We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Basic Accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Home

Hostel Home
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Home to your Saves list
Hostel Home
Tabasco No 303 Col Roma, Mexico City, Mexico (Roma Norte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location, Basic Accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hostel Home has a great location, very close to good restaurants, the metro, and the bus. We were able to walk to many places around the city from here and could get to the further away destinations by public transit very easily. But the location is the hostel's best feature.
The accomodations were very basic. The bathrooms didn't feel clean and didn't have hooks. The kitchen also felt grimey and the free breakfast was white bread and jam or cornflakes. The common areas did not promote socialization or relaxation. Its a fine place to crash at the end of the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow. I showed up at the hostel on a Thursday afternoon upon my return from Puebla. I did not have a reservation. I was let in by the female receptionist and went up the stairs to the desk. She was friendly. I asked I they had beds available and she said yes, then explained the options to me and the prices. Then she asked to see my passport. When I pulled out my USA passport her manner immediately changed. She started asking me bizarre questions like 'why is your backpack so small?' I said, 'um...I travel light?' After a series of suspicious questions she asked me to wait in the lounge area. A few minutes later a guy shows up (I learn later that this is 'Angel'--her brother), and he asks me to come outside. At this point, I have no idea what's going on.
When I'm outside they tell me I'm not welcome to stay at the hostel...and when I ask why the woman say that thu are full. Then it got weird. It was the most bizarre experience I have ever had at any establishment, anywhere, ever. And I've stayed at some weird hostels. When I ask if they aren't letting me stay because I'm American they get really defensive and then start claiming that I was showing them a fake passport, etc. This is a weird story. It's true. Americans are not welcome at this hostel. Especially 29 year old men without giant backpacks. Um..yeah. True story.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Col. Roma has cool restaurants, bars, boutiques and nightlife. This hostel puts you in the heart of it. As for the hostel itself, it's friendly, well-equipped, and well-run. The owner is a DJ and he always had invitations or was taking guests out somewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hostel is so well placed, in the center of the city and you have walking distance places to many restaurants and bars of all kinds. The hostel has comfortable installations, really a good, nice, clean, confortable place to stay for a good price and great atmosphere....... the staff invites you to the good gigs happening in the city & recommends alot of cultural events around the city ..... I really recommend this hostel...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my third time staying at Hostel Home in DF. I love the neighborhood and all that it has to offer (restaurants, bars, close to the metro, etc.), but I especially love coming home to this place and feeling like one of the locals. The staff is awesome. I've gotten to know some of them and they've taken me out to shows and dinner/drinks. I will say that Hostel Home is not for everyone. It is not the backpacker hostel located in the Zocalo for the college travelers. It's not the super party hostel either. It is, however, a calm oasis in Roma/Condesa for those that want to get to know that area. I've met some really awesome people here in my stays that make this place standout. Love love love.
I will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

me in my friend stayed there last March, the hostel is small, minimalist, hipster, chill, friendly, and well located hostel, near supermarkets, banks, subway, safe area. good bed.
The rooms are ok, great sunny living room to meet travelers, there is wifi and a computer. The kitchen is ok but it can be better. The staff friendly

This was the first hostel in that area long time ago, i asked and the the hostel has new staff after the last case of bad employee working in the hostel.
I highly recommend the hostel for first timers to mexico city since its less crowded area than downtown area hostels. You can move alone and night to around for bars, concerts, theathers, restaurants, the youth in that area more international and local globalized mexicans.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I Stayed for 2 night in this Hostel and all i can say is that it has just the necesary: clean bathroom, comfortable beds and free wi-fi.

It has a kitchen that you can use, a room with TV (is the best area for the internet connection).

I didn't like that the roooms can't be closed, the doors are always open and anyone can enter at any time.

The location is perfect, very close to the Condesa/Roma Restaurants and bars area, it's 5 min walking to the metro and 2 min to the Metrobus station...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Home

Address: Tabasco No 303 Col Roma, Mexico City, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Roma Norte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Home Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.