We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It works but noise problems on weekends.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Condesa

Hostal Condesa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Condesa
Save
You added Hostal Condesa to your Saves list
Av. Tamaulipas 197 | Col. Hipodormo Condesa, Mexico City 06170, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It works but noise problems on weekends.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Biggest problem is noise. Owner is very kind, but service is pretty limp. They just opened a bar on the ground floor and noise volume is big. Every yahoo in town is at high volume.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
10
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Well, it's not the Ritz, but it doesn't claim to be either. This place is cheap, friendly and conveniently located. If you are a semi-active individual, you can walk to pretty much any attraction in Mexico D.F. from this place and if you are not; well, the metro is only within a 5-minute walk. Even with my overfilled 85+10L Deuter backpack on my back, I was able to walk to the metro station with only minor back pains. The best part is that this place is literally only a 1-minute walk away from THE best Mexican food you can get in or out of Mexico! Sure, you won't see pictures of the rooms in the latest issue of Boutique Hotels Magazine, but the rooms are clean, spacious and functional. Hey, for the price we paid, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

You must check out our site for all the info and pictures.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I stayed at this place for three nights, the guy Manuel that runs the frontdesk can be rude, he misunderstood a conversation my friend and I were having and thought we were talking about him, he reacted very aggressive towards us and said a lot of bad things. We asked for towels on our first day and got them 30 mins later with an attitude. The location is perfect ! close to the metro station and to restaurants and bars, price is good. Manuel ! You can get that 100 % if you improve your costumer service and attitude.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I stayed in Hostal Condesa for three nights. It was such a good experience, I have been traveling in Mexico and my last stop was Mexico City. I was a little bit worried because I heard some not so good things about security. From the moment I made the reservation it was a good experience. I booked a private room and it was really nice. The hostel has a common area with Cable TV and a computer but for my surprise I had my own TV in the room. I wasn’t expecting this in a Hostel.
The location is spectacular with lots of young people, bars and restaurants in a walking distance. I really recommend this hostel if you want to be in a very clean place and in the middle of all the night life in Mexico City!!! Definitely I’ll come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This is a lovely little hostel, located in a beautiful area of Mexico city. Feels very safe and clean, breakfast is good and staff are very friendly, although basic spanish would be recommended in order to communicate.

It could do with having a little more information about the area available on arrival, map etc. Other than that no complaints, would recommend

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This is a lovely hostel located in a great neighbourhood. Unlike the experience of the last reviewer, we found the service outstanding. We arrived at 7am and were unsure as to whether we would be allowed in. We rang the doorbell a few times and a sleepy porter came to answer the door. We told him we had a reservation and within 15 mins, our private room was ready. Shocking - when would you get such service? Never in a small hotel, let alone a hostel!

We were really grateful for the hot shower and bed as we had just gotten off an overnight bus ride. Anyhow, the place was clean and the breakfasts were very tasty! The location is fantastic and the neighbourhood is great!

We did, however, decide to move elsewhere as it was the end of our 3 week trip and we had bad bellies and needed some comfort so the lack of an en-suite private bathroom, and the falling through the beds, convinced us to move elsewhere. However, if not for that small fact, we would not have moved!

Just a few cons:
- If you get a private room next to the bathroom, very noisy.
- Not really easy to meet other travellers as the rooms are all in different sections.
- For a double bed, they put two twin beds together so we ended up falling through the crack at night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I don't like to leave a negative review but this really was not a good experience. We had been travelling in Central America for seven weeks and chose this hostel for our final night of the trip based on the reviews.

We emailed in advance and asked for a private room with bathroom as it was our last night and we wanted to relax. The email communication was great and we were really looking forward to it.

We informed them of our arrival time but when we arrived there was no one around to let us in. We stood outside for a good 5 minutes with our stuff and eventually a fellow guest arrived and let us in. There was no one at reception at this point.

Someone did let us into the room a few minutes later, the bed was unmade and still had the previous occupants sheets on and there was no bathroom. The room was also next to the kitchen which seemed ok but had dirty dishes in the sink.

The person who had emailed us arrived about 10 minutes later only to inform us that none of the rooms actually have bathrooms at this point. She apologised for the sheets and promised to bring us some. A further 10 minutes past and nothing arrived so we simply left as it was really not a good impression.

We had stayed in budget accommodation for the whole trip so were not expecting hotel standards but this was not what we were expecting after reading the reviews. We paid a bit extra and got a really nice hotel which was a shame as Condesa could have great potential.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Condesa

Address: Av. Tamaulipas 197 | Col. Hipodormo Condesa, Mexico City 06170, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hostal Condesa Hotel Mexico City
Hostal Condesa Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Condesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.