We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid traditional food, good value”
Review of La Chata de Guadalajara

126 Calle Ramon Corona, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
52 322 222 5530
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #26 of 453 restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: La Chata
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    164
    153
    59
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for La Chata de Guadalajara
See the most recent reviews
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good solid traditional food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The consistent lines outside La Chata are the best indicator of how good the food is. Nothing fancy, and nothing out of the ordinary, just plain and simple traditional Mexican food at a good value. If you can wait to get it, I recommend it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pheonix
2 reviews
“Good fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Old time Guadalajara favorite. Long lines at midday but fast moving. Many choices of luncheon plates. Worth the wait

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Hectic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Visited this restaurant twice on advice of TA reviews. Received a warm welcome at the entrance and were directed immediately to a table. The food was delicious and excellent value - both for breakfast and dinner. There is obviously a fast turnaround in this place and the service was a little too fast - we felt hurried by hovering waiters.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must when in Guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have been in this restaurant more than 20 times and I have never been disapointed. This is traditional everyday & special ocassions food. Don't expect to have cheddar cheese or sour cream put on top of everything. You can see how the staff is preparing your food. Everything is clean and fresh made. I have brought many friends from around the world to this restaurant and it has always left a great impression on them. In their busiest times you will find a line up outside but staff is great and will offer you a cold beer for free while you wait for a table. Reading other people's reviews I wonder if everybody is so used to americanized of tex mex version of authentic mexican food. I have never found La chata's food bland or overseasoned. Please try it and get an opinion of your own. My recommendations are: Caldo Tlalpeno, fresh handmade quesadillas & platillo jalisciense.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

After being hungry almost all day long, we decided to try this restaurant and found a very pleasant surprise: real Mexican traditional food with great flavors and good portions. You should try the Caldo Tlalpeño and the Enchiladas de Pollo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chata de Guadalajara also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to La Chata de Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chata de Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.