We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite coffee shop in the world. Period.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Tal

Cafe Tal
Temezcuitate #4 | corner of Sangre de Cristo & Temezcuitate, Guanajuato, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 157 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: tel: 52 473 732 6212
Long Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Favorite coffee shop in the world. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The coffee beans are roasted on site and EVERYTHING you order here is perfect. I switch it up between my soy latte, cafe americano, and the beso negro (you have to try it! Trust me!).

I have never set foot in the Starbucks they opened in the Jardin a couple years back. I am 100% loyal to Cafe Tal when I am in GTO!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    30
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Just go, it's the best coffee in town and I've been to them all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

By far, the best coffee in town, it's worth walking to from any point in town, they're that good. We would walk 30 minutes one way to get a coffee here, passing by tons of other shops, as once you get one here the rest pale in comparison. The shop is small, with seats for maybe 15 people or so and the vibe is definitely a bit dark and worn. Personally, I loved it as this place felt lost in time, having stopped changing long ago. The owner, whom we talked to twice, was very nice and was a walking encyclopedia of coffee information. Being from Melbourne, Australia, he gave a knowing nod, obviously understanding the caliber of coffee we are used to. (For those who aren't Aussie, Melbourne has AMAZING coffee.)

Anyways, our first talk started when we were drinking our first "Chocortado" and both moaning in delight while proclaiming how good it was. The owner, sitting next to us, took great delight in our apparent joy and started talking to us. The Chocortado is a shot of espresso with liquid chocolate swirled through. They are so good, I was indulgently getting one every day for the full month we stayed in Guanajuato. I would occasionally mix it up with a normal espresso, frappe or Americano but the Chocortado was my old faithful. All the coffees, were great, never missing the mark and being consistently made from visit to visit. Also a huge bonus is that they have soy milk!!!

I could go on and on about this place but if you are serious about coffee at all you should really look no further than this place when visiting Guanajuato. It's a bit hard to find the first time, so look for the VIPS restaurant, put it in your right, and walk up the hill a bit further. It's then tucked in on the left about 100 meters that way. Get a Chocortado and thank me later!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Guanajuato?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This is the place to hang out with your laptop. Internet plus refill coffee for the price of a cr*p coffee at the Oxxo or Extra.
Service isnt great and when they have a water pipe leak they basically shut down instead of buying water next door, but the coffee is better than average.
They sell ground coffee to go (50 pesos for 250g, 5 pesos extra for decaf), which i get for home, unfortunately they are out of stock about 2/3 of the time, which is a little silly when you know they make most of their money that way.
The place lives on but could maybe benefit from better organization.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place can be very addicting---be careful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is probably the best coffee in all of Guanajuato, at a good price, and certainly a better authentic atmosphere than another well-known gringo brand around the JARDIN UNION......no names though. Greg's ( the owner) BESO NEGRO (a liquid chocolate drink ) is to actually die for. Greg has many different styles of coffee to suit every person's need and taste...they are all very addicting. He includes FREE INTERNET SERVICE as long as you are there and continue to drink coffee or tea.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Temezcuitate rewards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the top of the Temezcuitate, and Cafe Tal was our reward for walking down the hill into town, and also to inspire us before we braved the 684 steps back up to our apartment. Nice people and fresh strong coffee, roasted on the premises: what more do you need?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tal also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Cafe Tal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Tal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.