We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ofelia Rest-Bar

Casa Ofelia Rest-Bar
Calle de el Truco #11B, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
473 731-2639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 135 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Next to Basilica in Gto. Centro
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Skip it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Not sure why this place gets any good votes. The food is terrible and the service was just as bad. Felt like a really bad Mexican place somewhere in California or Texas. There were 8 of us and we ordered broadly from the menu, so tried many of the things. None of them were good and many were simply bad. Bad mole, bad soups, bad enchiladas, decent guacamole. Btw, we are Mexican, so we know this food. Guanajuato has many better places. Do not go to this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    35
    25
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
1 review
“Cervantino gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Food, ambiance, service are all top-notch, but the price is even better! This is a must visit! It's only our second day here and we've already been back twice. Serving size is more than adequate (I'm a big, hungry guy). We'll be back again before we go home!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat in Guanajuato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wife & I spent a week in Guanajuato in September 2013. We tried various restaurants, and most were really good. However we always ended up at Casa Ofelia. Their delicious Homey Mexican entrees and incomparable service kept us returning over and over. Great food and service at a very reasonable price.
100% Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“4G: Great flavor, Great portions, Great price and Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got married in Guanajuato in June, and since it was a destination wedding, we recommended guests this restaurant to try real mexican food. The flavors are GREAT, the portions are big, its right next to Plaza de la Union and the price is very fair. I can't wait to go back and eat here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat here first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

There are certainly a myriad of good restaurants in Guanajuato, the majority with seemingly the same fare to offer, Ofelia's stands out amongst all of the competition.
Breakfast, lunch, or dinner, you will not be disapointed, excellent flavor, good service, and a nice home kitchen atmosphere make this restaurant an awesome value in a very expensive city. Reservations are taken and recommended, as the place gets very crowded, especially for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Ofelia Rest-Bar also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
 

Been to Casa Ofelia Rest-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ofelia Rest-Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.