We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everythung I had was delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fonda el Refugio

Fonda el Refugio
Liverpool 166 Col Juarez | Zona Rosa, Mexico City, Mexico (Juárez)
55 25 81 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #229 of 1,737 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Juárez
Description: Traditional Mexican Cuisine since 1954. Everything is made artisanally. We cook all our dishes in clay pots. We prepare our moles from scratch. Cook our own tortilla dough using the ancient nixtamalization process and then grinding the corn in our own volcanic rock mill. We grind & stuff our own sausage, hanging it & letting it cure for a whole week before it can be used. All our desserts are made also in either copper or clay pots. Be sure to ask for a tour of the kitchen so you can witness this first hand and also take a lesson on how to make tortillas and our world famous margaritas.
New York
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Everythung I had was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Charming setting, good beer selection, food authentic Mexican and very well prepared-a place to have a quick meal or to linger with artisnal beer- desserts delicious-Left stuffed to the gill but worthwhile

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    50
    32
    26
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The Best of Mexico's Traditional Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have eaten here over thirty times since I first discovered it in the early 1970s. It is typical of mexican restaurants all over Mexico in its decor. Simple yet colorful. The food is utterly fantastastic. Traditional and some highly unusual mexican dishes are available at most reasonable prices. Try the chilles rellenos and or the chicken mole. Remarkable tasty and fresh. Everything here is fresh and out of this world. I love this place. It is also one of the few restaurants in Mexico City that still serves cafe de olla, a cup of coffee you will never forget. Lunch can be busy. It seems to be a favorite of mexican businessmen. If you love great mexican food, this is the place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“great traditional mexican food in a cool neighborhood and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had wonderful food here, with prompt and good service. beef tacos and tongue tacos were excellent. barbacoa was amazing, and simply put: their homemade corn tortillas were the best i have ever had ever, anywhere worldwide.prices were VERY reasonable, and they have a crazy selection of mezcal and tequila.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A quiet treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This understated traditional restaurant was a nice surprise. I had read reviews on Tripadvisor and put it on my list of potential restaurants to visit. It was just a few blocks from the hotel we stayed at and was easy to find. Excellent service and the waiter spoke a little English so that helped in ordering. The food was delicious and the wine was quite nice too. It was so reasonably priced which, was a nice surprise.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants in DF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Everytime when I'm in Mexico City, I need to go to this place - I just love it. And this time, as usual, it certainly did not disappoint.... The food is fantastic - everything is totally home made from scratch, the food served is top quality Mexican cuisine including some traditional but rarer dishes such as escamole, gusanos del maguey, huitlacoche etc. The flavours and textures are lovely. The service is impeccable and the setting is very, very nice. The restaurant also serves some fantastic drinks, including a very nice artisanal beer from Baja California Sur (Baja Blond - highly recommended) and some very interesting artisanal Mezcals. A big, fat thank you to the owner, Claudio, for a memorable Saturday afternoon/evening three weeks ago!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda el Refugio also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fonda el Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonda el Refugio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.