We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic French Fantasy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Moustaches

Les Moustaches
Rio Sena 88 | Colonia Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
+52 55 5533 3390
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Les Moustaches is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,791 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Paseo de la Reforma & Rio Lerma, a un cuadra de la Embajada Americana.
Transit: Le recordamos que el codigo de vestir es casual elegante(No jeans, no playeras,no tennis,no bermudas).
Description: Les Moustaches is an award-winning fine dining restaurant. The magnificent French food and exclusive wine list are the elements that have made Les Moustaches a well-known and prestigious restaurant. It is located in a renovated house from the last century, in the financial district, two blocks from Angel de la Independencia. The elegant French decorations and piano & violin music help to create a great dining atmosphere. Casa del siglo pasado, situada en el corazon financiero, a dos cuadras del Angel de la Independencia. La magnificencia de la comida Francesa, las muestras gastronomicas, festivales mensuales, asi como la amplia carta de vinos, son elementos que distinguen a este restaurnte de amplio prestigio. La elegante decoracion Francesa y agradables notas musicales del piano en la comida, y por las noches, del violin y piano crean una experiencia inolvidable.
Todos Santos, BCS, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Classic French Fantasy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Located fairly close to the US Embassy this elegant restaurant serves one of the best bouillabaisse I've had outside of France. The beef wellington was cooked perfectly. The extensive wine list with plenty of french options makes the experience complete. The place was packed on a Tuesday for lunch and felt like a DF power spot. The decor makes you feel as if you're dining in a french chateau. The wait staff are pros. You will feel well taken care of here. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    232
    43
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The best fast food I ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went on a Monday. They are open to 6 and last seating is at 5. We called at 4:30 and they said come on down. We were in and out in 45 minuted with 5 courses. It was glorious (Queen Elizabeth does not let state dinners take more than an hour and neither should you). We had an appetizer of Iberico Ham and melon to start. Served on a dome and split in two table side by our waiter using the french spoon + fork = tongs trick. It was wonderful. Thicker than the servings I have had in the past to add mouth feel to the great nutty-ham flavor. They melons were in large lardons and ripe and wonderful with a little frizzy salad.

Next octopus in a great sauce on a bet of roasted potato slices. Again, split in two. The waiter insisted we have the mussels. They were the black Mediterranean kind, not overcooked and the sauce was a bouquet of tarragon. The a ceaser salad. It was a ceaser salad, better than most, but we live in San Diego and go to Ceasers all the time. Largely lateral and while tasty, taking up tummy real estate that could be put to better use.

Then we had the Wellington and chicken Kiev (both culinary parlor tricks from the 50's but its an old school restaurant). The wellington was the best I have ever had. We sent thf Kiev back, it was dry.

For dessert they had an excellent but short digestief list and they suggested the mousse (I suspect because we were the only left and it is premade). It was a huge bowl of sameness, and while excellent, we at about three spoonfuls of this ocean of pudding and left.

The price with a bottle of wine nad tip is less that steaks here in the USA. What fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classic ambience and superior service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was there last week following TripAdvisor's tips. Superior and very courteous service in a classic ambience. I had a great corn soup from the mexican cuisine as starter and then the ostrich entree, which was not so great. The waiter told me it was not the sirloin as I assumed but the leg - so not as soft as I was expecting. But I believe I should have asked for more details before ordering. Piano and violin played alive give the place an unusual touch, very classic. As I entered the restaurant they asked me where I was coming from and later the musicians played a couple of songs from my country. Nice touch, as the rose and the mints they gave me when I was leaving.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After 38 years of service, Les Moustaches is still one of the best french restaurants in the city. The service is perfect and friendly. And the food delicious. Best onion soup ever!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mexico's city best French Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This restaurant has been around for more than 30 years. And the reason is simple: ALWAYS PERFECT. It has been own and managed by the same man, Monsieur Luis Gávez.
Refinement at it's BEST. Menu is always updates, and they have of course SUPREME CLASSICS
A Must in this great city

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Moustaches also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Les Moustaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Moustaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.