coyoacan and the whole south of the city. Jose Luis was superattentive from the reservation until our departure. Unfortunately it was fully committed last time I was in Mexico City last February and I had to try somewhere else. No comparison at all.
We tried La Pause restaurant, Martin, the Chef is a very special person with a special talent, Mexican food made in an incomplicated way, good wine, nice atmosphere. (I will better make a review there).

Be absolutely sure you will not find anything like La Casita del Patio Verde in south DF (and many other places). Stay there, you will remember your whole life.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
20
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This sweet little house is a real treat. With only three rooms it really does feel your own place, especially as the other guests are out and about most of the time. It's located in a great spot for exploring Frida Kahlo's house and Diego Rivera's studio. It's only a few minutes walk from Coyoacan square so it really feels like you're staying in a little village. The house is beautifully presented, and the breakfasts were beyond compare. Very welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed in this B&B for five nights and the experience is best ever.
House was always clean,breakfast was so big and fresh and had different main dishes everyday.
Bed was so comfortable that you don't wanna get out of it.
It's an oasis within Mexico city,beautiful neighborhood,and there are some small shops/restaurant around to discover.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Wonderful experience on both of my stays. Stayed for 3 nights in July with a friend in "Cuarto del Arbol" and then 4 nights in August with my sons in "La Cabana". The rooms are beautiful, clean, cozy, silent and fully equipped.
Breakfast was great, fresh orange juice, yogurt, fresh fruit, bread, jams and a main course breakfast dish which changed daily.
Jose Luis, the Innkeeper, is welcoming and helpful, always ready to give you useful tips to enjoy your trip. He really makes you feel at home.
La Casita del Patio Verde is in my favorite neighborhood, Coyoacan, a paradise inside chaotic Mexico City. Coyoacan is a safe neighborhood full of lovely little colonial squares, churches, markets, cafès and restaurants.
The hotel is walking distance to the Frida Kahlo Museum and near the Diego Rivera and Dolores Olmedo Museums.
It was a WONDERFUL experience and would recommend it to everyone whether you are traveling as a couple, with friends, with family or by yourself.
It Home away from Home. Really hope to go back soon!
Gracias!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We got married in Mexico City on October 22 and we were looking for a cozy and comfortable place to stay. We were lucky and found space available at La Casita del Patio Verde. My in-laws, friends, my husband and I stayed at La Casita.

La Casita is an unique place in the heart of Coyoacan, a great place for those that love to walk, grab a cup of coffee early in the morning or enjoy an evening in the terrace of a local restaurant. La Casita has a priviledged location and it is a beautiful Mexican-style house.

The staff at La Casita was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast at la casita was delicious; we had fresh fruit, juice, eggs and bread.

In our next trip to Mexico City we will certainly stay at La Casita again.

Room Tip: The cabana room is the biggest if you are looking for a lot of space. All rooms are spacious, quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in mid-July and we were so pleased with our selection. We had the place to ourselves for 3 of the 5 nights. This little treasure is tucked away behind a wall/gate and you'd never know what you were missing if you walked by outside.

What we loved about it: breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, yogurt with granola, toast with your choice of honey, caramel or marmelade, orange juice, delicious coffee and a 'main dish' like quesadillas or tortillas. There were two versions of the menu available, one English and one Spanish. That would come in handy for any travelers who don't speak Spanish, they could point out their choices to communicate with the staff who speaks very little (if any) English.

The accommodations were very clean, with daily service in our room. The grounds are well-kept and lush, with flora everywhere you looked. It was unfortunate for us that we were unable to utilize the patio area for breakfast during our stay as it rained off and on the entire time we were there. This made for very mild temperatures, which we did not expect in July in Mexico City.

The innkeeper, Jose, was a real delight. He is friendly and accommodating, and his English is impeccable. He has a wealth of knowledge and was very helpful with questions about things to do and see.

The housekeepers, Julia and Paula, were efficient and accommodating. If you aren't bilingual, take a dictionary to breakfast with you. Personally, that added to the charm of the place for us. You know, "when in Rome..."

When we travel, we prefer not to stay in cookie cutter 'typical tourist' hotels. This B&B puts you in the middle of Coyoacan, easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and even Frida Kahlo's museum. With all the delicious food we ate, it was a good thing we did so much walking!

One thing I would like to add is how safe we felt walking around in this neighborhood. We were even out at night wandering around and never once felt threatened or unsafe. This is a lovely area, and can change any misconceptions about Mexico. Don't get me wrong, when you go to places like the Pyramids, you will see plenty of vendors hawking their wares. In Coyoacan, however, life is tranquil and you are left alone to explore the city on your own.

We hope to make it back someday to see things we didn't have time to on this trip. If we do, we are definitely going to stay here. We recommend it to anyone traveling to the Mexico City area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

If you are visiting Mexico City, La Casita del Patio Verde is THE place to stay! I found it and didn't know what to expect, but I can say now this was one of my best vacations ever! Very comfortable, luxury, and very near Coyoacan Center, one of the most beautiful places in Mexico City. The breakfasts are awesome, and the service too! I will be staying here everytime I go to Mexico in the future! Thank you Jose Luis and Gloria, you made me had a very relaxing stay! See you soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the Cabaña! Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casita del Patio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita del Patio Verde

Address: Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casita del Patio Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casita del Patio Verde is located in Coyoacan one of the most emblematic neighborhoods in Mexico City. It has cobblestone streets with tourist spots, big mansions, plazas, art galleries, restaurants and picturesque cafes. Within walking distance, you have access to the heart of Coyoacan, as well as Frida Kahlo's Museum (La Casa Azul); Plaza Hidalgo; Jarda­n Centenario; Casa de Cortes, Plaza Conchita amongst others. It's very close to San Angel, with its colonial Plaza San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Casita del Patio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Patio Verde Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita del Patio Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.