We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bagel Cafetin

Bagel Cafetin
Callejon de Potrero #2 Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
+52 473 733 9733
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 118 restaurants in Guanajuato
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Eclectic, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I ordered a BLT Bagel. At 80 pesos I felt the price was a little high, but I was willing to forgive that if they delivered me with a fantastic bagel. Unfortunately I was disappointed. The bagel was nothing special at all, with hardly any bacon and the side salad was just some lettuce leaves with a bit of dressing slapped on.
The place was empty too. I dare bet if they dropped their prices by about 20 pesos and got rid of the fancy tableware the place would fill up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    16
    4
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a little place down a hill from Escuela Mexicana where I regular attend language school when in Guanajuato. According to amigo Jeff the BLT sandwich is delicious. A good place to brab a sandwich or bagel. Soups are also good and the staff is Guanajuato friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food in a convenient location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good breakfast and lunch spot if you are visiting the Museo Iconografo or Teatro Cervantes. Good farmacia right around the corner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot...Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We love this casual little place. They have quite a varied menu for whatever your mood but we're stuck on the soups and bagel sandwiches. The best!!! You can eat inside or out. Great staff; we're always welcomed with big smiles. Definitely one of our favorite Guanajuato places. And a special thanks to Bere for her great recommendations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Welcoming, casual place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I enjoyed my eggy late breakfast and the very good coffee. It really felt like a homemade meal, which is what you want on your first day in a new town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagel Cafetin also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Bagel Cafetin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagel Cafetin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.