We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, small professionally run restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Abue

El Abue
Plaza Baratillo, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 136 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quiet, small professionally run restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Restful atmosphere. Medium priced, set meal available. Delicious soup!
wine list. Just above the Plaza Baratillo.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best in Guanajuato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great little place. Not too much seating and the menu does not change, but it does not need to. Best tortilla soup on the planet ( I have spent a lot time in Mexico, grew up in California and now live in Houston and I love soup). I love the chiles en Nogada here and the apple pie is wonderful. They bake their own bread. They have a few wines by the glass. My novio loves the michelades here too. I lived in Guanajuato for a summer and I have come back 4 times to visit for day and this is always where I go for lunch or dinner. The waiters are super cute too ;)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really, Really Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Restaurante El Abue
I have to start that the restaurant is not easy to find, my brother and me found it almost on the last day. And I was searching it since the second day. The maps are wrong, the local is where s the "Teatro Juarez", go to the front, at the end, go to the left and you gonna see a big fountain, keep right the way, and there it is.

Now the review, we only could take a breakfast on the last day, the day that we return to our city.
We ordered "Huevos revueltos con Jamón", "Huevos revueltos con Champiñones", "Chilaquiles Rojos" and Chilaquiles Verdes", and we both drink Chocolate, and I must said, that ALL was really DELICIUS!
The prices, was normal (I don't remember each of it, but in total of that, I paid $170 MXN).

I have to say that this, and other restaurant that is name "El Cerro de las Ranas" in "Plazuela de San Fernando", that is where we eat various days, and I have to say, that also is really DELICIUS! (Super Recommended too).
I hope this review can help you :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our favorite little restaurant in Guanajuato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I've been to Guanajuato more times than I can count, and this is our favorite little restaurant in town. The food is extremely good, and I enjoy the unique touch the put on some typical Mexican fare. It has the flavor of genuine Mexican home cooking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Decent, but unpredictable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have eaten here three times over the last two years. Loved it the first time, disgusted the second. the third time was not the cliched 'charm'. It was average at best. The famed enchiladas are just OK, you can find better. I had high hopes for this locale and I do hope they improve

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Abue also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to El Abue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Abue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.