We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, unless you want to sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Amigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Amigo to your Saves list
Hostel Amigo
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Isabel la Catolica 61, Mexico City Z.C. 06000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good, unless you want to sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The place is very central . 4 blocks from the Zocale, you can't beat that for this price. I stayed in a private room witch was priced at 320 MXN. I think the price is not bad, but for the same price you stay next door in a real hotel in a single room.
The place is safe, clean, ceilings are high. My only complain is about the behavior of some clients. I stayed a week day and people were playing, shooting, making lots of noise until 2-3 am. So I guess if that's the kind of hour you want to go to bed it's ok, otherwise look elsewhere.
To finish, staff was pleasant to interact with.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
1
31
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We loved our stay at Hostel Amigo - our room and a huge high ceiling so it was cool at night, and felt very spacious, Breakfast was amazing - pancakes! Unheard of at a hostel! Delicious. Very helpful staff, free computers to use and great location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great location in Centro Mexico City about 5 minutes walk away from Zocalo. A few blocks away from upmarket shops and restaurants in Centro, or a few blocks in the other direction for street eats which I frequent every night. The little bar is awesome for a few beers and night and there are also computers free for guests to use the internet.

The rooms are clean, as are the huge bathrooms. The staff are awesome and really helpful as I don't speak a word of Spanish. There is also a mini travel agency within the hostel where they can arrange tours to nearby attractions like Xochimilco and Teotihuacan, or book bus tickets to your next destination for the same price as buying it yourself at the bus terminal (very handy for me as once again I can't speak Spanish).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at Hostel Amigo for a week and it was awesome. Cheap, clean and right in the centre of the historical district. I was buying a car while in Mex city and they helped me non stop. Making translations, writing flyers and numerous phone calls were no problem for the staff.
Its a very safe hostel which a lot of ppl like considering mex city is supossed to be quite dangerous.
The Bar guy is a legend and definitly knows how to get the party started with his tequila shots and his group tours. I have been travelling for over a year and this was one of the best hostels so far.
I highly reccomend it ! especially considering the prices of the other hostels.

Room Tip: Private rooms are great and mine had a couch and a bean bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sestao, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A friend and I stayed in an 8 people dorm for 5 nights. We booked it because it was the cheapest place we could find on the Net, but when we arrived, we were astonished and loved the place since the very first moment: the super-central location is fantastic, the staff are nice and helpful, always trying to make you feel at home. The decoration is really lovely (each dorm and private room have their own names and Mexican details related to it), even in the corridors.

There are plenty common places to meet people and the toilets are big and always clean.
There is something to do around the bar all day long: they show a film every afternoon, organise tours, play music until ten at night... The bartender is very friendly and talkative too.

Inside the dorms and in the corridors you have lockers you can use with your own lock. If you have any valuables that are too big for them or you don't own a lock, people at the reception can keep your belongings too.
The breakfast is wonderful, with lots of fruit, many varieties of tea, coffee, milk, different types if cereal and even home made pancakes!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We booked room through booking. com, and through this system it is We have stayed not in a shared room. we had our own separate double bed in a amazing and huge room. it was colored in a beautiful orange color, all the furniture was modern and new. It had sealing fan, which was working perfectly. It also had sofa and a comfortable bean bag chair. everything adapted to young people!

There was breakfest for free every morning from 8 to 10 am, it was milk, cereal, tea, coffee, papaya, watermelon, bananas, pancakes, jam. you can eat as much as you want.

Also there was a kitchen with all the supplies where you can prepare your own food.

The public areas in the hostel are very nice, colorful, with games like biliard. You can use computers, there are big projector for movie nights, hostel is organizing tours.

The bathroom is shared, but very nice, and modern, with separate covered shower cabins (Although there was seen one cockroach).

The lights in the room could be brighter.

Room Tip: Separate rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibenik, Croatia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have to say thatI stayed here only one night but that thing that make me angry is that on the website of hostelworld one price for the room was shown, and we came there the price was 200 peso, what was something like a 100 more than we read. The toilet was dirty when we came and it stayed like that till the late morning. Staff was helpful and friendly, but I didn't felt the vibe all the people around the web pages are saying. Average indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Amigo

Address: Isabel la Catolica 61, Mexico City Z.C. 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Amigo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Amigo Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Amigo Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Amigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.