We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hip place where you can eat over the arch or inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santo Cafe

Santo Cafe
Campanero 4, Guanajuato, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 156 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A hip place where you can eat over the arch or inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Popular with Guanajuato's younger set. Vegetarian options including pasta. Above a pedestrian street so quiet. Not a bargain but fun.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    49
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Shoo the dogs out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The couple at a neighboring table brought two big dogs which roamed out of control all around the restaurant, inside and out. The staff made only a token effort to keep the dogs out of the interior, so instead they worked the tables out on the bridge, where I was sitting. Quite distracting.

The pasta I had was decent and filling. A good spot for people- (and dog-) watching.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I first came here 'cause I was told their pasta was "something else" & I was very disappointed, it was just average, apt for human consumption pasta, nothing special at all. They have great fruit smoothies though, i must admit to my shame (he, he, he...) that I totally enjoyed it.
Service is average & by average I mean as bad as most places in guanajuato. No attention from waiters at all.
the best that can be said of the place is that they have a unique spot at Puente del Campanero & they try to keep the place visually interesting. Might be worth a second chance.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good aztec soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, sadly the salad & burger were disapointing and bad value, only the aztec soup was a good deal. Beer a bit pricey too.
There are better places in town, for sure...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vegan Dining in GTO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

During my 3 month stay in Guanajuato, I stumbled across this gem of a cafe. The staff was delightful. Coming from the tri-state area in the US, it reminded me of home with a youthful and vibrant wait staff. Not to mention, it was one of the only places to offer vegan dishes in the area. Beautiful atmosphere (seating on the bridge over the street or inside) and delicious food, we visited Santo Cafe more than a few times. Highly recommended to anyone, especially those looking for vegan dining options in this must visit before you die city.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santo Cafe also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Santo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.