We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome to Mexico !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Condesa

Hostal Condesa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Condesa
Av. Tamaulipas 197 | Col. Hipodormo Condesa, Mexico City 06170, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome to Mexico !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

We stayed in Hostal Condesa for 3 nights in a double room, at the end of September.
The room was very clean, with a double bed and a small closet. At the apartment we found everything we needed, even a satellite TV and a free internet. The owners were so hospitable and nice people! They helped us with everything we looked for - to find a good restaurant, the right subway line and much more..
The neighborhood is excellent, with a wide variety of restaurants & cafe's.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
9
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

first trip to mexico city and i couldn't have asked for a better landing spot and "home".

i found this place by accident on the web but it turned out to a gem of a place. on the outside, it looks just like any good old apartment building. when i arrived, Daniela who owns and runs the place greeted me warmly, helped me get settled in. condesa is a happening part of mexico city and this is in the perfect location. i have a private room (clean, simple with a double bed and lockers.

i have been the only guest here so far, so i get the whole living area and bathrooms to myself. as the previous guests already commented, free internet, cable tv, breakfast every morning, all in all first grade hotel like services at a great backpacking/hostel price!

there are tons of restaurant and bars around but the place is quiet. i have friends who live in the condesa area so i walk everywhere every day. i will definitely be coming back and i would recommend this place to everyone. (even though i would like to keep it a semi-secret as well so i can still come back without the crowds...)

also, before i arrived, daniela was very responsive and hospitable to me over emails, patiently answering tons of questions i asked (i have never stayed in a hostel before, so i was a little nervous.

so in summary - perfect location, unbeatable prices, lovely people to be around and made me feel like home...

  • Liked — location, service and price
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

The hostel is very nice and very new. It is actually a flat with some bedrooms, each one with 4 beds. I stayed there with a friend, and the whole appartment was for us. Everything was very clean and comfortable. There is a living room with TV, internet, and there is breakfast served every day. Also the location is very convenient. It is in Condesa, a very nice and safe area. There are lots of restaurants and bars, young people hanging out. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

This brand new hostel in the "Colonia Condesa" was the best part of our recent Mexico City trip. We were kind of on a budget so we decided to go for a Hostel. We didn't regret it one bit.
The hostel is small but cozy, sparkling new and the staff was friendly and hospitable.
Also, the best restaurants an bars of this trendy neighborhood were at our fingertips. Be sure to go for the best Ice Cream to Roxy, just one block away from the Hostel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The size
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Condesa

Address: Av. Tamaulipas 197 | Col. Hipodormo Condesa, Mexico City 06170, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 117 Specialty lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hostal Condesa Hotel Mexico City
Hostal Condesa Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Condesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostal Condesa to your Saves list