We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat Lovers Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vaca Argentina

La Vaca Argentina
Tomas V. Gomez # 25, Guadalajara, Mexico
(33) 36301160
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vaca Argentina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 490 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Av. Hidalgo & Morelos
Description: At Asador La Vaca Argentina enjoy taking a trip through the gastronomic region of the Pampas in Argentina, guided by an authentic gaucho, our head Chef, Juan Angel Marcelo Pica. The meat used by the restaurant is all Angus Certified of a maximum weight of 420 Kg. Our extensive wine cellar offers wine from five continents and maintains a temperature of 18 degrees Celsius. En el Asador La Vaca Argentina disfrutara de un paseo por la gastronomia de la region de las pampas Argentinas, guiado por un autentico gaucho, nuestro maestro asador Juan Angel Marcelo Pica. Las Carnes que Usted consume en el Asador La Vaca Argentina son de novillos de raza Angus certificadas de 420 Kg. de peso maximo. Nuestra extensa cava ofrece vinos de los 5 continentes y se mantiene rigurosamente a una temperatura de 18 grados.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you love good steaks then La Vaca Argentina is for you! The Vacio steak for 2 is huge and delicious.It actually can feed 3 people.The restaurant has allot of old world Argentine type charm. The meat is actually from Canada has great flavor. No menus in English.The prices are very reasonable. We will be back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    70
    26
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HongKong
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Mean spirited and arrogant...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have eaten here before and the food is very good albeit at a price. Service last time was arrogant though and I see now where this comes from.

We tried to eat during the recent cold spell and it was a joke.

Freezing inside temperatures because the management is too mean to seal up the open doors or buy some temporary heaters meant we could not even sit down as eating in overcoats has never been our thing.

To make matters worse, when questioned politely why it was so cold inside the belligerent reply was "well, it is cold outside"... You don't say, Sherlock!

Sadly, this is only too typical of Mexican service where staff simply never get trained to understand customers want to be looked after and not argued with.

Spend your money here by all means but know they don't care at all. There are (a few) better places in Guadalajara - but not many as a Guadalajara generally does awful restaurants in my opinion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You want good Meat in Guadalajara? This is the place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall experience was very good. Food and Service fantastic! Value, no questions.
Missing spots: despite if having a good variety of wines, good Argentinean Malbecs is missing on the list.
And is not family friendly. Although having a small area for children, access is kind of slippery, "open" to the street and careless.
Still, I would repeat again and again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“our experience on our visit to la vaca argentina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A restaurant that has a great potential to be the best. There are some things that need to be adjusted. On our visit, we had the hostess greet us with a smile. We did not have a reservation, but we were offered the patio. We did not know it was a smoking area. I wanted to move to a non smoking section of the restaurant, but it was busy. We did not have any other choice but to stay in the smoking section of the restaurant. Our waiter was somewhat knowledgeable about the menu. Our guests wanted to try the house specialty, though the waiter said everything in the menu was the specialty. We wanted to try to have an appetizer; however, the menu did not describe any of the appetizers, neither did the waiter. I decided to have the chipotle cream soup. Very pleasing, but, i had to give the soup spoon back to the server because it was filthy of earlier use. The waiter did apologize followed by handing me a clean soup spoon. My family all ordered beef dishes, it was 2 New York Steaks, one ribeye, and a filet mignon. The cuts were wonderful and had amazing taste. We all were surprised at how huge the plate and the piece of meat was,though it did not come with any sauces.We all would've been satisfied if it came with at least a tiny amount of brown sauce.Furthermore, i would like to suggest that 99.9% of all restaurants do have some kind of garnish added to the plate, maybe some mash potatoes or french fries, or perhaps some vegetables, instead of the salad. The salad comes before any entree or soup in most restaurants. This restaurant will be a perfect 10 if they take everything i am writing into consideration. On the other hand the smoking section was horrific. We had to request vents to be turned on. Finally dessert, the creme brulee was delicious, did exceed my expectations. The ice cream with strawberries on top were as well extremely well put together. The flan napolitano was the worst I've ever had, it was old and falling apart, tasteless and the pieces of fruit looked dry.

Dear restaurant owner, please make some changes and we will gladly return with more guests in the near future. I will promise you that. We often travel to Guadalajara, and i would like to make this place a restaurant of choice.

ROD SALAS
AIRBAGTECHINC.
1322 HEWITT ST.
SAN FERNANDO, CA. 91340
818 212 8911
AIRBAGTECH.NET
rodsalas@netzero.com

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I seriously recommend this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

For the past 2 years i have been eating here every 3 or 4 weeks, we have had the best service, the best meat, everything is great, i cannot imagine my sundays without coming here.

the also have one of the best expresso's, they charge a lot for it ($63.00 pesos!!) but it is worth it!!


please be advised if you dont have a reservation you will have to wait for a while, but they have several different options to book a table in advance

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaca Argentina also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to La Vaca Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vaca Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.