We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An indiviual atmoshpere with the kindest host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guanajuato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Calle del Sol #3 | Downtown, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 61 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Koblenz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An indiviual atmoshpere with the kindest host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We spent two nights in Casa del Sol, a beautiful home with a wonderful roof terrace. After deciding to take Spanish lesson at the Escuala Mexican, Hugo, our host, offered us to rent his Casa del Corazon which is located right next to the Escuela Mexicana (2min walking distance). Hugo took care of that we had every day fresh orange juice and his servants prepared us Mexican breakfast and lunch. Hugo gave us many good hints how best to discover Guanajuato on your own way. No matter if you want to stay in Casa del Sol or in Casa del Corazon, both accommodations are unbeatable in location, comfort, cleanness, price and hospitality! We want to come back definitely.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I have lived in San Miguel de Allende for 21 years and visit Guanajuato often for cultural events, especially for the Festival Cervantino. Until we found Alma del Sol we never had a good hotel experience. The manager, Hugo Amaya, takes care of every possible detail to make his guests comfortable. There is no better location, the plumbing is modern and functions well, the beds are new and comfortable with luxury linens. Hugo's breakfasts, served in a glass dining room on the 3rd floor are awesome for taste and with a stunning view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

What a delight to stay at Alma del Sol. Convenient to all that soulful Guanjuato has to offer, this B&B worked out perfectly for me, a solo woman traveler. Hugo, the manager, is gracious, informed and connected in the community. He provides tons of helpful tips on what to do, where to eat and shop in this beautiful city. I arrived early in the morning and even though I wasn't officially checking in until that afternoon he made sure I had a comfortable place to rest in the sun room and had me join the other guests for breakfast. That led to invites to join other guests as they explored the city, attended symphony rehearsals and got together to celebrate a birthday at a local nightspot. My room was actually a suite - I'm already discussing returning and sharing the room with a friend. I loved the artifacts and wall hangings. Breakfast was delicious. Simply stated, it's a wonderful and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Alma Del Sol is the best find in Guanajuato. It is centrally located, with a quick walk to all main attractions. The B&B is beautifully decorated and makes you feel that you have entered your own private special place in the heart of the city. The terrace is a great place to relax and have a drink at the end of a day full of sight seeing. The staff are incredibly friendly and warm. I can not say enough wonderful things about Hugo, the B&B Manager. He provides great insights into the city and has such a gregarious personality. I have stayed at many places in the Guanajuato and none compare to Alma Del Sol. In fact, I have stayed there 4 times and would not stay anywhere else. It is great fro couples or families. The breakfasts are a great way to start the day and the food provides a wonderful taste of Mexican Cuisine.

I highly recommend Alma Del Sol to anyone who wants to stay in a great place, in the heart of the city.

Jodi
Berkeley, California

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This small inn is truly in the heart of this interesting city. Hugo, the manager, is FULL of information of what to do and see, and spent much time with us giving his recommendations -- all which were good. It would be worth staying here just for the good advice, but the place has character, location and outstanding breakfast served on the rooftop with a view of all While the rooms aren't fancy, they are very comfortable and large: we had a two-bedroom with big bath. A very welcoming place. I had a hard time finding the Web site, and here it is: www.casaspirit.com; they own a 2nd property.
Can't imagine a better first experience in Guanajuato than staying here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Everytime I return to Guanajuato -- and I've been there five times now -- I fall in love with it all over again. There is no better place to experience the charm and beauty of the city than from Alma del Sol, perfectly located in the center of town -- and an oasis of beauty and delight in itself. Among its many assets is its proprieter and most gracious host, Hugo -- always quick with a suggestion or a bit of inspiration, or some kind of thoughtful gesture. The food at Alma is absolutely delicious -- always fresh and hearty and flavorful. Being there recently with all the news about the swine flu, I had the distinct impression that the media hysteria made the threat of the virus seem far more dangerous than it actually was. Nobody is wearing the surgical masks anymore, businesses have re-opened, and -- as is the case with most media sensations -- this will be little more than a blip in the annals of 2009 and is certainly not a reason to avoid traveling to Mexico -- somewhere to enjoy the sun, the culture, the people, and the innumerable delights of a slower-paced life.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

I've been to Guanajuato many times before and I am always looking for a new place to stay. We usually stay at Casa Espiritu (in Marfil), but we wanted something closer to the city. The location is absolutely perfect. You are a few blocks away from the Jardin (main centro) and many different food and nightlife options.

As for the food....oh my the food. I am vegetarian and the cook was most accommodating. Simply divine! I dream about the breakfast all the time and I am counting the days until we return (this summer).

Don't forget to bring good walking shoes and change for a taxi!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: Calle del Sol #3 | Downtown, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alma del Sol is an old stone and adobe house in Guanajuato's beautiful, historic center. The five ample rooms, including two suites, are decorated with artist and traveler Carol Summers' own collection of folk textiles from all over the world, with an emphasis on India. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alma Del Sol Bed And Breakfast Inn
Alma Del Sol Hotel Guanajuato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.