We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regente City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regente City to your Saves list
Hotel Regente City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paris No. 9 Col. Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Columbus, Mississippi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I thought it a very clean place and it appeared to be either new or recently refurbished. I cannot comment on the location as I did not get out at night (due to the murder of retired Mexican army general moments prior to my arrival. The nearby SEP resturante is excellent,

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor and the rooms were unexpectedly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    96
    58
    13
    4
See reviews for
52
58
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toa Baja
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a small five (5) floor hotel that offers a big bang for the buck. It is very well located in the midst of the two (2) most important avenues in Mexico City, Reforma & Insurgentes. Major hotels and restaurants along with many historical sites are in the surroundings. The Hotel is very clean and a very polite staff will help you with whatever your needs might be.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

hola! nosotros eramos en este hotel en febrero 2012. y puedo decirlos que fue un maravillo. el servicio y habitaciones son excellentes. :) gracias por todo. nos vemos en el ano que biene. :)))

hy! we were in this hotel in february and i can tell u that was excellent. the service and the people in the hotel, and rooms were excellent. thank you for all. see you next year :)))))

Room Tip: room 522 is excellent room for smokers =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We booked through an Australian Travel Agent and made sure we had an organised tour for Mexico which included accomodation at 3 Star standard and above. We were very disapointed and scared because we were supposed to be on a tour but we had no english speaking guide unless we did a day tour which we finally found out. The hotel itself is ok but the street outside and the surrounding streets are not. The hotel is located in Reforma. Most of the streets are named after major cities around the world. If don't speak any spanish or very little spanish, its even scarier. We barely stayed here for three nights and really had no choice to move hotels because it was prepaid. Here's the good points and the bad points of our stay here:

PROS (not that many....)
- Bed, TV
- Card Access to room
- In hotel restaurant
- Room service
- Tolietries
- House Keeping Daily
- Free Wi-Fi Access in room (if you have a laptop)

CONS
- No Iron and Ironing Board in room.
- Safe in room had the lock cut out off it and broken.
- Remote control for the TV was bolted to the wall above the bed.
- No Alarm clock.
- The staff were rude even when you tried to speak spanish.
- Poor-No English speaking staff
- No Access to Cooked Food except in the hotel restaurant which was overpriced and very bad food.
- Hotel restaurant served Breakfast daily which was so unedible we did not eat. The coffee and juice was passable.
- The lobby is overun daily by other tourists waiting for tour buses all morning.
- For a supposed 3 star hotel which has recently had "renovations", the decor and furnishings were outdated by 20 years.
- The bathroom smelt like mold but was clean.
- Lift was tiny, couldn't fit your luggage in.
- Spanish speaking guests and most locals were extremely rude and didn't help at all.
- The street outside the hotel is constantly busy 24 hours a day with tour buses, deliver trucks, cars, police sirens and anyone who wants to beep their horn. The windows of the hotel we so bad the noise is amplified whilst trying to sleep.
- It was not safe to walk outside the hotel at all.
- No access to drinking water.

TRAVELLER TIPS
- Do not stay Mexico City, very dirty and dangerous despite the presence of thousands of police. If you need (or want) to stay in Mexico City, stay around Zona Rosa as there are many westernised restaurants within walking distance in this area.
- Stay in at least four star accomodation.
- Do not drink the tap water.
- Do visit Teotihucan and Anthropolgical Museum they are awesome.

If you do stay at this hotel:
- Learn spanish
- Use the OXXO (like 7-eleven) on the corner for bottled water, incidentials and snack foods (across the street at the end).
- Stay out on a tour for as long as you can so you keep your presence in the hotel to a minimum.
- If you must eat at the hotel restaurant "Kortina", stick to westernised foods and remember that they automatically add the tip to your bill if you dine in the restaurant its called "propina". Usually 10 - 15% of your total bill.
- Don't leave anything out and lock everything away. Take valuables with you at all times even on tours.

We were fightened every day and never felt relaxed or calm. Nothing happened, but the threat that something would was enough to turn us off the place. Please be very careful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

This hotel is 15 mins walk from the Zona Rosa. 4 blocks to the nearest subway station (Revolucion). Room was very cheap at $50USD/night including breakfast. Rooms are quite large, very clean. Amenities provided include cable TV, in-room safe, hairdryer, AC, and plenty of storage space. Hotel is advertised as a four star, but looks dated. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel, but we had to sit in our doorway to use it, as signal wasn't very strong (we were on the 6th floor). Room was very quiet at night.

Location is ok - a quiet area. Not many restaurants/bars within close walking distance. However, the Zona Rosa is not too far away. Metrobus stop is 2 mins walk.

Breakfast is not bad. Fruits, cereals and hot Mexican foods.

All in all, good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

I have stayed at the "Regente" twice in May and June 2008 and I consider it to be very good value for money, the first time I stayed the room was a little small but comfortable, and on the second stay I was given a larger room on a higher floor at the same rate. The breakfast was great and a number of the restaurant staff speak good english as do the staff at the check in desk who are very helpful,. I found the location of the hotel to be excellent and it is ideal should you want to wander around the historic sector on foot. The hotel has a warm friendly atmospher and the staff are only too willing to help you, please say hola to Mario (wears glasses) he is the doorman/porter who meets and greets you with a lovely smile and he is very helpful in every way, nothing is ever too much trouble for him. I will be returning to Mexico City in the near future and I will be staying at the "Regente" once again.

  • Liked — location, affordable rates, very friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing like it all
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

This hotel is a solid 3-star. Small rooms, but quite comfortable and always clean. There are ice machines in every floor. A very nice breakfast buffet is served every day. The hotel is very conveniently located, next to Reforma and Insurgentes, two of the most important avenues in Mexico City. It's a 5 minute walk to Zona Rosa and a 15 minute walk to the Zocalo. You'll find many interesting monuments and historic buildings on your way to either place. A 5 minute bus ride can take you to Chapultepec Forest and also to the National Anthropology Museum (a must-see!). A short taxi ride may take you to Polanco for dining, which I recommend... there are lots of good restaurants on that zone. The staff at the Regente is very friendly and attentive. They make an effort to make you feel comfortable. All in all, a very good value for relatively low fares. I recommend this hotel for people who basically need a place where to rest after touring all day long.

  • Liked — Good value for what you pay; location: close to main city attractions
  • Disliked — Noisy air conditioning system
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Regente City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regente City

Address: Paris No. 9 Col. Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Regente City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first class hotel, the Regente it's located in the heart of Mexico city, steps away from Reforma and Insurgentes main Avenues, walking distance to Zona Rosa, the Zocalo and subway. 140 Newly-refurnished queen bedrooms, experienced staff, Korinto's Restaurant daily buffet, bar, air conditioned, heating, safe deposit, cable TV, electronic locking, hair dryer, purified water, business center, fitness center and WI-FI in every room. Don't pay more! We have everything at a low cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Regente City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regente Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Regente City Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regente City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.