We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful table for two on a balcony overlooking a festive street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chao Bella

Chao Bella
Avenida Juarez 22, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
+52 (473) 732 6764
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 156 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful table for two on a balcony overlooking a festive street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The table for two on a balcony overlooking a festive Guanajuato street was a highlight. The food was delicious and the portions generous.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous italian food with a Mexican twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lovely service and great food - Arturo the chef-patron is a great host who cooks wonderful food. We had an amazing salmon tartare and crepes with one of the best bisque sauces we've ever tasted -all of which compared well with anything we've ever had in Michelin rated restaurants in Europe and elsewhere. If you want to spend less the pizzas are excellent too. We sat on one of the balconies on a Saturday night - the street scene was buzzing and the traffic noisy but it was hugely atmospheric and we enjoyed our evening immensely.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

After checking the reviews we went looking for Chao Bella. Turns out we had not previously noticed it because it's upstairs on the 2nd floor. We found the ambience a pleasant mix - being a lovely rustic historic building with some contemporary features to complement.

There is a wine list - not extensive but certainly enough to provide a good selection for most tastes. The menu is Italian, with lots of pasta and pizza. There were also a variety of meat and seafood entrees (even Osso Bucco). The big treat for us was finding a steak tartare appetizer. It was delicious - a large portion, prepared nice and tangy. The pizza was a delicious thin crust with lots of topping.

Service was friendly and professional. The owner stopped by to chat, and as we were leaving he made sure to wish us a good evening.

Overall a great dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMOX
2 reviews
“Great Italian food in Guanajuato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

After spending 3 weeks in Mexico my husband and I were looking to add some variety to our meals. We were so pleased with the pasta on "2 for one Wednesday nights" that we decided to return for a pizza and salad a few nights later. The food seemed individually prepared with skill of blending flavours. Our waiter was able to answer questions about the menu in English. When we returned he remembered what we had to drink the first time. The staff was friendly and attentive and the food was good! My husband got a gratis dessert and candle on his birthday. That was a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have eaten at Ciao Bella maybe 20 times including when it was located in Positos, one of Guanajuato oldest streets known for its museum and art galleries. In fact Ciao Bella was located some years ago at what is now Guanajuato's Museum of Contemporary art, and please go there as they house a very amazing collection that sports some of Eleonara Carrington's work, an artist being raved about in Manhattan, New York as I write this. The restaurant is run by a Mexican man who lived in Quebec City Canada and ran a restaurant there; now he lives in Guanajuato with his French Canadian wife. The food at Ciao Bella is quite good and it is good enough to even make extremely sophisticated eaters keep coming back. My friends, many of whom have traveled around the globe and dined at perhaps the top 30 restaurants in the world more than once enjoy eating at this place. Some of these same people even trash places like Jean George in New York City, perhaps one of America's top restaurants--for the record, I rated the lowest rating possible in Yelp.

Anyway back to Ciao Bella; I especially like their appetizer called Crepa Nicolas, and my roommate in Manhattan NYC who has circled the globe travelling and dining first class maybe 15 times, and has visited Italy almost as many times loves their Pizza.

Ciao Bella has a pleasant atmosphere and it is not pretentious. Their selection of wines is decent. I especially like a Mexican wine called Calixa. If you see it in the menu and you are having a very hearty meal with lots of tomato sauce you can be assured that Calixa will stand up to it. In passing let me add that I had their Lasagna and was not impressed; it had too too much cheese and little tomato sauce.

The place is nicely decorated, but Avenida Juarez can be a bit noisy. So don't sit right next to the windows that face Avenida Juarez.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Bella also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Chao Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chao Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.