We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing center of Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monumento a Cristo Rey

Monumento a Cristo Rey
Guanajuato, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 Attractions in Guanajuato
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a nearly 3,000-foot mountain called Cerro del Cubilete, this huge statue of Jesus is one of the largest in the world.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing center of Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

It is a bit of a drive up there, but amazing views. I drove up there in my own car,so I am not sure how much it costs with a taxi. If you are staying Guanajuato at least a week, then you should visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    52
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Unbelievable View of Mexico!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The short ride from Guanajuato to this pilgrimage site puts you smack dab in the geographic (so it is said) center of Mexico over 8,000 feet above sea level. (Bring a jacket - it is cold and windy that high up). The views are awe-inspiring. One of those few moments in your life when you will be speechless by what your eyes are showing you.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I loved the place. Definitely something worth watching for anyone that wants to feel the energy there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

a bit of a journey up the mountain for this one, but the view is remarkable and quite spiritual

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've done this twice but I love it. What's even better is stopping at Dona Carmella's outdoor roadside restaurant where Carmella cooks on a real woodburning stove which makes the food even more"sabroso!"

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monumento a Cristo Rey also viewed

 

Been to Monumento a Cristo Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monumento a Cristo Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.