We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No changes or improvements in years” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Casa Vieja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Casa Vieja to your Saves list
Hostal Casa Vieja
Cerrada de Londres No 7, Mexico City 06600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“No changes or improvements in years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I've stayed here before which is why I returned. The problems with this place are: lack of hygiene by morning staff when putting out the light breakfast (handling the bathroom trash and then going into the kitchen and taking out the bread and spreads without washing your hands is disgusting!), a shower head which is due to be replaced (cost of a new shower head = 70 pesos), mattresses in the "female" dorm which are clearly too old to be slept in. Actually, you can't sleep in them because the springs poke you in the back), very few outlets if you need to plug in (only one in each dorm I think), staff who typically either lie to you (the local manner of doing things) or aren't interested in helping and a really, really worthless night employee who needs to be let go and replaced. A better job for him would be in an internet cafe. Oh, and there isn't a women's dorm or a men's dorm - they are just whatever is financially convenient for the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal C, Gerente at Hostal Casa Vieja, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
thank you very much for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice location, nice people, nice beds.... nice choice!!
The fees and location are unbeatable, the "continental breakfast" can be improved :), the dormitories are clean and the staff are kind and friendly!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal C, Gerente at Hostal Casa Vieja, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi:

Many many thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed in another near by Hostal and in another one downtown....so basing my comparison against a small number of samples....But I found Hostal Casa Vieja great.....Located only a hundred feet away from the metro is great when carrying heavy bags.... The area has a nice safe feeling to it....staff are welcoming and nice...only ones that responded to my e-mail questions...only four beds to a room decreases possibility of a snorer....have two keys...one locks your room and the other for a big compartment to store a carryon and other personal gear....towels....nice chill area...kitchen and roof deck.....now the only downside I found from all the greats is that I could feel the springs in my mattress...didn't test others to see if I got the one bad apple though....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal C, Gerente at Hostal Casa Vieja, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When coming to this hostel, expect only the basic necessities. There are only two bathrooms (with showers) and breakfast is white bread with jam or butter with drinking water. Bunk bed are slight uncomfortable but you receive a really nice wool blanket on top of sheets and a towel. The staff are incredibly nice and helpful. We (4 girls) were there for Corona Capital and the main guy was very concerned with out means of transportation. The location of the hostel was easily the best part! Literally 15 steps from the metro station (sevilla) which is an incredibly important factor in Mexico City. So worth it! As well there are fruit and taco stands right outside and around the corner so breakfast and food are super accessible and cheap! Totally recommend this hostel but just be aware of the simplicity!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal C, Gerente at Hostal Casa Vieja, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
thank you very much for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Cayo, Belize
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I found Hostel Casa Vieja on the internet, after looking at many other options I decided to try it out. I will admit budget was a large part of my decision making process. Well I am glad to say that I made the right choice, the location was perfect. Overall the Hostel Casa Vieja was a nice, safe, clean and friendly place. If you are on a budget, then you can't go wrong with Hostel Casa Vieja.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal C, Manager at Hostal Casa Vieja, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
thank you very much for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bavaria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We chose Hostal Casa Vieja because it was the cheapest hostal available during the weeks we stayed in Mexico-City. The double rooms are quite big, clean and the room fares are fair (about 25 Euros a double). The only drop of bitterness is the noise you will probably hear at night, coming from a) the street and the neighbours (god knows what they're doing up all night) and b) the annoying doorbell. Because of the latter, I would NOT recommend the room next to the recepcion.
Breakfast is included and consists of toast, coffee (no good one, I'm afraid), jam (really good!) and butter. Nothing special, but enough to fill you stomach. They offer free purified water in the kitchen, too.
The location of the hostal is brilliant, because it's close to the touristy Zona Rosa, near Condesa and Roma (Norte and Sur). From the hostal you can walk to all these quarters within some minutes. Plus, the metro station "Sevilla" is right in front of the hostal. From here, you can reach any point in the whole city within 20 to 30 minutes. The metro fares a ridicoulously low (3 Pesos per ride, including change of metro lines) and it's a comfortable way to explore the city.
The staff ist very nice and helpful. They tell you where to buy your food, which places to visit and (even more important) where NOT to go. Aditionally, they have a tour desk for city or around the city sight-tours.
Last but not least, my personal piece of advice if you're going to stay in Hostal Casa Vieja, try the sandwiches (TORTAS), sold on the road in front of the hostal, next to the metro station. They are the best and cheapest I ever had so far in Mexico-City!

Room Tip: Don't take the room next to the reception - the doorbell is very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal C, Manager at Hostal Casa Vieja, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
thank you very much for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It´s a small place located in a dead end street in the Zona Rosa. The location is perfect, because it´s a hundred meters away from the underground: Mexico DF is one of the best cities for using this kind of transportation.
Basically, the hostel have all you need. It consists in a small living room with two sofas and a desk, one small kitchen, and a terrace. I think is comfortable enough for any service that a hostel could offer, but not the best place to stay around all day. And I presume you wouldn´t, if you are visiting the second largest city in the world.
In two words: very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal C, Manager at Hostal Casa Vieja, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
thank you very much for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Casa Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Vieja

Address: Cerrada de Londres No 7, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Vieja is the safest, cheapest and comfortably option to be lodged in the great and beautiful MEXICO City. The hostel is located in a safe and nice area of the city. This is a tourist, commercial and financial area better known as "Zona Rosa" ("Pink Zone"). Our guests enjoy the tranquility and relaxed atmosphere; we have all what you need to have a pleasant and comfortably staying. Very close from Hostel Casa Vieja is located the National Museum of Anthropology, the Chapultepec wood and his castle, and also many international shops, handcrafts markets, banks, currency exchange, bars and many other attractions. Hostel Casa Vieja is located a few steps from the subway (metro) station "Sevilla". It’s truly an excellent location. Hostel Casa Vieja has splendid facilities and the owners will attend you personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Casa Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa Vieja Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Casa Vieja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.