We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Cerro de San Miguel Number 13 | col. Lomas de Pozuelo, Guanajuato, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 hotels in Guanajuato
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

casa colorada is a small, beautifull, quiet and colonial hotel in guanajuato Mexico, with a perfect panoramic view of the city,kind and efficient service on restaurant, delicious mexican food, beautifull handcrafts on each room, simply the best hotel in guanajuato.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, we hope to host you again in your next visit to this beautiful city.

Regards

Amadeo Carlin
Director Misión Casa Colorada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Mi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I've said it before and I'll say it again. The website for this property on Hoteles Mision does not do the place justice. This is the 5th or 6th Hotel Mision property that I have stayed at and they keep surprising me.

Although under the same brand, these properties are all unique. Boutique Hotel Casa Colorada has been one of my favorites though. I stayed with my mom but it sure is the perfect hotel for couples!! Very romantic.

Looking at a map, it seems to have a not-so-ideal location but infact, it is one of the best locations! It sits right above Pipila monument which is the best lookout point of the city. So instead of paying and taking a 10 minute tour to Pipila, you score panoramic views of Guanajuato at every moment from your room. To get to town, the taxi drive is about 3 minutes and 35-45 pesos. Not bad.

The rooms are very spacious. A large foyer with closet space, a large bathroom with a beautifully tiled tub (huge!) and majestic accents, and a ample room with decent balcony. I stayed in Suite Insurgentes and I had 0 complaints. Everything was clean and the King size bed was extremely comfortable - and clean.

Amenities and toiletries they had covered. Everything you could need they provided. Most hotels provide the basics, but you could show up at Casa Colorada with just some clothes and be all set.

I know the hotel has 6 rooms but I am not entirely sure if they ALL have a gorgeous panoramic view of the city. I personally would only stay at this hotel again because of the incredible views.

The staff at the hotel was amazing. Special kudos to Cinthia for helping me organize an amazing private city tour with Grupos Mineros. The private tour was great and got to visit all the attractions we wanted. Also dined at the restaurant which was equally a fantastic experience. My waitress, (can't remember her name, but she had short hair)was genuinely nice and extremely attentive. Be sure to pack some 'nice' clothes, as dinner is kind of fancy. They don't advertise it but they have a fantastic selections of wines.

Only two comments about things the hotel could better themselves in-
1) Provide the hotel wi-fi password in the room
2) Move the reception to be the first thing when you walk in--- or at least have a sign saying where it is. Check in is downstairs by the restaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure your room includes views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments we are working to improve the service, especially at the reception of our customers.

We hope to host you again pretty soon in that way you will be able to see all the changes that we have made thanks to your valuable comments.

Best regards

Amadeo Carlin
Director Misión Casa Colorada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

President Luis Echeverria built a beautiful house with a spectacular view of the most picturesque city, Guanajuato. His 6 bedroom home has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel. We had the pleasure of living like kings during our visit. We went during the off season (July), so the cost was very reasonable. We had an easy walk down to the town and then would take a short cab ride back to our "palace". Our time in Guanajuato was magical.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the city are the best because the view is incomparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Disclaimer: i tried only their coffee, so it's hardly a review, however the info here might help you anyway.

The place is gorgeous, inside and out. Possibly the best view in town.

Now for the rest. The prices are scary. Why? Because they are high but it seems they are not justified by anything.

We paid 100 pesos for just 2 coffees and a beer. The coffee was AWFUL.
Now, if you are going to over charge at least provide quality.
The table wasnt clean & still had crumbs from a previous customer.
When asked for a drinks menu they said they didnt have one. Surprising for a place pretending to be so high class. A friend confirmed what everyone says in the reviews: that the food is awful.

The prices truly are a disgrace unless the food is out of this world. Listen up: the starters range from 220 to 300 pesos. :-D !
Now for that much you should get a FULL meal and it should be GREAT. Read my other reviews if you want to put this into perspective.
The cheapest salad is 195 pesos, and that is lettuce, croutons and parmesan.
The cheapest soup is a Tortilla soup for 120 pesos, ie 3 to 4 times the standard price.

The place was EMPTY, we were the only customers there, which probably wont come as a surprise by now.

I normally would not write a review without trying the food, but if there is one thing i am sure of it is that i will never return to this place: indeed, i cannot stand places that take advantage of their location to rip off their customers by simply cashing in on the view and providing despicable value.

Well, it's tough for the owners, who obviously dont have what it takes to make this fantastic location into a restaurant that lives up to expectations.

If you want to spend a lot of money and arent very demanding then you will probably feel at home here.
Or maybe you just really cant live without a great view.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel for the historic rooms, the fantastic views and location, and the fact that the hotel provides ample parking, a rarity in Guanajuanto. We stayed in the Cervante Suite, at the opposite end from the Presidential Suite. Our corner room provided wonderful views of the city. All amenities were first class. We believe it provides good value and will return again.

The dining room menu is a bit ambitous for a six room hotel, and we felt somewhat over priced. The service was excellent and the views spectacular, however.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We chose this hotel based on its location.It sits on the top of a hill, overlooking the town, below with unobstructive views.even the bathroom has a beautiful view. We were on the top floor and the size of the room was like a football field.HUGE.The hotel only has 5 units,At the time of our visit , we were the only guests, which felt a bit strange, especially at the restaurant.We only had breakfast, which was very good.If one does not mind spending a little extra, this is the place to stay in Guanajuato.You can walk down on a path which leads you to the monument and take a taxi back to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is amazing. It was the house of a Mexican President. The presidential suite has the most amazing view of the city, the food was good. For the value its well worth it. This is a great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada

Address: Cerro de San Miguel Number 13 | col. Lomas de Pozuelo, Guanajuato, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel in Guanajuato Mexico features 6 Luxury Guanajuato Lodging options, Category 5 Stars. In our exclusive Guanajuato Hotel suites you will find roman curtains, cable TV, air conditioning, a telephone for national and international calls, wireless Internet and a spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.