We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Mercedes

Las Mercedes
Calle de Arriba No.6 | Fraccionamiento San Javier, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
+52 473 733 9059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 136 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Milford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous meal at Las Mercedes tonight. We enjoyed the sopa negro and pork shanks while looking out over this wonderful city. Both recipes were passed down in the family and the flavours were exquisite. The service and ambiance were also remarkable and we'll be back for sure.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    25
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“romantic and magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great location on the hill, beautifully decorated inside; small and intimate, with fantastic service and even better food. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Make a reservation well in advance, as there are only a handful of tables.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Upscale, fusion Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

A small place, Only 7 tables. It is high in the hills overlooking centro historico. All three who were with us loved their meals. Two had the seared tuna and the other Chamorro. Reservations definitely a good idea. One caveat, although the wine list is good, the prices are very high for Mexico. the food was also expensive by Mexican standards, but worth the money. If you are a drinker, stick to local beer with your meal or be will to spend a lot on wine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerias, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the taxi drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Last minute decision to try this restaurant before returning home with our luggage in tow. The staff was helpful and courteous in placing our luggage in a safe location. We also brought our own wine and did not mind the 100 peso corking charge. The food was well beyond our expectations and was the best authentic Mexican meal that we have enjoyed in our travels in Mexico. Our meal began with an appetizer of four small beef tacos stacked in a rich chill sauce. For our main meal, we both recommend the veal shank for the flavour, quantity and excellent presentation. Unfortunately, we had no room to adventure and try a dessert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Authentic delicious Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The menu is not that extensive but everything we tried was delicious. We tried 3 different soups and 3 different main courses and 2 desserts. High quality, great flavor, good reasonable portions. Mezcal Cocktail is very good. The service was great too! We definitively want go back.
Helpful tip: reserve in advance as there are only 6 tables!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Mercedes also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Mercedes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.