We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Real Japanese taste"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nagaoka

Nagaoka
Arkansas 38, Mexico City 03810, Mexico
55-55439530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 2,005 Restaurants in Mexico City
Restaurant details
Nagasaki, Japan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"Real Japanese taste"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I´ve known the Restaurant Nagaoka in Arkansas Street since it opened back in 1985. This weekend we went to the one located on Insurgentes Ave.
I must say that it is the same flavor and good service as the original one. The menu is so extensive that it was difficult to choose (we wanted to try all of the dishes). In the end we decided to take Gyudon, Katsudon and Wakame yasai soba. For starters we ordered Gyoza, Soft shell crab and Agedashi. Having lived in Japan for quite long (my husband is Japanese) I can tell that this is the real traditional Japanese way of cooking.
Definitely a family favorite in Mexico city!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very traditional Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have been in this restaurant since his beginning, maybe 30 years ago. Always owned by Japanese people, they have tried to keep the real touch of Japan in their dishes. Anything you order is very good and the price, for this kind of specialty restaurant is very reasonable.If Asian food is for you, this is the place to go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home made Japanese food in the heart of Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Only seldom can you try home made Japanese food as if you where in Tokyo, and that`s Nagaoka in the heart of Mexico City. Mr. Nagaoka is always in kitchen watching every small detail to make the best tekkadon (tuna sashimi with rice), onigiri (rice balls covered by sweed with sour japanese apricot in the middle) that remind me of my school day in Yokohama, gyoza like the ones served every day in a Japanese home and Chikara Udon (fat noodles with melted rice cakes) that resemble the soup we ate in New Years. All with perfectly brewed green tea. Thats why have of the tables are always taken by the local Japanese residents.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Japanese enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've eaten in both the Nagaoka close to the WTC and the one further South on Insurgentes, most times with first or second (nisei)-generation Japanese. They swear it's the best for the buck (or peso) in Mexico City. Had none of the problems with reservations (went at 4:30 on a Sunday) or sushi/sashimi mix-ups from other reviewers. Like any restaurant on Sunday, go at hours NOT usual for the crowds. They staff seemed well-versed on the food and drink, so not much to criticise. I had a cold Ozeki sake, gyoza, ocha, shabu shabu, green-tea ice cream...all quite decent at a reasonable price. The WTC one is a bit more traditional decor, while the Insurgentes one is modern. I guess if you're more demanding (underbelly of bluefin?), you probably have enough money to to to Japan...otherwise, be content we even have places like this and can broaden our palates...I remember when there weren't...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a simple, traditional Japanese restaurant but the food is good quality and it is definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagaoka also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Nagaoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagaoka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.