We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go here once a year.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Lago

El Lago
Chapultepec Park, Mexico City, Mexico (Bosque de Chapultepec)
(55) 5515-9586
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Lago is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #459 of 1,743 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $24 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Bosque de Chapultepec
Transit: Constituyentes y Alencastre
MEXICO CITY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We go here once a year.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband asked my hand in marriage here so we go back on our anniversary. The food and wine are sooooo good but the service is non existent. The chef deserves to work somewhere better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    31
    33
    14
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The food is great, the staff is attentive and the view over the lake and the fountain is magnificent.

Quite expensive for Mexico's prices, but even cheap for european pockets.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahamas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

First time we visited El Largo was twenty five years ago and the ambience and food was so good we went back the next night and had a wonderful time. Men in jackets and ties and women in elegant cocktail wear. Last time we visited was six years ago and both food and ambience were equally good. Looked forward with anticipation this time and were sorely diappointed, First thing we noticed were guests in ratty T-shirts and jeans. The food was terribly expensive and was either overcooked or undercooked. Nothing was as we ordered. On a Saturday night the place was half empty. Evidence that diners have moved on to other eateries. The restaurant still looks good but the food was awful and not worth half the price. We will never go back again and would not recommend it. A huge disappointment.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocotepec, mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go as a group”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We went as a group of 24. Despite making reservations 3 weeks in advance, they were not ready for us. We had to pre-order appetizers, which came cold. We were charged for food we did not receive. It is a beautiful place, expensive, and not worth the effort.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Let's start by saying that this is a place where you should eat at least once in your life! The food is very good. The service is excellent and everyone is polite and attentive. Nice wine list... but you are not here only for that... Despite being in the middle of the huge city, you feel like if you were in the middle of the forest, with a beautiful view of the lake, calmed and relaxed. Great facilities, the atmosphere is classy, everyone is well dressed and apparently celebrating something.
I agree with most reviewers: the prices are high, yes... but high standard for all of the restaurants of their class...and at the end, you feel like you got exactly what you paid for and won't feel robbed.
Must people couldn't afford to eat here often... but we gladly return to celebrate special occasions in this great oasis in the middle of the asphalt jungle!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lago also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.