We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts and Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de la luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guanajuato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de la luna
Save
You added Casa de la luna to your Saves list
Perros Muertos No. 57 | Plazuela de Mexiamora, Zona centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 55 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts and Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at Ana & Lalo's for 10 days, and had the front room with a king bed and a balcony which is the nicest and most spacious upstairs room. Ana and Lalo are warm, exceedingly kind, and helpful hosts, and go out of their way to provide any kind of help you may need. For non-Spanish speakers, Ana is fluent in English, and both of them are very good at communicating with those of us whose Spanish is less than fluent. The comments about the small bathroom are true, and the water was not always hot or long-lasting. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were always more than adequate. We felt that our room was an excellent value for the price, especially when you take into account the great location, just a few minutes from the center of town, but away from the weekend crowds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This location was awesome, they were very friendly. And when we finally found it (on foot) they showed us where we could park nearest the place. The rooms, were cute, and the location was fantastic. We were in Guanajuato for the Dias de los muertos, which was an experience that everyone should have :)

Just a note to the next traveller, trying to get to this location is difficult, as the streets might show up on your GPS, but they are walking streets only, so the best advice, is get as close as you can, park the car and find it on foot. They will guide you to the closest parking stalls when you get there, which are about a 5 min walk(with luggage) and you are set from there.

The info which was not on here is this
Tel. 01 473 732 1912
E-mail: xandra571@hotmail.com
She speaks English very well too :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Last year, I was studying at the University of Guanajuato and had the pleasure of staying at the Casa de la Luna for 30 consecutive days. It was a dream come true because Ana, Lalo and Manuel were great in every aspect. This year, I went back to Guanajuato for a few days and their welcoming attitude remains the same! Go check it out! You'll love! Centrally located and affordable!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Guanajuato was made more magical by our stay at Casa de la Luna. From the moment you enter the front door, you will feel cared for and comfortable. I took my group of 8 students to Casa de la Luna and la senora de la casa was more than hospitable. The students and I loved having delicious homemade Mexican breakfasts, our familiar rooms and the tours recommended by la senora. I loved it so much, I will return in two weeks with my fiance.

I can think of no better option for study tours and more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here for ten nights and by the time we left felt like we were part of Ana and Lalo's family. They are gracious hosts who help you in any way they can, especially to feel more comfortable with the Spanish language. The breakfast are varied and delicious, and twice when they made extra food were even given lunch! We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This lovely home is a wonderful place in the historic area furnished with beautiful art and charmingly hosted by Ana and Lalo. I spent four days with them and felt as comfortable as if I were family. Wait until you enjoy the breakfast-with or without a little Spanish lesson. Guanajuato is amazing and so is this B and B. Thank you A and L.

Room Tip: Each room had its own special charming features. All squeeky clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Anna and Lalo were excellent and friendly hosts in their lovely home. She cooked a lovely breakfast each morning and was incredibly helpful in helping us to decide on where to sight-see. The house is warm, friendly, and comfortable! Would recommend this to all! Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de la luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la luna

Address: Perros Muertos No. 57 | Plazuela de Mexiamora, Zona centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de la luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.